We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but too busy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Padma Resort Legian
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have just returned from 9 days at the Padma. My husband and I stayed there with our 2 teenage sons.
We arrived late after our flight was diverted to Darwin. We were told that our rooms were quiet and interconnecting as requested. Nothing could be further from the truth! We were situated in the far top corner next to the road, karioake blaring in the background and looking onto a hovel.
The next day we upgraded to chalet rooms and then all was great.
Don't even bother with the cheapest rooms. They are too small, no iron & ironing board and the safe is really difficult to access. Chalet rooms are much bigger and the bottom floor ones have a nice courtyard to sit in.
The property itself is lovely. Beautiful gardens, 2 great pools, attractive lobby, fantastic gym, super buffet breakfast and good restaurants. We loved everything for the first few days but then more and more people arrived and everything was just too crowded. It was difficult to get sun lounges next to the pool and breakfast was very hectic.
I would only stay there again if it wasn't peak time and would ask to see the room before my luggage was delivered.
The position is perfect though. Surf break right out the front but it's a pity that you can't sit at the pool bar and watch the waves. All other nearby hotels have a better setup for this.

Room Tip: Go for the chalet rooms. They're set in the garden and low rise. Ask for one close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebLowe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,047 - 4,053 of 5,893 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Padma is a large property with beautiful gardens and a 2 big pools.
The staff are very accommodating and friendly.
The rooms are of good size and very clean.
The food at the padma is tasty and fresh and the breakfast is hugh.
Happy 2 hours at the Padma bar is great fun with the friendly staff making cocktails.
We also loved the home made Padma icecream. :)

Room Tip: The swim out room is great big enough for 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macka2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just had 9 nights at the Padma with my wife and 2 kids, 9 and 12. Deluxe Lagoon veiw rooms. We had been for a look through the grounds on previous visits to Bali, so knew the basic layout, and friends had stayed there as well. After 6 months of reading reviews of the Padma, it lived up to all expectations.
Our rooms were great and a special thanks to our room cleaner, Hendra, towel sculptures and notes for the kids are the things that make a differance. A big thank you to all staff at the Padma, everyone was great. The kids tried scuba diving in the main pool, which lead to a introductory dive in the ocean at Nusa Dua the next day.... what an experiance for them. Breakfast was great, as was all other food we had, though we mainly ate out.
The only downside of staying at the Padma is that next year when we go back to Bali, we won't be able to stay anywhere else....... The count down starts for April school holidays 2014

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madant01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PadmaResort_GM, General Manager at Padma Resort Legian, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Valued Reviewer

Greetings from Padma Resort Bali!

Thank you for your high praise for our resort.

I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I’ve shared your comments with the entire team here, so everyone concerned can appreciate it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Padma next year.

Sincerely

T Soerjanto
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights at the Padma. Numerous previous visits to Bali have seen us stay around the Nusa Dua area however due to friend location we decided to give the Padma a go. Great choice. It is not 5 star like some in Nusa Dua but the cleanliness, location and friendly staff more than make up for this. Great location being a stones through to garlic lane and the never ending row of shops. We stayed in a lagoon access room and having the pool at the door was excellent. The club lounge was under renovations so the temporary lounge was a little noisy and crowded but the renovations will be finished soon and I am positive it will be great. Overall a great stay and will be returned here will ask for a room further away from the bar and waterfall as it was a little noisy from screaming children (we were in room 101) but did not spend much time in the room anyway. The resort overall is undertaking cosmetic renovations which do not inconvenience the guests and will only make the property even better. Booked and arranged everything online and it was a very easy and straightforward way to book which included private transfers to and from the airport. Look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayfixation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd time at the Padma and it was even better than the 1st! We've decided that we won't stay anywhere else when we travel to Bali. We tried a different resort last time and spent our whole holiday comparing it to the Padma.

Everything about this place just works! The location is great, the rooms and facilities are awesome, the breakfast buffet and dining options are amazing, the staff are what makes the Padma... So friendly and helpful! We really enjoyed the games the staff organised in the pool of an afternoon..

I would recommend the Padma to anyone! Especially if this is your first time to Bali or if u have kids! It's perfect for a family. You feel very safe!

Yes the Padma is expensive for Bali, but to us it was worth the extra knowing that there was nothing we wouldn't enjoy about our stay.

If there is a downside (which doesn't bother us one bit), is that it is filled with Australians.. So if your after a more 'cultured' experience then you won't find it here.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beejay31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have stayed here a week and this resort is great! The grounds are beautiful with lots of plants and flowers. Our room is large and roomy. The food is great as well. Lots of shops outside the resort. The swimming pools are very nice as well. I would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Htfshtfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just returned from 8 Nights at the Padma in Bali with the family. We had 2 Deluxe Lagoon vVew rooms on the 4th Floor. This Resort is beautiful and luxurious. The 2 pools are simply beautiful, both with sunken swim up bars. Our rooms were excellent, plenty of room and cleaned everyday. It was wonderful to return to this beautiful oasis at the end of a hectic day in the streets of Bali or sightseeing. The buffet breakfast was sensational as was the Balinese Buffet. All the service and facilities are 5 Star. I can not fault any of the staff, from security to reception - always helpful, friendly and so polite. If you want to be close to all the action of Bali but still have a touch of luxury, peace & quiet, then Padma is it.

Room Tip: 4th Floor - great view and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.3 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#13 of 87 in Legian
2,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
1.5 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 148 in Seminyak
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padma Resort Legian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padma Resort Legian

Address: Jl. Padma no. 1, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Legian
#1 Business Hotel in Legian
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#2 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#2 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#2 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range: $184 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Padma Resort Legian 5*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Padma Resort Legian is previously known as Padma Resort Bali at Legian. Acclaimed as a five-star art sanctuary, Padma Resort Legian is a serene paradise under the dancing shadows of the renowned Legian sunset. Just steps away from the traditional art and fashion market of Legian street, the resort is a sanctuary at one with nature. Spaciously set within a romantic 6.8-hectare garden landscape, the resort provides comfortable accommodation, world-class facilities and the celebrated Balinese hospitality that promise wonderful stays for discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Padma Resort Legian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padma Resort Bali At Legian Hotel Legian
Padma Hotel Bali Legian
Hotel Padma Bali
Padma Bali
Bali Padma
Padma Resort Legian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing