We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,840)
Filter reviews
6,840 results
Traveler rating
5,278
1,212
239
65
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,278
1,212
239
65
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon pooldeluxe chaletskai barlagoon access roomgarden chaletdeparture loungehighly recommend the padmakids clubpillow menuclub benefitsmain poolclub loungebuffet breakfastmain restaurantfamily roombreakfast was amazingfamily holiday
Filter
Updating list...
5,847 - 5,852 of 6,840 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2011

This is an average Bali hotel in the 4 star category. The resort is quite nice, rooms vary from nicely modern refurbished to less modern but clean accomodation. The restaurants have a good selection and quality of food, but breakfast can get a little boring. The pool areas are nice with plenty of seating in sun and shade. Club facilities are over-rated - save your cash and spend it on other entertainment. Most staff were nice but there seemed to be a real gap between service and delivery to the exact conditions of stay. I had called a few days before to confirm airport pickup and a roll away bed and upon arrival no pickup, room was not ready despite late arrival and no roll away - followed by a vigorous discussion to sort things out. No big deal but it kinda set my first impression which never really improved thereafter that everything that might normally be included in this type of place was "extra". Housekeeping was a bit hit and miss (room was never serviced before 3pm). Spa was not bad at all and kids club was free, except for some activities. I know you get what you pay for and this was a cheap deal but I wouldn't go back because I've experienced nicer and better places in Bali.

PRO: Nice rooms, generally friendly staff, pool, free kids club, food in general was good quality, gardens are very pretty

CON: Breakfast a little dull although plenty of dull! Service with a smile but not always that helpful. Don't bother with the club lounge etc.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozmadmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed at the Padma earlier this month. We booked online and got a special deal, stay 7 pay 6 with a late (6pm) check out which worked very well as our flight was at 10pm.

We were offered an upgrade to a suite for a small extra cost per night at check in but decided to stay in our original room choice. The room was very clean and very nice. We had our own balcony which was good for drying my scuba gear after a day’s diving, but the view was not so great. The only complaint on the room was that a couple of times things felt very damp, we raised this with the cleaning staff who suggested keeping the aircon lower. It did help but did not completely resolve the problem, but not enough of a problem to warrant a complaint in our minds. All in all the room was very nice.

The resort has two pools, we used both on our stay but found the lagoon pool to be the nicer of the two, but both were clean and warm. The beach when we went was full of rubbish, to the stage where a walk along the beach means avoiding the rubbish!!! We would not stay in this part of Bali again due to that very reason, there are far nicer and cleaner areas of Bali! The fact the beach is dirty probably works in the hotels favour as people tend to stay by the pools all day instead.

Both pools have swim up bars and food. I would have to say one of the highlights of this resort is the breakfast that comes included in the room price, it was buffet style but with everything you could imagine, all nice and fresh!

We booked a private car and driver through the hotel twice and we thought it was very good value for money, better than hiring a motorbike.

We travelled in low season and still found the hotel to be very busy. Although the hotel is very nice we would not stay here again only due to the size (and the filthy beach). We prefer a smaller style resort, we felt at the Padma there were so many people that you just feel like a number. The only other thing worth noting is that it is a family friendly hotel, so if you don't want kids splashing around in the pool better to find a different hotel, while it did not bother us it may bother others.

If you are after a nice clean large resort style hotel then this is for you, can’t fault the service, price, food or amenities on offer. If you prefer a smaller more intimate resort then this is not for you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wondering_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Stayed at the Padma for just a couple of nights and it was divine. The hotel itself is just beautiful. Breakfast was amazing at both the main buffet and upstairs at Bella Rosa. The graden club lounge got very busy in the early evening when they serve the free drinks (5-7pm), so either arrive early or later if you actually want to get a table! We ended up going in at 6.30pm and just staying for 1 or 2 which was perfect as then we would head out for dinner.

We stayed in one of the new laggon access rooms. The rooms themselves are just stunning but I wouldnt choose to stay in one again. The bed was absolutely huge, I think it was either 2 King singles or 2 doubles together, so there was the 'crack' down the middle but this wasnt a problem. Bathroom was to die for and as they are so new it was the cleanest I have ever seen in Bali! As it was our anniversary my husband had arranged for flowers to be in the room when we arrived, it was so nice to walk in and find a vase of 15 red roses, as well as rose petals on the bed and in the bath! They even gave us a lovely black forest cake with Happy Anniversary on it. Staff were all lovely and helpful.

Only downside with the pool access rooms I found was the complete lack of privacy. We had a room down the far end (about 3rd from the end where the tennis courts are) so we though it would be a bit more private being that bit further away from the pool bar which is up the opposite end. Not so unfortunately! If you are inside your room you need to keep the curtains drawn unless you want everyone being able to stare in at you. The bathroom has a lovely sliding door feature that opens to the room, but that faces the windows so again, if you want to have it open to shower or have a bath, then the curtains need to be closed. It would be better if the windows had that one way tinting so that you could see out at the gorgeous view, but all the pool loungers couldnt see in!

The other thing was just the noise level from the pool. One afternnon I tried to catch a quick 15 mins snooze but it was impossible as 2 young girls about 5 years old decided to play (ie scream and giggle - as little girls do!) in the pool right outside our window. Also the rooms can be interconnecting and the connecting door is right opposite the bed, not nice if you have noisy neighbours like ours! I thought there was supposed to be an age limit of 6 years and over for the pool rooms, which was one of the reasons we chose to stay in one (we left our kids back home) but the people next to us had 2 kids staying in there and there is no way they were over 6, one was only about 3 and kept trying to open the door to our room which was annoying to say the least!

Oh and apparently there is free wifi in the new rooms but I was not ever able to connect at all, the staff just said it was problematic.

The friends we went with stayed in a garden chalet on the ground floor just near the restaurant/reception and, although not quite as nice a room as ours, I would have preferred it as it was alot more private and less noisy.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank ravenclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Arrived in Bali to stay at the Padma with hubby and another couple after a 15 year gap since last visit. Arrived around 8 pm and met at the airport by hotel rep for transfer to hotel. Very courteous driver only too willing to assist with our luggage etc - enjoyed a safe (and air conditioned) drive to the hotel. Hotel looked truly lovely as we entered, I had read many reviews on the Padma and other hotels and wanted somewhere SAFE, CLEAN, good food/pools and was willing to pay a bit extra for assurance of a restful sleep etc.
We traveled with another couple who were close friends and had previously satyed at the Padma many++ years ago! Both of us had booked the deluxe chalet rooms, with the garden club package (this is a must). We got the VIP check in at the Garden Club and made to feel very welcome immediately.
Rooms were fantastic - large, clean, huge shower and bath, beautiful toiletries provided, HOT showers with great water flow, free water bottles. The king size bed was a joy to sleep in, very comfortable and no outside noise. Air conditioner was a welcome relief and very quiet. There was also plenty of hanging space for clothing and we found in a drawer an electric mosquito preventer that was used for entire stay (grateful for that given the recent outbreak of Denghue fever). The hotel does "smoking?" every few days (days/locations advertised) to reduce the mozzie population but none of this was any problem at all (found more mozzies back in Oz!).
Both pools were visited and both were great, again no problems with obtaining a sun lounge at either of these. Sun screen is provided too so don't stress if you forget to pack yours. Service around the pool for drinks/food was very prompt and always very courteous. No witnessing of "ÿobbo" crowd, there was a variety of tourists, young couples, families (both with little ones and teens), Americans, Germans, Aussies etc - all well behaved and looking to enjoy their holiday.
The Garden Club was such a treat - ice-cream hour, afternoon tea with food and then on to a 2 hour cocktail period with sensational food. A different variety of food each night and all delicious! The cocktail list was the same as the pool bars no exceptions. Service in the club was to a very high standard, they were very busy for the the 2 hours of "free"drinks but did their best to ensure the wait time was kept to a minimum.
We sampled the Japanese restaurant - very nice, room service (satay sticks and pizza were delicious), and ate breakfast at all 3 locations but our favourite was the Bella restaurant as we could get "free" latés, cappucino's etc and was of course less busy than the main breakfast complex.
As previous reviews have stated the gardens at the Padma are truly amazing and really are a credit to the staff involved in their maintenance. It was really nice to be able to stroll around this large well maintained hotel away from the hustle and bustle of general Bali.
On our last day we had planned to laze around the pool but had unexpected rainfall so we booked into the spa for 4 relaxing massages before heading home. We also utilised the "departure lounge" which is near the gym for showers etc prior to leaving for the airport as we had a 8.00pm departure flight.
At all times we felt safe and secure within the hotel - there was an in-room safe and security personnel around the perimeter of the hotel.
We will certainly return to the Padma with our 4 children for our next family holiday, I can highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nurse40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

WOW... If your researching your holiday, do not waste anymore time and just book this place.
Being a travel agent (it turns u into a fussy traveler as u are spolit over the years) I was not disappointed.

There are a couple of things u need to know though so u can make the best choice for your trip based on your budget and type of holiday you are after.
ROOM TYPES-
1. Deluxe rooms. These are the lead in rooms for the resort. They have all been refurbished recently and look fabulous. Very comfortable rooms. They are spread over 4 levels. The only downside to these are that they are all facing the outside of the resort which means the views are nothing to rave
about. If u are not worried about a view these rooms would suit you as they are the cheapest room type.
LAGOON VIEW ROOMS
These are located in the same block as the deluxe rooms. On level 2 and 3. These rooms are exactly the same as the deluxe but have a view
To die for (over the lagoon pool).
LAGOON ACCESS ROOMS
Again in the same block as the above room types. These rooms are located on the ground level facing the lagoon pool. They have direct access to the lagoon pool via your back steps if the porch.. If you can get your hands on these rooms do not hesitate. As a general rule they will not allow any children under 7 for safety reasons.
GARDEN CHALLET ROOMS
These rooms are beautifully decorated and 25% bigger then the deluxe rooms. They are all located around a central garden area which is centrally located in the resort.
Great rooms if you are traveling with children. The main difference is the extra room, the day bed which acts as a great kids bed, u are generally closer to all the resorts facilities. The lead in garden rooms are generally facing the outside of the resort. NOW you can get these
rooms with club benefits. This means you will get the best location (generally closer to the main breakfast area, main pool, kids club, spa ect) also u can get access to the club lounge (free cocktails, sift drinks, milkshakes, snack and choice of breakfast dinning options)

So if your budget allows these challets are great for families.
If your a couple or traveling with mates I would def recommend the lagoon pool view or lagoon pool
access rooms. These rooms book out very quickly.

Now about the resort.
We didn't leave it for the first 3 days. No need really. Great places to eat and drink. The sunset bar in the afternoon is a must.
The swim up pool bar got a bit of a work out too. Price wise, on par with any other Australian hotel. Cocktails around $8.00. Food ranged from $10 - $40.

Location - couldn't ask for a better place. We normally stay in kuta. Legian was a nice change. The locals are more relaxed. You dont get haggled as much. Shops are great if not better. Great places to eat and drink just a short stroll away from the hotel. I def recommend garlic lane ... The best food in bali. The resort is located on legian beach - great if u surf.
You are only located about a 5min drive from either kuta or Seminyak
Overall I would never stay anywhere else. The staff were fabulous. Nothing was ever trouble. Would be nice if all the hotels in the world took a page out of there book as it could not be faulted.
This resort caters for families- great free kids club. Or u have the option of hiring your own nanny / baby sitter for a small charge. Older kids would probably prefer the nanny as the kids club itself is more for the younger kids.
What I loved about this place, was that it wasn't over run by young boozed up tourists. Loads of couples, honeymooners, young families, business travellers and groups of mates getting away together.
Do not hesitate booking this place.
I found www.expedia.com.au or .com had the cheapest room rates. Even cheaper then booking directly with the resort.
We originally were only booked for 7 nts. We extended for an extra 4. We then left and returned to a place in kuta we use to stay in. It was that bad we checked out and came straight back to the Padma.
Padma has everything you need for that perfect holiday ... Go a head and treat yourself ... U will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tazo_tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews