We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull”
Review of Legian Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legian Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderfull”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

we stayed at the lagian at the end of our bali holiday,we were upgraded to a beach villa which is closer to the pool and the restaurants.great room and even though we close to the restaurant/pool/beach area it was still very quiet.would stay here again.

k

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    793
    247
    111
    72
See reviews for
652
1,011
80
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

In short, I would not stay at the Legian Beach Hotel again and would not recommend it.

We booked a "superior family room" which was over $250AUD per night and for this price range, we were expecting something fairly decent. We opted for this room as it was basically two rooms in one which allowed two couples to sleep separately.

On arrival, we were allocated a room which was on the ground floor in the back block - right next to the entrance. Immediately opening the room, it had a terrible smell of mould; was dark and filled with mozzies! We went back to reception but was told the hotel was full capacity and nothing could be done. We were upset but given we had only booked for two nights set off for the pool area. Heading back to our room for the second time, our key cards did not work. I looked up online if any other rooms were available in the hotel and it was showing a fair amount of availability - armed with this and the non-working key cards, we went back to reception.

Luckily, we spoke with the customer service manager Balinda who was extremely helpful. She moved to us to another superior family room just a few rooms down. This room didn't have the smell which was an improvement but the glass windows did not lock so we had to keep dark wooden windows closed the whole time to make sure our belongings were locked inside. Upon locking the windows, it was evident mozzies had taken up residence inside the window frame.

For the price we paid, the hotel was extremely disappointing. I now wished I had listened to the other reviews.

Yes, the hotel is in a great location but I would recommend going across the street to the Pullman for accommodation.

Our room was especially filled with mozzies - I countered over 9 mozzie bites from the first night's sleep on just one of my knees! I found the pool areas to have a lot of mozzies as well.

I think this hotel has definite potential if they just put the money and effort into it and their staff members get a bit of a revamp.

I also tried the spa here which was lovely. However, I thought it was rather silly that the happy hour "50%" off was before midday and all other times had "40%" off. A pedicure at AUD$80 is expensive even for Sydney - no way I would pay that in Bali. I think their menu just needs the prices in line with those places around the hotel and get rid of the "40% off all day".

All in all, if you are willing to pay the money we did, do not stay here. I have stayed in better hostels for a quarter of the price.

Before I forget, we did eat at one of the beachside restaurants which food was great and cheaply priced although alcohol is still overpriced. Ohhh and we had a infestation of cockroaches in our bathroom!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sparkles89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Pathetic hotel.. Staff is rude. Hotel is overpriced.The hotel is in a shabby conditions and the rooms are small and bad. the The entrance is dark and deserted. Could not bear staying in the property for more than 2 days so checked out despite having a non refundable booking. There are much better options nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Amansimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2014

What a beautiful hotel! We stayed for 10 days and could not fault 1 thing! Amazing staff, food and location! They went above and beyond to accommodate us!
This will be our hotel of choice every visit to Bali!
Massive thumbs up!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We have just spent a week in Legian beach hotel and would go back ! Not sure if it 4 stars as rooms a little tired but the service is the best we have ever had they are helpful friendly professional nothing is to much trouble , food is amazing , perfectly situation you can walk to kuta and to seminyak the beach was clean and very tidy never saw any rubbish and we walked it alot ! The money change across the road at the Kodak shop , mini mart close and they also where very helpful! Some hints if you want them , take mosquito repellent but not deet sticky and yuk but yes but you will need mosquito repellent it is tropical ! The hotel pick up service will want a meeting the next day, to arrange additional tours with you thought it was a little expensive but was very efficient. Coat us 8000.00 rupia . Use the bluebird taxi service lots will have bluebird but the one you want have meters and have www bluebird group on the cars very very honest , others will charge you more!! So if you are thinking of somewhere easy and wonderful we recommend the Legian Beach Hotel enjoy !!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillybells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The short report: Avoid the hotel rooms; there are much better hotels around.
The detailed report: When driving in through the front gate past the building on the right my friend said, “I hope that’s not our room”, I said no that would be the staff quarters. Turns out that is the hotel!
Got to reception just after 1pm to be told our rooms not ready and check in is 3pm. We ask if this is a nice room with a view, to be told it’s a ‘limited view room’, ok we think as long as there is an outlook that should be ok. We go off to have a look around and a drink at the bar overlooking the beach, nice but pricey.
We come back to reception, yes our room is ready, so off we go walking back across the carpark to that building we saw when we drove in to be shown to our room 317 on the 3rd floor. Open the door to a small dark room, I open the door to the balcony and am absolutely astonished at what I see.
The whole balcony has been blocked off by shadecloth and mesh to block out the view of the building site just a metre away with workmen banging around. OMG, this is the worst room I have come across in all my years of travel.
We return to reception to advise we are not taking that room it has “NO VIEW’ not a limited view..but..NO view. We have paid good money for a decent room and we thought this was a decent hotel! We are then told sorry but that’s the room you have booked a limited view room. There is nothing on any of our reservation documents saying anything about a limited view, it just says 'Superior Room', and even if it did we still wouldn’t be staying in that dreadful dark NO View room!
Then it starts getting nasty!
We are then told there is nothing else available so we say ok just cancel the reservation and we will go to another hotel. The big tall chap at reception then sprouts of their ‘no refund on cancellation’ policy as we have already prepaid for our room 2 months earlier. We advise the room is unacceptable and will be getting the charges reversed by our bank. We are then told to take a seat and he goes off to the back room. A few minutes later he is back with an offer of a ‘garden view’ room...and a lecture about what to book next time..(lol, really, next time?).The garden view room #316 has a view over the carpark...The room is better (it has daylight), with a small bathroom with shower over bath and it is clean. (Congrats to housekeeping) Thankfully we have only booked for 3 nights, it will do, and we can salvage the remainder of our time in Bali.
I have never come across such aggressive, bullying attitude by check-in staff ever!
Funny thing we found a cake in the fridge saying “Happy Honeymoon” not sure what happened to the honeymoon couple? Perhaps they fled earlier in the day.....trust me this is no honeymoon suite!
Breakfast the next morning, staff are friendly, but it’s probably one of the worst breakfasts I have come across. Food in the bain marie is dreadful, only way to go is get something made fresh like eggs or omelette. We also found the pancake waffle and crepe station on the 2nd floor...fairly stodgy.
In summary, would not recommend, beware the dodgy rooms being sold here. The hotel rooms are right at the very back of the complex furthest away from the beach. There are way better hotels around. The bungalows may be better, but there are heaps of mozzies. I wish I had taken a good look at the average, poor, and terrible reviews on this hotel, they tell a consistent story!

Room Tip: Best bet, another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Slam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Location and facilities fantastic however poor customers service. Customer service needs to be improved . Checkin staff rude and not helpful , gave no information regarding facilities e.g breakfast times and location. It took 3 attempts to get pool towels. We asked for a late checkout and was told that it would cost more than what we had paid for our room. Reception staff were unable to clarify so we sent and email to the sales manager and 3 days later am still,waiting for a response. We were charged for a drink from the mini bar that was not consumed. Also was advised that credit given at check in would not be debited with a holding deposit however on checkout was advised that holding deposit would be returned in a few days. Expensive to eat and drink at the hotel as menu prices do not include taxes of nearly 30%. Whilst great facilities not sure I would stay here again because of the experiences above. We spent the first half of our holiday at the bali mandira next door whose customer service was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank trekker4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.3 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 87 in Legian
5,655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
0.1 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 146 in Seminyak
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legian Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legian Beach Hotel

Property: Legian Beach Hotel
Address: Jalan Melasti | Legian, Kuta, Bali, Legian 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#12 Spa Hotel in Legian
#16 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Legian Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located absolute beachfront, with a wide range of facilities and leisure options, Legian Beach Hotel embraces families, honeymooners and business travelers. The 118 single-story cottages and 100 guest rooms, including 23 family rooms and 5 rooms that cater for disabled travelers, are set amid a landscaped tropical oasis dotted with coconut palms, shady trees, and sweet-scented flowers. The traditional architecture utilizes local materials from Bali and neighboring Indonesian islands, red tiled roofs merge with romantic alang alang thatch, while breezy, lazy gazebos melt into the natural beauty. The vista of the dramatic coastline and the rolling surf is spectacular, while the fiery sunsets viewed from here are the best in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legian Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legian Beach Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing