We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomidating”
Review of Kayun Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kayun Hostel
Ranked #47 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Bad smell comes out of the bathroom. I don't think this problem is fixable. It is on a very very busy road. Otherwise this place is great for the casual traveller that wants to spend money on actual fun things not a memory foam mattress with your room cleaned 100 times a day.

Room Tip: Get one that doesn't smell if they exist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanShidyak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 187 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Although we only spent 1 night in this hostel, it made a very good first impression. The hostel is along Jalan Patih Jelantik, which is perpendicular to Legian Road and Kuta Beach. It was about a 10-minute walk from the popular bars and restaurants. The advantage to this is that there were no mushroom pushers or much drunken foreigners stumbling all over the entrance, but on the negative side, it was a bit hard to get to by car, what with all the one-way streets. Being quite a distance to the beach, it compensated with its own pool, that could be used until 10PM.
The hostel staff were accommodating and could converse in English well enough. The rooms were very clean and industrial in design. I was quite impressed that they used solar energy to power the bathrooms. We got a four-person ensuite room that had 2 double bunker beds, comfortable enough for us. There was a sink inside the main room, and the shower and toilet were outside in the open air, which was refreshing. The amenities were complete, with a TV, strong airconditioning, a safe, small and bath towels, shower gel and shampoo.
The breakfast was also surprisingly filling with a buffet of fruits, cereal, fruit juices, coffee, tea, bread and eggs. All in all, it was good value for money. It's perfect for a group of friends travelling, as they have rooms for multiple guests like dorm rooms. Ours cost 760K and worth every rupiah.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimi_Abapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hostel is great for the solo traveller, plenty of people and a good outdoor common area to mingle with a pool. The staff helped me out after my iphone was stolen and even offered to take me to the market and haggle for another. The location is really close to the main legian drag with the clubs and restaurants. I booked a scooter through the hostel and they didn't try to rip me off which is a nice change of pace in indonesia. The dorms are nice and the beds are big with lockers and a personal light, and they are made of concrete so there isn't any noisy bed creaking at night. Would stay again. Ages were 18-30

Room Tip: A bit noisier on the street side in the morning stay near the pool if you like it quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zach_Abs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed there 1 week and it was a little expensive but it was close to the main street with all the shops. There is a pool, very clean and hot with chairs. Free breakfast. The female dorm was clean, with A/C and I like you have your own power and your own light. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only things were the price and the pressure for the shower (wihout hot water).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hostel is in a great location- off the main road but easy walking distance. The pool is nice and the dorm room is one of the best I've ever stayed in. Concrete bunks so no noise and each bed has it's own power source and light- perfect. Breakfast is decent, staff are helpful and friendly. All good except for the bathrooms. The showers all smell like pee and the water which is barely hot trickles out. Also the price is a bit high.

Room Tip: Dorms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaisyBorneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

stayed in private room with 1 queen size bed and bathroom inside. the hostel room layout is fine, bed is fine with the good linen and bed cover. now we go to the unpleasant experienced.
check in procedure is slow with IDR 150,000 or +- USD 15 deposit guarantee for card key loss is a bit ridiculous, staff reception need to work more faster, security guard is very rude as he only please the hostel boss car to park but ask the guest car to move away (hostel property doesn't have adequate parking area) another ridiculous moment since the guest is help the business grow.
night time is the worst part since mostly the young guest who stay in the dorm is having a party at the swimming pool therefore the noisy sound is very loud until the whole building (hostel building is small) and this is continue until dawn. how i can sleep or rest ? you can think....finally cut my stay period and ask for refund. good thing they allowed me to get my full refund.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wizzardthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in a double for about 44 Euro, which is pretty expensive for Bali. However, the room was modern, had a clean bathroom and a comfy bed. The hostel itself felt more like a hotel, although the do have dorms downstairs. The pool area was definitely a plus, as well as a decent breakfast. The place is a bit hard to find, even the taxi driver didn't know where to go. But once you know where to go, it is not to far from the beach actually.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EyelessView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
1.2 mi away
Bali Caps Hostel
Bali Caps Hostel
#97 of 251 in Kuta
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kuta Central Park Hotel
0 mi away
KAYUN Hostel Downtown
KAYUN Hostel Downtown
#33 of 86 in Legian
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#9 of 86 in Legian
317 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bread & Jam Hostel
Bread & Jam Hostel
#10 of 210 in Kuta
65 reviews
1.1 mi away
M Hostel
M Hostel
#79 of 430 in Seminyak
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayun Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayun Hostel

Address: Jl Patih Jelantik 176, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range: $11 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kayun Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is in the heart of Bali's best hangout area, surrounded by clubs, bars, culture, shops and of course, Kuta Beach, all within 500m radius! Kayun is a stylish, clean new hostel designed with the traveler in mind. We provide free Wi-Fi, 24hr security and reception, English-speaking staff, tour bookings, a café, free breakfast, air conditioning in every room, a swimming pool and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kayun Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayun Hostel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing