We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes.”
Review of Kayun Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kayun Hostel
Ranked #47 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights in a 16 bed mixed dorm; which normally would sound horrendous however the way the dorm is designed allows for privacy and space, all beds have luggage storage underneath (good place to store valuables) and bathrooms were just next door. The whole place was very clean, with a pool and decking area and a bar and restaurant (free breakfast) we had nothing to complain about :D
Great common area to socialise in and just minutes away from the strip of bars in Kuta.
Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Private rooms may work out cheaper if you are in a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claret29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 187 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Kayun Hostel in Legian from the 24th of Jan to the 28th of Jan. What a lovely place. We stayed in room 102 that is right by the pool side. Clean rooms, bathroom, pool, dining area. The staffs have been very helpful and friendly. Since we were there during the Australia Day weekend... lots and lots of Australians and they were very friendly too.

Next time in Bali... Only in Kayun!!!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms by the poolside. Might have a pay a little extra... but totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First stop in Bali and we were willing to spend a bit more for the first two nights so we booked Kayun twin room for 24$ each. The room was very clean and stylish as the rest of the hostel. Nice staff and good free breakfast!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
Thank Patrick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

First time to Bali and first time to live in a hostel,I live in the 16 mixed room and didn't expect much but was impressed with the place, great way to make new friends and party goers, the little pool is great for a cool off, the location is very convenient, 5 mins walks to Kuta famous night life and 10mins walk to the beach, passing shopping areas on the way. From the airport the taxi new exactly where it was and the staff are friendly. Was gonna stay for a night only but end up staying my whole 5 days trip here. If i come back to Bali on a budget ill def choose it again.

Room Tip: well i can still sleep through a hurricane so if you are a light sleeper, then get a private room, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lausii S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here recently and had a great time.

Good location - only 15 min walk to the main nightclubs...sky garden/bounty etc
Great atmosphere - met a lot of friendly people there, had a couple of good nights out with them
Good facilities - can arrange laundry for you (things do get lost, but it does smell great!), they hire out scooters, have a TV/couch area with DVD's, free breakfast, small pool.

I stayed in the 16 dorm room which was fine, a little noisy but thats what you get. Beds were spacious, room had AC, secure, lockable draws under the bed which I managed to squeeze my large backpack into.

Only downer is its not cheap at 190,000 p/night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matty_H_478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We arrived in Bali early Nov 2012 and my friend and I had never been before. She booked us a hostel, and it happened to be Kayun Hostel.

I arrived late at night, and when I got to the room I was pleasantly surprised. The room was decorated lovely, with painted walls and the bed was fresh and cozy. There were plenty of towels for the two of us.
The next morning we went to the breakfast that was included in the room rate, and it was very simple; hard boiled eggs, toast and jam, coffee or juice (tang). It wasn't anything special but it filled our bellies. We took a walk around the neighbourhood which is very busy. It is also located close to a bar called Sky Garden that does free drinks on certain nights of the week.
The pool is lovely, a perfect temperature to cool down in the crazy heat. They had nice lounge chairs, and we met some cool travellers there.
The beach is not so close to this location, and we found the beach closest to here was also swarming with people trying to sell you things.
The price was a little bit steep, after seeing that we could get a much bigger room with nicer breakfast and closer to the beach in Seminyak for a little bit less.
All in all, the accommodations were good, but the location did not suit us for what we wanted, so we moved up to Seminyak after 2 nights, but for short stay I would definitely recommend it but maybe not for a tight budget backpacker (unless you stay in the dorm rooms which I never got to see).

Room Tip: I was in a room overlooking the pool, and the sun shot right in my face in the morning. If you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. I had booked in the female dorm but they were redecorating they day I got there so put me in a private room for 1 night at no extra cost. The dorm room is really big, plus there are massive lockable draws under the bed that you can fit a rucksack in, with power point and light for each bed.
The free breakfast was particularly good- toast with spreads, cereal, fresh fruit and fruit juice, as well as coffee all day long.
The swimming pool is a bit small but really nice if you can't be bothered to go to the beach (about 10 min walk away).
The bathrooms were well equipped, clean and always available.
There is a lounge/ cafe area to meet other guests, but I didn't feel this was a party hostel as such. I always managed to get a good nights sleep without being disturbed.
It is pricey, but this is Kuta!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubyrednow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
1.2 mi away
Bali Caps Hostel
Bali Caps Hostel
#97 of 251 in Kuta
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kuta Central Park Hotel
0 mi away
KAYUN Hostel Downtown
KAYUN Hostel Downtown
#33 of 86 in Legian
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#9 of 86 in Legian
317 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bread & Jam Hostel
Bread & Jam Hostel
#10 of 210 in Kuta
65 reviews
1.1 mi away
M Hostel
M Hostel
#79 of 430 in Seminyak
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayun Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayun Hostel

Address: Jl Patih Jelantik 176, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range: $11 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kayun Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is in the heart of Bali's best hangout area, surrounded by clubs, bars, culture, shops and of course, Kuta Beach, all within 500m radius! Kayun is a stylish, clean new hostel designed with the traveler in mind. We provide free Wi-Fi, 24hr security and reception, English-speaking staff, tour bookings, a café, free breakfast, air conditioning in every room, a swimming pool and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kayun Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayun Hostel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing