We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Kayun Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kayun Hostel
Ranked #46 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. I had booked in the female dorm but they were redecorating they day I got there so put me in a private room for 1 night at no extra cost. The dorm room is really big, plus there are massive lockable draws under the bed that you can fit a rucksack in, with power point and light for each bed.
The free breakfast was particularly good- toast with spreads, cereal, fresh fruit and fruit juice, as well as coffee all day long.
The swimming pool is a bit small but really nice if you can't be bothered to go to the beach (about 10 min walk away).
The bathrooms were well equipped, clean and always available.
There is a lounge/ cafe area to meet other guests, but I didn't feel this was a party hostel as such. I always managed to get a good nights sleep without being disturbed.
It is pricey, but this is Kuta!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubyrednow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 187 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

we have been trying to go all out and than mid range thru out our travels... this is def overpriced and not worth it.We payed $50 a night ( not all out) to stay in a private which was dingy and musty and i know this is a hostel, but still... there were rude ppl staying there, which i know is not the hostels fault, but come on!! At 430 am NO ONE should be partying VERY LOUDLY in the pool and not have the " Security" tell them to go to their bed. I had to go outside and explain to them as if they were 5 years old to use their inside voice if they thought 430am was an adequate hour to party like they were back in the bar. Hey, i get it, youre in Kuta and you are here to party but there is such a thing as being respectful and their "SECURITY PEOPLE" were no where to be found. Anyways, to top it off, we wake up to a few passed out girls in their bra and underwear sleeping on the pool chairs...WOW.... for that kind of entertainment i should have stayed somewhere where i was paying $25 a night, than i would have gotten my moneys worth...dont stay here unless you are here to drink and smoke all night...than its worth your money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Kayun Hostel is basically a hotel which also includes 2 backpacker rooms, one dorm for ladies and one mixed one. Both of these dorms are very big with a lot of beds.
Nevertheless, the comfort in the rooms is overwhelming. I have never had a hostel in which I had my own drawer at my bad which could be locked and was big enough to put my whole bag inside. The beds were pretty big and everything nice and clean. The room was spacious and not too light.
The bathroom facilities were okay, not too much to expect. They are very close to reception so it is a busy area. The showers are simple and not too clean, but okay for some days.
The breakfast was decent. They even prepared breakfast for us at 3 in the morning when we had a very early trip in the morning which was really nice.
The location of the hostel is in the city center. It is 10 minutes by foot to walk to the beach and 10 minutes to the partying center. All around there are nice restaurants and touristic shops.

Room Tip: Female Dorm is for approx. 10 ladies. Mixed dorm is for 16 persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimita301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is not the best hostel we stayed in, not the worsed.

- Room smelled a bit funky
- Shower was broken
- Room was noisy and not very dark
- Bed was not so comfortable

+ Nice staff
+ Great pool
+ Great location
+ Clean

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the streetside, because these are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tieske D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed two nights at Kayun Hostel in a standard room. The room was small, but clean and efficiently furnished. Unfortunatly, the strong humidity smell and the noise from the busy road did not meet our expectations. Overall our stay was okay, but considering the price range for this hostel, we would have expect a little more. Nonetheless, the staff was friendly (mostly the evening shift) who answered our questions in a good english and even provided us with good suggestions.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Genevieve_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We chose this hostel because we wanted to have all 4 of us in the same room. The 4-bed ensuite consist of 2 bunk beds, a sink in the room, and a private outdoor toilet. It was quite a different experience to have an outdoor toilet.

Room is pretty cramp for 4 people, we had problems while unpacking and packing. Shower was solar powered, but we had hot showers for both nights, so I guess we were lucky. Wifi was weak in the room and we had to all "congregate" at bed nearest to the door to get a 1-out-of-4 bars signal

There is a convenience stall just diagonally opposite the hostel, which is good if you need to get late night snacks. Didn't get to use the pool but it looks clean. Breakfast was simple but adequate - toasts with jam and butter, boiled eggs, cornflakes, coffee & tea, juices.

Room Tip: If you have 4 people, staying in the 4-bed ensuite is of the same price as staying in the dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaL135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Me and my friends stayed at Kayun Hostel for 4 nights and we stayed in the Deluxe 4 Bed Private room. It was a room with 2 bunk beds, quite cramped for 4 people (it's a little difficult to unpack and pack), but it was certainly clean. Its en suite bathroom is equipped with shampoo and shower gel and our towels get changed daily. They use solar energy to provide hot water, so there are days where no hot water available. The air conditioner, television and fridge worked just fine. There's free breakfast and it was okay; cereal, toast and boiled eggs. They provide computers with internet access in the lobby and free wifi, but the wifi didn't work very well in our room. There's also a swimming pool; small but good.
The hostel is located in the less busy area of Legian, so you can definitely rest. You can find ATMs (we paid cash for our room for a little less than $320), convenience stores, small shops and restaurants nearby. Will definitely consider staying at Kayun Hostel again :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeatrixBudiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.1 mi away
Duo Legian Hotel
Duo Legian Hotel
#56 of 88 in Legian
49 reviews
0 mi away
KAYUN Hostel Downtown
KAYUN Hostel Downtown
#36 of 86 in Legian
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#9 of 86 in Legian
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Monostel
Monostel
#13 of 86 in Legian
60 reviews
1 mi away
H-ostel
H-ostel
#4 of 208 in Kuta
135 reviews
1.1 mi away
M Hostel
M Hostel
#81 of 426 in Seminyak
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayun Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayun Hostel

Address: Jl Patih Jelantik 176, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range: $10 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kayun Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is in the heart of Bali's best hangout area, surrounded by clubs, bars, culture, shops and of course, Kuta Beach, all within 500m radius! Kayun is a stylish, clean new hostel designed with the traveler in mind. We provide free Wi-Fi, 24hr security and reception, English-speaking staff, tour bookings, a café, free breakfast, air conditioning in every room, a swimming pool and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kayun Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayun Hostel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing