We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, so-so restaurant”
Review of Bliss Surfer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bliss Surfer Hotel
Ranked #18 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Gunnison, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, so-so restaurant”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Bliss Wayan two times. One was for 5 nights and we were upgraded to the junior suite. The second was a standard twin room for a night. The hotel is an excellent value. While not on the beach, it is near enough to either walk (20 minutes) or take a 75 cent taxi ride. The rooms, especially the suites, are spacious and modern. Nice hot showers and cool air conditioners. We had a few rough spots with the staff. When we checked out the first time, it took over 20 minutes for them to send us on our way and then the vehicle battery was dead necessitating that they call transportation. We almost missed our flight. When we checked in the second time, someone mistakenly entered our Agoda reservation for the next month. We were fortunate to have our voucher. In both cases, the staff sought to professionally deal with the challenges. The one thing that we would recommend for change is the restaurant. The food is below average while the restaurant staff are lovely, excellent, and very professional. There is a bit of pressure to have people eat there and it would need to be improved to keep guests eating there given the superior and plentiful local options in Legian.

Room Tip: The junior suites are spacious and appropriate for small families, but wifi was weak in ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y1964oung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBliss, Manajer Umum at Bliss Surfer Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Bali. Please accept our sincere apologies for your unfortunate experience from your previous stay and action has been taken to ensure this mistake does not happen again.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciate the firendliness of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our service as it what we strive for everyday. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work. Your suggestion for the restaurant has been carefully noted by the department concerned.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Bliss Wayan Hotel.


Sincerely,


Budhiratmanu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    517
    120
    24
    11
See reviews for
279
448
138
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bliss Wayan. The hotel was well fitted out and the rooms were modern and clean, but I think the stand out was the friendliness of the staff; never have I seen so many big smiles in my life. All the staff seemed quite happy to be there and did not seem like there was any request that would be too much. I must give credit to one staff member ( I think his name was Agung) who helped me after getting scammed by a money changer for $A300! He escorted me back to the scammer said a few brief words and within a few minutes I received all my money back, I was very relieved, so Thank you Agung (apologies If I have got the name wrong).
The hotel is a bout a 10 minute walk from the beach, which was fine for us as it was out of the business, the price was amazing as well as the best buffet breakfast I had in Bali. All in all, A great stay with great staff and great food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBliss, Manajer Umum at Bliss Surfer Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank your for dedicating your time to share such a good review during your stay at Bliss Wayan Hotel. We are glad to know that you had a great time with us and it is our pleasure to help our guest from all kind of issues. Since the guest satisfaction is the aim of our business, we will share this to our staff to keep their motivation for giving the best service for guest.

Again, thank you very much for choosing Bliss Wayan Hotel and we look forward for your next trip to Bali.


Sincerely,


Budhiratmanu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We travelled with our 2, 5 and 7 year old boys. The staff are really friendly and helpful. It is a bit of a walk to the beach, but we did this several times with our children and it wasn't a problem. You can easily catch a taxi back to the hotel if required. It is a shorter walk to good restaurants and shopping. There are several small shops close by for snack / water requirements. The hotel is great. Very clean with comfortable beds. The pool is great with a smaller toddler pool as well. Breakfast changed every day and was really nice. There is a school opposite the hotel, but this did not bother us as we are up early anyway. The noise from the school starts around 7ish but settles down once school starts around 8. I would recommend this hotel. We had a fantastic stay and the children loved it. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBliss, Manajer Umum at Bliss Surfer Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post such a good review of our hotel. We are very happy knowing that you and your family had a great time during your stay with us and leave with a memorable thoughts. We will share this to our staff to encourage them keeping the great service for all guest.

Again, thank you for choosing us as your accommodation provider and let us know if you have any plan to visit Bali then we can serve you even better than the previous one.


Sincerely,

Budhiratmanu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The price was decisive to book Bliss Wayan, but actually it could easily have been for location and quality as well! Cosy place, overly friendly personnel (from reception, to spa, to housekeeping).
Breakfast is good. The room was superb, very clean, new and well organized. Tidy bathroom.
Excellent Wi-Fi, and a very good spa on the 5th floor. Foot accupressure, wow, it hurted like.. :-)

The hotel is a 10 minute walk to Jalan Legian, the main street through Kuta, Legian, Seminyak and so on. Many many cabs pass by, cost no more than 20,000ID to Kuta (but might as well stay up here).

Practice makes perfect - I could not charge my room after using the spa, which was bit of an inconvenience. I paid at reception. It became unpleasant when I was asked to pay for the treatment at check-out, and was lucky to have kept the receipt.

Note, if you walk back to the hotel after midnight, and you are a solo man, you may get harrassed by lady boys on scooters. A taxi is advisable.

Getting there from the airport: prices are fixed. You pay 70,000DIDR to Bliss Wayan. Return is about 45,000K. Takes about 20 minutes, depending on traffic

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FASttRaveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBliss, General Manager at Bliss Surfer Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for letting us know about your experience with us here in Bali. We appreciate the feed back and extremely happy you had a great time. We are happy that you were pleased with the cleanliness of our rooms and your suggestion about the spa will be considered in order to keep the guest convenience.

Our team is dedicated to making your stay in Bliss Wayan Hotel a great one, so we hope you will come back to visit us again soon.


Sincerely,


Budhiratmanu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Bliss wayan has a cosy feel to it, smiling staff at the front desk. Noel and cynthia behind the bar were freindly.
Great location near everything but just set back in a quiet road to escape the crowds and the noise.
Rooms are hip, clean, nice balcony.
The pool is a good size.
Will definately stay their again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samambaia76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBliss, General Manager at Bliss Surfer Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about staying at Bliss Wayan Hotel. It is pleasure to hear that you enjoyed and that we contributed in some small way in making your stay a pleasant and memorable one.

On behalf on the whole team of Bliss Wayan Hotel I would like to say thank you for choosing us as your accommodation provider during your trip in Bali and we always welcoming you back to the hotel.


Sincerely,


Budhiratmanu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I wasn't sure of the location at first, but it's surprisingly accessible. Though it's not near the beach, its about 10 minutes walk out to Legian and Kuta Beach.

Bliss Wayan provides great Spa services which made me go twice during my 3 day trip. Rooms provided are great and comfortable enough for a standard hotel (I stayed in a deluxe room overlooking the pool). Although a bit small in the covered shower area, the bathroom is super clean and the balcony is a great place to relax too!

This is an awesome funky hotel with great deals and packages. They sure know how to maintain great rates with awesome services. The staffs are especially polite, nice and great to talk to.

Buffet breakfast is not that bad. They have a live station for scrambled eggs and omelettes, served with your own choice of cheese, mushroom or whatever is on the menu that day. One of the funny memorable situation I had was the lamb chop I ate when they were about to close late night. It was very, very salty. Maybe it's the style of cooking and recipe down there or maybe they were rushing to close.

However, my overall stay was brilliantly memorable!! Highly recommend if you have a budget within and don't mind a bit of distance walk out to the beach!! =)

Room Tip: Pool View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SidH586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBliss, General Manager at Bliss Surfer Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you very much for giving such a good review of your stay at Bliss Wayan Hotel. It is glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize regarding the situation happened at the restaurant, we have shared this issue to related department to assure this will not happen again in the future. However, guest satisfaction is our number one goal.

Again, thank you very much for sharing your memorable stay with us, we can't wait for your return visit!


Sincerely,

Budhiratmanu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Easily the best hotel stay for me throughout duration of month in Bali. Ticks all the boxes. Great attention to fine detail. Staff with super freakish memory, each and every one. Nyoman the king of making you feel special (makes the best coffee also). Place should be about $60 a night at least but terrific value at $45 instead (even though it was out of my budget, I kept staying because it has been so good here). Sad to leave but know where to go next time I am in Legian! Thanks to all the staff at Bliss Wayan hotel :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBliss, General Manager at Bliss Surfer Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear valued Customer,

Thank you for sharing such a great experience during your stay with Bliss Wayan Hotel. We will pass on this to our staff to keep their motivation in giving the best service. It is important for us to know that each guest have enjoyed their stay.

Again, thank you very much for choosing us as your accommodation provider in Bali. Can't wait for your next visit here.


Sincerely,

Budhiratmanu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.4 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#38 of 87 in Legian
2,320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian
0.7 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#17 of 87 in Legian
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 87 in Legian
2,307 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#22 of 87 in Legian
912 reviews
0.6 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bliss Surfer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bliss Surfer Hotel

Property: Bliss Surfer Hotel
Address: Jl. Sriwijaya no. 88, Legian 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Bliss Wayan Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Legian
#7 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#12 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bliss Surfer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located, close to major business destination in Legian area in Jalan Sriwijaya where the location nearby Kuta, Seminyak and also the Sunset Road through Jl. Dewi Sri. Inside of the hotel, you’ll find a restaurant named Bombura resto n bar with beach ambiance and facing the swimming pool, serving variety of food & beverages with special colorful table set and cutleries and paper napkin.Lifestyle features includes art in the lobby and in each room featuring art works that represent “Colorful Bliss”, which we also called this hotel as a Surfing Hotel Concept as the main concept in the interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Bliss Surfer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bliss Surfer Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing