We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a Great Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanai Beach Bar and Grill

Lanai Beach Bar and Grill
Ranked #57 of 225 Restaurants in Legian
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Seafood, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kincumber, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Always a Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My family and I always visit Lanai when we stay in Legian. We never leave disappointed, great food, great service always helpful staff. During our last visit however, the owner of Lanai's made a visit. At first we were unsure exactly who this brash, loud and actually quite rude woman was, until our waiter filled us in. During the entire time this woman was there, she did not sit down long enough to eat with her child, and made constant trips to and fro the kitchen. Audibly chastising the chefsf!. A comment was even directed at our table in respect to plates being left at the end of it. Her daughter asked why they were there and she replied "that's how Australians eat". Go figure, I am still trying to work that one out! The good thing was her visit did not last too long, and when she left things returned to their relaxed best. We did return the following night, as we love it there so much. This time there was no visit from the boss phew! A great place to watch the sun set.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tudish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    129
    47
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Loved sitting upstairs for dinner. Thai Chicken Salad was beautiful. Our waiter was soo friendly & made a rose from serviettes for us girls. Entertaining & lovely food for all our table

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tagit63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely beach front restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We chose a table upstairs on the balcony which was nice, views were good and it was quieter off of the main road. The food was good, there was a massive selection on the menu, we had spring rolls to start (not sure about the ketchup that came with them though!), then we had a seafood platter and chicken satay. Both of these were good, great flavours and good size portions, the service was good and the drinks cold, we would go again.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemmawilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“used to be good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Last time I visited this restaurant was a few years ago. It WAS wonderful then. This time it was NOT. We got seats fairly easily but then had to wait 10 mins to be able to order a drink. The menu has changed and has a lot less than before. When the food came it was overcooked and chewey. Used to be a fan.....now I am not

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reculvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great view, Great food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have enjoyed coming to Lanai over many years and have always had great service & great food. This did not change at all this visit, however one of the wait staff placed a wine bucket and stand right behind my chair, without my knowledge. On getting up the whole bucket overturned and the wine bottle broke ( we had only had 2 glasses). The manager came down , there was no offer of a new bottle nor were they going to discount the bill. After a rather long discussion , he agreed to 50% off the bottle. On leaving we discovered it was going to come out of the waiters wage, we advised that it was not right, the owner was making an absolute killing with this place and should look after their staff,( a lot of them have been there for years) he then back tracked and said it would come out of their tips! Still not right!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanai Beach Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Lanai Beach Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing