We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, great pool, small rooms”
Review of The ONE Legian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The ONE Legian
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Legian
New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good location, great pool, small rooms”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

My friend and I stayed here last June (2011), taking advantage of the grand opening specials.
There were a few hiccups due to being a new hotel, but I could not fault the friendly staff, and the delicious buffet breakfast :)
The rooftop pool is fabulous, and the rooms were tidy but very small for two people. That said, I dont tend to spend much time in my room when in Bali.
I would consider again for a night or two max.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    851
    396
    148
    131
See reviews for
285
733
253
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This had to have the 2nd worst hotel I have stayed in ever. We stayed there for 5 nights in January 2012 and I have to say the only good thing was the location it was right there in the hustle and bustle of it all but that's it.

Where do I begin, it started by the hotel staff leaving our bags on the street for about 10 mins and me waiting and watching and hoping no one will walk away with them and with hotel staff hanging around saying no one will take it yet neither of them were going willing to take it up to reception for me. At check in the hotel staff for friendly but not overly nice, they swiped the AMEX a few times and found it had been rejected, gaave them another card and everything was fin. Following on from the AMEX issue we called the card issuer and they said the hotel had put in the wrong number for the ccv 3 times...to me hotel staff should know the basics of where to find a ccv number on a AMEX differs to a VISA or Mastercard.

We were taken to our room and we were in the basement, no windows, no natural light, the room was sooooo tiny it was actually rather upsetting, I remember at one point I walked between the bed and the tv that hung on the wall and my elbow smacked into the wall and tv just caause of the sheer lack of space. The bathroom much worse, small, no shelving and no ventilation. In addition to all that I have mentioned this room was right underneath the breakfast area so first thing in the morning that wonderful sound of chairs being dragged across the floor, foot steps and music. It felt like we were bats for a night.

As this was all experienced on the 1st of 5 nights, my husband had to fix this as it was really very depressing and after much discussion and complaining we packed up our room and were moved to the floor above reception. This room was better than the 1st there was windows and natural light so no neccessary to have the lights on all the time and was much larger in size so no more elbow smacking on walls but as for the location of the room not much better, this one was located on top of the breakfast area with the entrance of our room overlooking the breakfast area so every morning noisy and to add the smell of eggs cooking wafting into the room in the early hours.

I don't want to keep harping on about the negatives but just to add a few more our room wasn't made up and we were out of the room for at least 6 hours and had the sign on the door and lastly there are just not enough tables available at breakfast so you are waiting around for someone to finish so you can have a table first of all and then you have to find someone to clean the table when you finally get one.

The hotel looks nice and is clean and new and flash but new isn't always best...this hotel has a lot to learn for me to recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor it more than likely will have a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oz_traveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I am quite happy with this 3 days trips to Bali sometime in Jan 2012. It was great stay. For its class ,The Legian 101 almost have everything I need, staff were helpful and looks happy, service was excellent, beer were cold and fresh,and locations itself is great, easy access to get anywhere,it was take only 15minutes less to get there from airport, to find night life is just about 2-3 minutes walks, as well to shopping or to the beach , . Hotel Design amazing, Material they use for amenities are meet with the standard. It's a very clean hotel and well maintain,
The only thing I feel different was when I saw many tourists standing in the Free Internet Area, I suggest to put some stools to make them feel comfortable :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hery s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

hotel 101 is a great place to stay but be aware of the bed bugs, we had to change rooms....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed at the 101 Legian for 2 nights only and I will start with the positives.- Location is good, staff were friendly, and the rooftop bar/ restaurant lovely.
Negatives - Rooms are tiny (no cat swinging here!), bathroom tinier still and no shelving for toiletries, and along with the wee beds, it felt as though I was in the seven dwarfs house! Add to that the noisy hallways (heavy doors that slam shut) and thin walls,
I was thankful it was a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigWoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Hotel was located at a convenient location. Smack right in busy Kuta street with loads to see and shop. Room was pretty small (but it doesn't matter to us as we are out most of the time anyway)... Only grouse was the paper thin walls... We can hear loud banging of doors and footsteps every night and some drunks who go around knocking on doors at 4am!) Negativity aside, we had a wonderful driver whom we couldn't praise enough... He was honest, sincere and is willing to go out of his way for us to enjoy our holiday. I would greatly recommend our driver to anyone who needed! :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piggydotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This place were great to stay, to have your special honeymoon, spending your time with your family, friends, or alone, because it's great place with good scenery, good guest services, this hotel also stylish and trendy
i've stayed there for 3 days of holiday, with strategic places, and easy to reach to around Bali good spots, besides all of it, this hotel also relaxing and comfortable event at the 4th floor rooftop, they pleasuring us with many kind various of entertainment,
maybe a little bit noisy, but why don't you enjoy the music? find new friends, networks , or couples?? XD, next time when i will going to Bali just wait and serve me 1O1!!! hahahaha

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william1487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.1 mi away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#21 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#18 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bali Legian
Mercure Bali Legian
#27 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#16 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The ONE Legian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The ONE Legian

Property: The ONE Legian
Address: Jl. Raya Legian 117, Legian 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The 101 Legian)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#17 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#23 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The ONE Legian 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as a Indonesia Leading Lifestyle Hotel by Indonesia Travel Tourism Awards 2014 and Bali Leading Lifestyle Hotel by Bali Tourism Awards 2015, The ONE Legian is committed to be the center of BALI, LIFESTYLE and BEYOND which offers ONE STOP Kuta-Legian Experience, a self Contain Hotel in the milieu of Kuta. The "ONE" Legian is inspired from the Spirit of Sunrise or Matahari Pagi, as beginning of Fresh New Day of vibe and active lifestyle. The ONE Legian is a new spirit of elegant transformation of the hotel whom previously operating under name The 1O1 Bali Legian (3 Stars Premium) into Four Stars Brand to represent NEW URBAN LEGIAN concept which is focused on New Urban DESIGN, New Urban LIVING, New Urban LIFESTYLE, New Urban HOSPITALITY and New Urban BOOKING as a One Stop Kuta - Legian Experience, a Self Contain Hotel in the milieu of Kuta. The CHIC and TRENDY hotel, The ONE Legian features 6 types of Rooms, The ONE Superior Room, The ONE Deluxe Room, The ONE Deluxe Balcony, The ONE Deluxe Pool Access, The ONE Deluxe Family, and The ONE Suite, which offer great experience for escaping life stressors and venture to Bali's legendary Urban Village of Legian. Guest also may enjoy a tasteful meal within one of the 3 dining venues which includes Rooftop Dine & Music Lounge, De Basilico Kitchen & Bar and "Happening" Urban Street Party at The Deck. There is also an extensive list of wellness facilities: The SPA, Fitness Center, Two outdoor swimming pools with different ambience of cozy calmness at Romeo Pool and active trendy lifestyle at Skypool which also accommodate "Happening' Skypool Party that you never experienced. Find also another extraordinary facilities with Rooftop Movie Night which will be great for spending your time at Night by Special BOX OFFICE Movies. With it stylish walking distances to re-born traditional Legian Stores, Lifestyle Pub & Restaurant and Bali most famous nightlife clubs. It is beyond doubt the heaven for active, urban-lifestyle, young at heart, sophisticated individual and those with passion to explore the richness of Bali in Urban Legian way which complete your journey for passion and memorable holiday in urban style of Bali. Due to its uniqueness, location and hotel architecture, The ONE Legian is not designed as "friendly" accommodation for family whom travelling with young children, guest with special needs and senior citizen. However, Hotel is welcoming every guest with its unique character, whom able to enjoy the value offer by The ONE Legian as New Urban Legian.The ONE Legian Hotel is conveniently located by the hub of every "happening" for those whom enjoying active lifestyle of Kuta - Legian, with easy access to all major Business or Tourist District. Its located in the heart of Legian which is 15 mins walk to popular "Kuta Beach" and approximately 15 mins driving to International Ngurah Rai Airport. The ONE Legian also offers an easy access for value deal street shopping which is less than 10 mins walk for Bali famous souvenirs of fashion and Legian's famous surfer brand of fashion and social clubs which traditionally known as the highlight of Kuta-Legian as destination.The ONE Legian Hotel is a four (4) stars hotel, offers modern touch minimalist style of living in the traditional community of Legian and Kuta with blend of urban technology to provide a comfortable setting for business and leisure travelers. All of our rooms are completed with attracted Bathroom including Guest Supplies licensed Guest from Indonesia Ministry of Health (BPOM), Hairdryer, LCD Screen TV, VRV Air-Conditioning, Hit & Cold Water Shower, Comfort Bed with guest friendly linen quality, NON-Smoking Design, In-Room Safety Procedure, Broadband Wi-Fi Internet Access for complimentary and a Safety Deposit Box. Smoking room is available in the balcony for Deluxe Room category and above. Smoking is strictly not allowed inside of the guestroom for the convenience of the other guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The ONE Legian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 101 Legian-Bali Hotel Legian
The ONE Legian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing