We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, Very nice pool and rooftop”
Review of The ONE Legian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The ONE Legian
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Reviewed January 22, 2012

we were there for just 2 days, the hotel is the heart of kuta, the area is very touristic and loudy, despite this the hotel is very nice, clean, quite new, free wi-fi, swimming pool and rooftop

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank france2387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,022 - 2,028 of 2,435 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stay here from 3-6th jan & it's a fantastic experience. Into the city line of kuta & at legian street were all nightlife falls !!
Would like to stay here again !! Bali really rocks....

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nissan_sumariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

As most of the reviews have said the Legian 101 is ultimately for the "schoolies" and party type.
We stayed on the 2nd Floor and as the middle of the building is hollow - the noise was ridiculous. The rooftop parties werent anything to rave about and after sight seeing all day the last thing we all wanted to do was party let alone not be able to sleep due to the excessive noise and heavy bass.
Our room was the largest of our group of 7 people however we didnt have a hot / warm shower while we were there and when the shower was started the stench of sewerage was unbearable. There was only 2 power points in the room - 1 in the bathroom and 1 near the desk. The air conditioner is set on 24degrees and whenever the temp is put down it always returned to that same 24degrees which in Bali - is too hot!
My parents woke up to their room flooded from the air conditioner to which 2 technicians came and stood under it with plastic bags-
The atma spa had good atmosphere in the massage room however my fiancee and I had full body massages and were left with bruises up our legs and arms as the staff are untrained. My mum had a pedicure in the corner of a hallway on a plastic chair in a bucket of water - my sister in law was also left with a massive knot in her neck leaving her unable to move and had to go to a professional (we recommend the Melasti in Legian) to get her neck fixed.
We were still paying $10AUD for a cocktail and the meals were very expensive in the hotel - what we paid on the 1st day for lunch was the same amount we paid for 3 days lunch.
For a building that has been turned into a hotel from a supermarket - it needs alot of work - we were walking through corridors and massive manholes had been cut out of the roof with a handsaw as there was a leak coming from the sewerage pipe and they didnt know where it was coming from-
As you walk in, yes the security looks great - but they need to have security going through the hallways etc at night time - the party goers were running up and down the corridors at night - singing at the top of their lungs and knocking on peoples doors at 3am telling people that their mum was dead - not to mention the parties that were going on in the corridors - not the rooftop!
We all had paid for the late check out due to the late flight - we came back to the hotel to our passes not working as they had locked us out and got our bookings wrong - our passports etc were still in the room and no explanation was given for this at all.
As for the rate - it wasnt that cheap - we stayed in this hotel as we decided at thelast minute to spend new years overseas and booked whatever we could get. compared to some of the stunning resorts in legian that have their own beachfront - the legian 101 is expensive - people really need to do their homework.

i wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone except barely 18year olds that want to stay somewhere (300m) away from the memorial and the clubs.

Room Tip: make sure that you chek the roof - there are a lot of leaks coming from the ceiling
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

For the price of only about $80 per night, it was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! after a shocking experience elsewhere paying about the same, you can't even compare the excellence that the 101 offered. The rooms were immacullate, the sky bar was amazing, the security is fantastic, security cameras in every corridoor and staff constantly walking around.. friendliest staff i've come by as well.. would definitely recommend, i will guarantee this is where i'll be staying from now on !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on level 3, it's the pool level!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel between the 18th and 27th of Nov 2011, and im so glad i picked this place. The staff were always smiling and always there to help even with my stupid questions. This was my first overseas holiday and i felt very comfortable at this hotel. The pool bar staff are the best, they definatey make every day excellent when you are there. This hotel is cheap but is like a 5 start hotel.... i am going back to this hotel again :)
The hotel is located in a great spot with lots to do... and no the noise is not bad at all. we did not hear anything.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.... who cares what type of room thats why you are in Bali
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at the 101 for 6 nights over Christmas. It is a new accommodation, being a refurbished "Matahari" Store.
The street is very busy, the main night club drag between Kuta & Legian, there is always a lot of noise and music going.
The rooms are very very small. We had 3 twin rooms with single beds for 6 of us, and the were all extremely small. The smallest I think I have ever stayed in. It was all very clean and new, however, throughout each floor of rooms, there are plenty of unfinished touched (ie ceilings not painted, leaking roof etc)
The pool is on the roof, it is very nice, but only 1.1m deep throughout, so no diving or jumping in. The wading pool would be good for little ones. The view from the pool is great, however, we found it too windy to be up there each afternoon. The mornings were good.
The breakfast was adequate, also served on the roof, all food was fresh and served clean. Chefs cooking the eggs for quests. The fresh fruit variety was a little disappointing, only watermelon, papaya and melon. The drinking glasses on offer at breakfast are tiny - two mouthfuls and you need a refill. Very small coffee mugs too.
The staff were hit and miss. Some were very friendly (especially housekeeping and pool) however the front desk were watching the clock for thier knockoff time. They made no effort to explain things when we checked it, we were told to hand over deposit and passport for copying, handed our room key and pointed to the elevator. The amount of staff they had on, was to say the least - excessive, but it seemed they were only there for looks. Not many of them were actually helpful. I think more staff training is required.
This is not a tradional Balianese Resort as some I have stayed it. It is very modern, lacks the Bali grounds and garden feel and is more of a motel than resort. There are no grounds or gardens, it is a building with a pool and restaurant on the roof.
I think it would be ideal for a group of young people out to party, or footy trip etc. If your not planning to spend any time in your room besides showering and sleeping, then it would be great. We were a party of 6, over 3 generations, so it didnt perhaps suit us as we had hoped.
It is far from relaxing, so go somewhere else if thats what your after. Too busy and noisy. The corridors are very loud and echo, you can hear everything outside yor room. We slept with he TV on to block out the outside noises.
All in all, its perfectly adequate as long as you are aware of what our getting. I for one, prefer resort grounds and will not be staying there again, as I can find much nicer surrounds and staff for the same cost.
As with most Balinese accommodation, there is no top sheet on the beds, so I pack my own or buy a sarong to drap over me, to hot for quilt, but too cool for nothing with aircon on.

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor, so street noise was lower as was noise level from rooftop bar and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy9975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were in Bali recently to celebrate new year eve's celebration and since it was super peak season we paid double the price for this budget hotel. So for the price we paid it was not worth it but u guess it's a good hotel during normal season for travellers looking for an affordable hotel which is new and at a good location. The moment you step out of the hotel, you feel and hear the Bali buzz at full force. There are rows of mini marts, bars, shops, restaurants right at the hotel's doorstep. If you're looking for some peace and serenity, this is definitely not for you. The hotel provides breakfast on the roof top restaurant/bar. Breakfast - nothing to shout about! The swimming pool is on the roof top as well and perfect place for those looking to sun tan. Now let's go to the rooms. The room is ideal for 2 people and 3 definitely is a crowd. As for the bathroom, I think my car is bigger! There is no tea/coffee making facilities, maybe they would like everyone to head down to the soon to be opened Starbucks on the ground floor of the hotel! ;) The hotel provides free wifi( thank god) but at the risk of sounding ungrateful, the process of getting the wifi is kinda annoying cos you have to obtain new passwords regularly. The highlight of the hotel is their spa. It's reasonably priced, had an awesome massage and facial for USD18 each for 2 hours! The hotel staff are polite and provide good service despite running on a full house. And oh, the hotel's is safe as there is security with metal detectors at the entrance and all access in the hotel is via the room card key.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dharsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa
Sun Island Hotel & Spa
#19 of 87 in Legian
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akmani Legian
Akmani Legian
#25 of 87 in Legian
977 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bliss Surfer Hotel
Bliss Surfer Hotel
#18 of 87 in Legian
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#15 of 87 in Legian
1,316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bali Legian
Mercure Bali Legian
#24 of 87 in Legian
1,383 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The ONE Legian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The ONE Legian

Address: Jl. Raya Legian 117, Legian 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The 101 Legian)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#19 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#25 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range: $31 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The ONE Legian 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as a Indonesia Leading Lifestyle Hotel by Indonesia Travel Tourism Awards 2014 and Bali Leading Lifestyle Hotel by Bali Tourism Awards 2015, The ONE Legian is committed to be the center of BALI, LIFESTYLE and BEYOND which offers ONE STOP Kuta-Legian Experience, a self Contain Hotel in the milieu of Kuta. The "ONE" Legian is inspired from the Spirit of Sunrise or Matahari Pagi, as beginning of Fresh New Day of vibe and active lifestyle. The ONE Legian is a new spirit of elegant transformation of the hotel whom previously operating under name The 1O1 Bali Legian (3 Stars Premium) into Four Stars Brand to represent NEW URBAN LEGIAN concept which is focused on New Urban DESIGN, New Urban LIVING, New Urban LIFESTYLE, New Urban HOSPITALITY and New Urban BOOKING as a One Stop Kuta - Legian Experience, a Self Contain Hotel in the milieu of Kuta. The CHIC and TRENDY hotel, The ONE Legian features 6 types of Rooms, The ONE Superior Room, The ONE Deluxe Room, The ONE Deluxe Balcony, The ONE Deluxe Pool Access, The ONE Deluxe Family, and The ONE Suite, which offer great experience for escaping life stressors and venture to Bali's legendary Urban Village of Legian. Guest also may enjoy a tasteful meal within one of the 3 dining venues which includes Rooftop Dine & Music Lounge, De Basilico Kitchen & Bar and "Happening" Urban Street Party at The Deck. There is also an extensive list of wellness facilities: The SPA, Fitness Center, Two outdoor swimming pools with different ambience of cozy calmness at Romeo Pool and active trendy lifestyle at Skypool which also accommodate "Happening' Skypool Party that you never experienced. Find also another extraordinary facilities with Rooftop Movie Night which will be great for spending your time at Night by Special BOX OFFICE Movies. With it stylish walking distances to re-born traditional Legian Stores, Lifestyle Pub & Restaurant and Bali most famous nightlife clubs. It is beyond doubt the heaven for active, urban-lifestyle, young at heart, sophisticated individual and those with passion to explore the richness of Bali in Urban Legian way which complete your journey for passion and memorable holiday in urban style of Bali. Due to its uniqueness, location and hotel architecture, The ONE Legian is not designed as "friendly" accommodation for family whom travelling with young children, guest with special needs and senior citizen. However, Hotel is welcoming every guest with its unique character, whom able to enjoy the value offer by The ONE Legian as New Urban Legian.The ONE Legian Hotel is conveniently located by the hub of every "happening" for those whom enjoying active lifestyle of Kuta - Legian, with easy access to all major Business or Tourist District. Its located in the heart of Legian which is 15 mins walk to popular "Kuta Beach" and approximately 15 mins driving to International Ngurah Rai Airport. The ONE Legian also offers an easy access for value deal street shopping which is less than 10 mins walk for Bali famous souvenirs of fashion and Legian's famous surfer brand of fashion and social clubs which traditionally known as the highlight of Kuta-Legian as destination.The ONE Legian Hotel is a four (4) stars hotel, offers modern touch minimalist style of living in the traditional community of Legian and Kuta with blend of urban technology to provide a comfortable setting for business and leisure travelers. All of our rooms are completed with attracted Bathroom including Guest Supplies licensed Guest from Indonesia Ministry of Health (BPOM), Hairdryer, LCD Screen TV, VRV Air-Conditioning, Hit & Cold Water Shower, Comfort Bed with guest friendly linen quality, NON-Smoking Design, In-Room Safety Procedure, Broadband Wi-Fi Internet Access for complimentary and a Safety Deposit Box. Smoking room is available in the balcony for Deluxe Room category and above. Smoking is strictly not allowed inside of the guestroom for the convenience of the other guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The ONE Legian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 101 Legian-Bali Hotel Legian
The ONE Legian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing