We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of The ONE Legian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The ONE Legian
Ranked #35 of 88 Hotels in Legian
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 5 nights at the end of August. I have to say the staff are fantastic! They were always smiling and saying hello which was really nice to see. The location was also good - right in the middle of all the action! Only problem was that the traffic outside was shocking and sometimes it would take half an hour in a taxi just to move 50 metres.

We had a Deluxe Room which was fairly small, so I don't know how anyone would manage to stay in a Superior Room. Our bathroom though was relatively big, so that was great to see. We also had a really nice balcony overlooking the street, which we loved. We could hear noise, but as we are both late 20's / early 30's we quite enjoyed listening to what was going on outside. One problem with the balcony was that they didn;t provide any chairs, so we needed to ask for staff to bring some up. This was no issue though as the staff happily brought up some chairs very quickly.

We had twin beds in the room and they were very comfortable, but not very big or long. I am 5ft 9 (175cm) and my feet were dangling off the end.

The room service menu is very very limited unfortuantely, but a nice selection. The Spring Rolls are some of the best I have ever tasted!

Breakfast each day was not so good of an experience. The hot food in the buffet kept on running out and each time the staff would only bring out one plate to fill it up, which was the equivalent of about 4 serves. So of course, it would run out very quickly again. It was also pretty cold food, instead of being hot. There was a station though where you could get fresh eggs cooked up and this was good.

The rooftop bar at night is absolutely amazing, but the cocktails are very expensive. Had they have been cheaper, we would have sat up there almost every night. We tried a few on the first night though and they were very good.

Even though there were a few things that I would have liked changed, we still had a great stay (all because of the wonderful staff) and I would consider coming back here again.

Room Tip: Book the Deluxe - not the Superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sezzy_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legian101Bali, Management at The 1O1 Legian at The ONE Legian, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear Mr./Mrs. Sezzy_m,

Greeting from The 1O1 legian, a Smart Stylish Experience….

Thank you for making The 1O1 legian as your holiday destination of choice and for spending valuable time in providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We do apologies for any inconvenience during your stay caused of the noisy area at our hotel and we really appreciate of your kind understanding for it. Glad to hear that you liked our deluxe room with balcony facing to the street.

We have forward your concern about the breakfast to our Food & beverage Team for their improvement as we always do the best of service for our guest during their stay.
Your feedback to the 1O1 legian is highly appreciated and this become one of great opportunity for us to be more advanced in the future.

Best regards,

Management at
The 1O1 Legian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,048 - 2,054 of 2,398 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

I stayed at the 101 Legian after coming from Ubud, on the last leg of my trip. The hotel is new and it's fresh, so I think suits young travellers well. Its location is really good, about 10 mins walk to the beach, beside bars, shops and restaurants in the Legian area. The hotel has a pool and bar on the roof with a nice view to the city.
The hotel has complimentary wireless internet in the building, which is great for Indonesian standards. The rooms are small, and the bathroom has see-through glass door, which didn't bother me as I was travelling alone; however I think a couple would struggle with the space and the bathroom. The room also provides a safety box and TV with a small selection of English channels, which is OK considering you are not suppose to spend that much time on the room (right?).
The one thing I found a bit annoying is that the hotel plays music till late at the bar and I could hear it from my room while wanted to get some sleep. I also could hear the neighbours and it was a bit hard to get to sleep regardless how tired I was. Also, traffic is really bad on Raya Legian so you better walk a bit out of it to get a cab and visit other areas.
Staff was friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was actually pretty good.
Overall I think this hotel is a good option for a short stay and specially for young and/or solo travellers. I'd probably stay here again...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priscila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at The 101 for three days in August 2011. My boyfriend had salmonella and we chose the hotel so we could have a nice and clean place to stay with TV, decent food and room service.

Plusses:
The hotel is clean and new.
There is a really nice roof terasse with pool and bar/restaurant where you also have your breakfast buffet (fresh fruits, eggs any style prepared by cooks, salads, noodles, cereal, milk, juices, tea, coffee etc.).
The staff is friendly and greet you when you meet them in the hallways.

Minuses:
Small room.
Staff not very service minded when you have a complaint.
They claim to have room service but there are no menus in the room and you are not allowed to take a menu from the restaurant to your room so you need to go up to the restaurant in order to order the food to your room.
Rooms are not very sound proof. You easily hear people walking in the hallway and the loud music that are played at the bar upstairs.
Not many TV channels and the movie channel they have doesn't follow schedule (shows the same four-six movies over and over and the movies are copies which means that most of them are in pretty bad quality.)
When something is wrong it doesn't get fixed. We complained about the movie channel and they promised to call us back. When that didn't happen we called them again. That happened four times. Then we got tired of waiting and explaining the same problem over and over and we just gave up...


All in all a fine place, but in my opinion to expensive compared to what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marejse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legian101Bali, Management at The 1O1 Legian at The ONE Legian, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear Mr./Mrs. Marejse,

Greeting from The 1O1 legian, a Smart Stylish Experience….

Thank you very much for your comment and taking the time to give us feedback regarding to your stay at The1O1 legian. We do apologize for all of the inconvenience experience that you had during your stay with us here at The 1O1 legian.

In regard to your concern on movie channels, this concern has been noted and we have addressed to the concerning member of team for their follow up and improvement. We hope you can give us an opportunity to provide better service in the future.

Best regards,

Management at
The 1O1 Legian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Unless you enjoy listening to your next door neighbors shower, the noise of people eating on the rooftop, loud disco music until 1 am again from the rooftop [so loud it is impossible to sleep], being woken every 10-20 minutes by people banging their doors/shouting in the corridors, mediocre breakfasts, an internet connection that hardly ever works and very slow service, don't stay here. The design of the hotel is so bad that EVERY sound ricochets around the building, and with no carpeting or soft furnishings to absorb the noise it just bounces around the building with one noise adding to another and another.....we stayed because we needed a last minute one night hotel BUT NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlisonUrbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legian101Bali, Management at The 1O1 Legian at The ONE Legian, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear Mr./Mrs. AlisonUrb,

Greeting from The 1O1 legian, a Smart Stylish Experience….

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience in staying with us on Trip Advisor. We do apologies for the inconvenience during your stay caused by several thinks at The 1O1 Legian.

We always do strive to provide the best service to all of our guests during their stay at The 1O1 legian but there is always a shortage beyond our capabilities and we really appreciate of your constructive feedback which we will use as benchmark in improving our product and services.

We consider all comments to be an essential and important part of our ongoing efforts to maintain and improve product and service. We do hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Management at
The 1O1 Legian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I stayed here on an overnight stopover between Singapore and Papua. I got a great internet deal as part of the soft opening and was very impressed by what I got for the price.
The lobby is huge and, although open, felt peaceful and removed from the traffic below.
The rooftop included breakfast was wonderful as was the pool area.
My room was lovely and quiet, if a little dark, as it faced a courtyard away from the street.
The inhouse movies screened on a channel were a nice bonus to help me through my jetlag.
My room was compact but lovely - clean, new and stylish.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenhatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legian101Bali, Management at The 1O1 Legian at The ONE Legian, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear Mr./Mrs. Greenhatg,

Greeting from The 1O1 legian, a Smart Stylish Experience….

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience in staying with us on Trip Advisor.

It’s our pleasure to have you to stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again to the 1O1 legian.

Best regards,

Management at
The 1O1 Legian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and that was more than enough!

Firstly, a damp-musty smell greets you when you open the door. You then walk into a tiny little "box-room", with no where to put your luggage.

We had booked a king size bed, but when we went to bed that evening we found that it was actually 2 single beds pushed together! They had put a double sheet over both the beds to hide this fact. Most rooms have connecting doors which means you can hear your neighbours conversations, taking a shower, going to the toilet etc! You can hear people walking past the room, slamming the doors shut all night long. All the sounds from the hotel seem to echo down the corridor. You get lots of noise from the live music upstairs, but they finish around 9pm so it's not too bad.

The next day we comlained about the bed, they said that this room was "Hollywood style"! It could be a twin or double room - what a load of crap! Which couple wants to sleep in a room with 2 single beds pushed together? The service is appalling, they don't seem to have any common sense or be able to do more than 1 task at once, we asked at 8am that we wanted to change rooms, they said to come back at 2pm and they would arrange a new room. We came back at 2pm, they had no record of us asking to change the room and didn't seem to have any idea of what to do! We asked to speak to the manager who eventually gave us a room on the first floor. Which was marginally better!

This hotel is only about 4 months old - it looks like 4 years! Everything is made to a poor standard, already looks very worn and dirty. The bathroom is so small that the towel rack is directly above the toilet seat, you can hardly turn around! Be warned, the slippers in the room are not new, you can see the dirt and smell a lovely sweaty foot smell! The floors in the rooms are not well cleaned, the floor was covered in hairs and bits. The TV has a few English speaking news channels and a "movie channel" where they show pirated videos several times a day. All the others are normal Indonesian TV channels.

Many people have commented about the "rooftop pool" being amazing, I'm not sure if they have ever seen one before! It's nothing special, very small, like a large bathtub, maybe around 18 sunbeds all very close to each other.

The plus point is the restaurant, buffet breakfast not bad either.

I think this hotel is good for groups of twenty-somethings or budget travellers. But not for families or couples. Don't get a room on the ground floor the better rooms are on the first or second floor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamesbell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legian101Bali, Management at The 1O1 Legian at The ONE Legian, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear Mr./Mrs. Jamesbell,

Greeting from The 1O1 legian, a Smart Stylish Experience….

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience in staying with us on Trip Advisor.
We do apologies for any inconvenience experience that you have during your stay at the 1O1 Legian. for annoying problem has been noted and we will do more better in the future. Your feedback on these matter is highly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future

Best regards,

Management at
The 1O1 Legian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

I stayed at The 101 Legian with my friends. We stayed for 3 nights and had a pleasant time at the hotel. I particularly loved the kind hospitality. The rooms were big and the bed comfortable. The ambience of the hotel is simple and striking. The rooftop was a big plus to this hotel with great views of the Indian Ocean and surrounding Legian areas, it really shows another side of Legian. Only one glitch - the traffic could be horrendous at times.. but hey, let's just walk.. i'm not complaining! :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mya-Angeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legian101Bali, Management at The 1O1 Legian at The ONE Legian, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear Mrs. Mya-Angel,

Greeting from The 1O1 legian, a Smart Stylish Experience….

Thank you very much for your comment and taking the time to give us feedback regarding to your stay with us here at the 1O1 legian. We glad to hear that you have an enjoyable stay with us and glad to learn too that you liked our rooftop located on the top floor.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the 1O1 Legian.

Best regards,

Management at
The 1O1 Legian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian
0.1 mi away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#23 of 88 in Legian
958 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bliss Surfer Hotel
Bliss Surfer Hotel
#18 of 88 in Legian
1,308 reviews
1 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#16 of 88 in Legian
1,288 reviews
0 mi away
Fashion Hotel Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The ONE Legian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The ONE Legian

Address: Jl. Raya Legian 117, Legian 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The 101 Legian)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#19 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#24 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range: $27 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The ONE Legian 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as a Indonesia Leading Lifestyle Hotel by Indonesia Travel Tourism Awards 2014 and Bali Leading Lifestyle Hotel by Bali Tourism Awards 2015, The ONE Legian is committed to be the center of BALI, LIFESTYLE and BEYOND which offers ONE STOP Kuta-Legian Experience, a self Contain Hotel in the milieu of Kuta. The "ONE" Legian is inspired from the Spirit of Sunrise or Matahari Pagi, as beginning of Fresh New Day of vibe and active lifestyle. The ONE Legian is a new spirit of elegant transformation of the hotel whom previously operating under name The 1O1 Bali Legian (3 Stars Premium) into Four Stars Brand to represent NEW URBAN LEGIAN concept which is focused on New Urban DESIGN, New Urban LIVING, New Urban LIFESTYLE, New Urban HOSPITALITY and New Urban BOOKING as a One Stop Kuta - Legian Experience, a Self Contain Hotel in the milieu of Kuta. The CHIC and TRENDY hotel, The ONE Legian features 6 types of Rooms, The ONE Superior Room, The ONE Deluxe Room, The ONE Deluxe Balcony, The ONE Deluxe Pool Access, The ONE Deluxe Family, and The ONE Suite, which offer great experience for escaping life stressors and venture to Bali's legendary Urban Village of Legian. Guest also may enjoy a tasteful meal within one of the 3 dining venues which includes Rooftop Dine & Music Lounge, De Basilico Kitchen & Bar and "Happening" Urban Street Party at The Deck. There is also an extensive list of wellness facilities: The SPA, Fitness Center, Two outdoor swimming pools with different ambience of cozy calmness at Romeo Pool and active trendy lifestyle at Skypool which also accommodate "Happening' Skypool Party that you never experienced. Find also another extraordinary facilities with Rooftop Movie Night which will be great for spending your time at Night by Special BOX OFFICE Movies. With it stylish walking distances to re-born traditional Legian Stores, Lifestyle Pub & Restaurant and Bali most famous nightlife clubs. It is beyond doubt the heaven for active, urban-lifestyle, young at heart, sophisticated individual and those with passion to explore the richness of Bali in Urban Legian way which complete your journey for passion and memorable holiday in urban style of Bali. Due to its uniqueness, location and hotel architecture, The ONE Legian is not designed as "friendly" accommodation for family whom travelling with young children, guest with special needs and senior citizen. However, Hotel is welcoming every guest with its unique character, whom able to enjoy the value offer by The ONE Legian as New Urban Legian.The ONE Legian Hotel is conveniently located by the hub of every "happening" for those whom enjoying active lifestyle of Kuta - Legian, with easy access to all major Business or Tourist District. Its located in the heart of Legian which is 15 mins walk to popular "Kuta Beach" and approximately 15 mins driving to International Ngurah Rai Airport. The ONE Legian also offers an easy access for value deal street shopping which is less than 10 mins walk for Bali famous souvenirs of fashion and Legian's famous surfer brand of fashion and social clubs which traditionally known as the highlight of Kuta-Legian as destination.The ONE Legian Hotel is a four (4) stars hotel, offers modern touch minimalist style of living in the traditional community of Legian and Kuta with blend of urban technology to provide a comfortable setting for business and leisure travelers. All of our rooms are completed with attracted Bathroom including Guest Supplies licensed Guest from Indonesia Ministry of Health (BPOM), Hairdryer, LCD Screen TV, VRV Air-Conditioning, Hit & Cold Water Shower, Comfort Bed with guest friendly linen quality, NON-Smoking Design, In-Room Safety Procedure, Broadband Wi-Fi Internet Access for complimentary and a Safety Deposit Box. Smoking room is available in the balcony for Deluxe Room category and above. Smoking is strictly not allowed inside of the guestroom for the convenience of the other guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The ONE Legian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 101 Legian-Bali Hotel Legian
The ONE Legian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing