We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gosyen Hotel - Legian”
Review of Gosyen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gosyen Hotel
Ranked #35 of 63 Legian B&B and Inns
Perth. WA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gosyen Hotel - Legian”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This very reasonably priced hotel was immaculately clean, well kept and beautifully presented. I was very impressed with it. It looks as though it has been recently renovated.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was adequate. The only downside was the location, a little out of the main part of Legian. It was not a problem though as the taxi's are very cheap.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
36
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

A budget hotel. No room service after 10pm. Breakfast has staple of fried rice, fried noodles and white bread with butter and jam. After the 2nd day you get tired of it. Mosquitos in the room. We had to spray insecticide. No hot shower water late at night may be after 10pm. Room floor felt grimy. Have to keep your slippers on. Toilet is spartan. No counter top for toiletries. But the hotel staff was a saving grace. They made up for the shortcoming with their excellent service. They went tge extra mile to help me call a local resident from the hotel phone and also helped me call for MacDonald delivery.I love the staff but a no no to the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dorisraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Legian hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

2 nights stay here and i was really enjoy to stay here
in many hotel they put awesome photos in every single booking website and in real the hotel was ad
but not with gosyen hotel
the room was really niice,even much betterthan i saw in agoda.com

the staff friendly and always give smile to me
the restaurant in the corner was really cheap

stayin 2nd or 3rd floor will begood even they dont have elevator

Room Tip: choose 2nd and 3rd floor pleaseeeeee
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjisuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week at the end of September 2013, having read good review on tripadvisor. I am a 27year old female, travelling alone, which I think is important in understanding why I have only given the Gosyen an average rating.

The hotel room itself was lovely and spacious, with AC, flat screen tv, a decent bathroom and a very comfy and decent size double bed. My room however seemed to have a very bad mosquito problem......I know it is Bali and it is hot but they were everywhere which became annoying. The staff do clean the room daily and replace towels etc (although the towels never seemed that clean, but this may just have been stains which would not come out).

The staff at the GOSYEN are very pleasant and helpful and you are always greeted with a smile. There is a restaurant/cafe downstairs which is average....the prices are decent and the food is basic but it is handy enough if you just want a quick snack late in the evening.

There is a coffee bar upstairs which is separate to the hotel but if you like coffee it is definitely worth trying (they also have a pool table and serve beer etc).

The BIG let downs of this property are the pool and e location. If you are a sun worshipper it is important to know that the pool, while nice, is not suitable for sunbathing as it does not get much sun on the loungers.

The hotel is located on a main road with no pathways to walk on....there is a mini mart just 2 minutes walk up the road but the walk is dangerous who path, no street lights, and crazy mopeds and vehicles at all times of day and night. It is a 20minute walk to the Main Street of Legian/Kuta and also to the beach...this walk, while not the safest at parts (again no paths and heavy traffic flow) wouldn't have bothered me as I do like to explore when travelling but as I was travelling on my own I did NOT feel safe walking it once the sun had gone down. In fact the one night I did, I was with a friend and I had my bag stolen just around the corner from the hotel (obviously not the hotel's doing but again the location and safety issue has to come into play).

I liked the hotel itself but if you are young/travelling alone and plan on being able to walk around this hotel may not be for you as it is VERY quiet and the location is a let down.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at gosyen for five nights when we arrived to bali. It was clean and very friendly staff. Nice breakfast. It takes about 15-20 minutes to walk to the beach because of the traffic. The pool is unfortunatly covered by a roof so it's not the best place to tan. But over all a nice place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Olivia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samothraki
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

the hotel is situated in a strategic place, both for work or holidays. really close to Kuta central and beach. you can leave the car and walk wherever. the price is moderate and the service is friendly. rooms are quite clean and equipped for all you need. I had check in for a night and stayed longer and when I had to go back to Kuta I had no second thought but go there again.

Room Tip: wifi working at down floor for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivalaterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have recently stayed at the Gosyen for 4 nights. When we first arrived we hated it however it grows on you.
Bad points: bad location, horrible dirty bathroom, dirty bed sheets, building work right next to room (not really the hotels fault but there were plenty of empty rooms they could of moved us to when we asked).
Good points: good air con, good sized room, good pool and bar, nice friendly staff, big comfy bed.
This hotel is ok, but there are better hotels in better areas for the same price.

Room Tip: asked at reception about the speedy wifi, it works a lot better and is fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boo_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.4 mi away
Duo Legian Hotel
Duo Legian Hotel
#59 of 87 in Legian
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vilarisi Hotel
Vilarisi Hotel
#74 of 87 in Legian
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rivavi Fashion Hotel
Rivavi Fashion Hotel
#75 of 87 in Legian
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Harmony Legian
The Harmony Legian
#197 of 252 in Kuta
106 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel ZIA Bali – Kuta
0.1 mi away
Sunset Residence Condotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gosyen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gosyen Hotel

Property: Gosyen Hotel
Address: Dewi Sri Street 9, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gosyen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gosyen is a boutique hotel which is situated at prime area of Legian precisely at Dewi Sri Street. The concept is a combination of a subtle blend of Balinese architecture and Japanese aesthetics creating a contemporary yet minimalis design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gosyen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gosyen Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing