We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Excellent Rest.....”
Review of Grand Kuta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Kuta
Ranked #12 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My family and I are so glad to be able to stay at Grand Kuta..
This hotel is very good in quality, cleanliness, friendliness, and also service..
I wish I can stay here on my next holidays..
My satisfied is to thank Grand Kuta Hotel..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen_Natanael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 135 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

My first trip on a plane and to Bali. I expected less but the hotel has surpassed my expectations is most areas. The hotel was a little hard to find for my cab driver because i think he's still new. Some cab drivers know this hotel as Aston at Grand Kuta. Best to give the driver the full address of Grand Kuta.

We reached at nearly 11pm and the reception guy was a little busy but we enjoyed great service after. Led us to our room and informed us of the various facilities such as the safe, the power socket, this cute little bottle opener in the bathroom, etc. I believed it was really good. But at that point of time, I realised that there was only one power socket available in the entire hotel unit. But the good thing was that it was an universal power socket, so no need for additional travel adapters.

We were also informed by the hotel staff of the Nyepi, an annual Balinese Hindu New Year which required every single person on the island to stay indoors for 24hours. Both bad and good for us. The room service and housekeeping were quite good, though it might have delays every now and then. Food ordered by room service were so-so. We personally loved the wedges though! They raised the prices of their hotel room service food starting from the night before Nyepi till the morning after Nyepi, which was not really pleasant, especially when their food weren't really satisfying to begin with.

As for the hotel breakfast which was included in my package, it was kinda good in a way with a reasonable amount of variety, like porridge with ingredients, local spiced chicken, sausages, mixed vegetables, tofu, sunny side up eggs, etc. They had tasty pancakes though!

I personally expected the hotel shuttle to be a one vehicle, one trip thing where it picks everyone up at a particular time and brings them around, dropping them off at designated places. So i was pleasantly surprised that it could actually bring us to nearby places that we want when we wished to. The Saturday that we checked out, however, the hotel claimed that the shuttle service was only for picking up people from the airport so we had to cab. But cabbing in Bali isn't really expensive, if you followed the meter. Blue Bird Group cabs are a reliable bunch.

A note: The soap and shampoo they provided is kinda bad. Keeps your skin oily after the bath. We didn't like it so we purchased our own body lotion and shampoo.

We had a great overall experience and would recommend others to try this hotel (:

Room Tip: There's a C-shaped building surrounding one of the hotel's pool. The middle of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gibby_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Good rooms, staff speaks a moderate level of English, but a lot o moisture in the rooms. Food is good but expensive for Indonesian standards

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antonio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Aston Grand kuta hotel and residence is a 4star hotel located at legian rd,8-10mins away from the main Kuta beach & kuta centrale. They have free shuttle from hotel to the beach.

Basically, they got 3 elegant infinity pools which offers warm water at any time of the day. Their restaurant serves indonesian and western foods as well so their buffet breakfast is definitely good. their rooms is very spacious and clean. Flat screen tvs are all cable enabled so it is very helpful. Mini bar is a part of the room so no need to worry if u want to grab cold drinks, nuts, crakers and chocolates. Necessities eg shampoo, body gel, soap, toothbrush and toothpaste are all provided. Aircon is very good. They have safety volt which is very easy to use so you dont need to worry when leaving your valuables inside the room.

Apart from the facilities, their staff converse in english very well. We commend their general manager and staff hernani for making our stay very warm.

Reminders and tips - if you got any place to consider in the main Kuta beach, that would be better.so you wont need to take the shuttle or taxi to get to the centrale. We were harassed by a ngurah rai taxi driver. So Never ever ride in their taxis. Aston trusts and ties up with blue bird taxi so better choose that cab company.

Bali offers a lot, depends on how you want to enjoy the place. They got a lot of bars, restaurants, coffee shops and shopping spots as well. Atms are all over the place and accepts mastercard & visa credit cards as well..

Room Tip: better choose a hotel thats near to kuta centrale or beach proper. no good restaurant around the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hanniepex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My family of 4 stayed at the Aston at Grand Kuta in a Premier Studio (1 Master bedroom and 2 Single bedroom) for 3 nights between Christmas and New year 2011. Rooms were clean enough and reasonably priced but the hotel service was really bad.

When we called the housekeeping for 2 extra pillows, their reply was only 1 extra pillow can be provided as this was the hotel's rule. We tried to explained that we are a party of 4 and asking for 2 extra pillows is not unreasonable. They didn't want to listen and just hang up. I have stayed in more than 100 hotels all over the world and this is the first hotel that tells me only 1 extra pillow can be provided, regardless of the size of the party.

The "Free Surf Shuttle" advertised was only a van that can hold a maximum 6 guests. If you or your party didn't meet the cut you were out of luck and were asked to call a taxi. This "Free Surf Shuttle" was advertised to run 4 times daily but actually did not depending on the need to pick up arriving flight crews. How can a hotel that can house up to 270 guests advertise a free shuttle service for only 6 guests and cancels the service as it pleases. This is clearly false advertising and the hotel is just not concern about the negative reaction of its guests.

This hotel is quite far from Kuta (at least 30 minutes by taxi). If you expect free shuttle service and more than 1 extra pillow - don't stay there.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrankLeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My family of 4 stayed at the Aston at Grand Kuta in a Premier Studio (1 Master bedroom and 2 Single bedroom) for 3 nights between Christmas and New year 2011. Rooms was clean enough and reasonably priced but the hotel service was really bad.

When we called the housekeeping for 2 extra pillows, their reply was only 1 extra pillow can be provided as this was the hotel's rule. We tried to explained that we are a party of 4 and asking for 2 extra pillows is not unreasonable. They didn't want to listen and just hang up. I have stayed in more than 100 hotels all over the world and this is the first hotel that tells me only 1 extra pillow can be provided, regardless of the size of the party.

The "Free Surf Shuttle" advertised was only a van that can hold a maximum 6 guests. If you or your party didn't meet the cut you were out of luck and were asked to call a taxi. This "Free Surf Shuttle" was advertised to run 4 times daily but actually did not depending on the need to pick up arriving flight crews. How can a hotel that can house up to 270 guests advertise a free shuttle service for only 6 guests and cancels the service as it pleases. This is clearly false advertising and the hotel is just not concern about the negative reaction of its guests.

This hotel is quite far from Kuta (at least 30 minutes by taxi). If you expect free shuttle service and more than 1 extra pillow - don't stay here.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrankLeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I stayed with two friends of mine Nov 18-24, 2011.

Negatives:
* Though the Breakfast Buffet displays both Indo and Western food, it does not vary, and be prepared to wait 10 minutes for your bread to toast, or not receive it at all because by the time you go to retrieve said toast, another guest might steal it.
* Room-service food isn't the best (my wonton soup had two dumplings...)
* Bedroom pillows are a little too fluffy/full
* Construction across the little lane (there's ALWAYS construction and building going on EVERYWHERE in Bali, so it's not like this hotel is alone in that regard... but still...)
* If you want to pay $22 for laundry then let Housekeeping take care of it, otherwise you can go down the road and get your clothes freshly laundered for a fraction of the price
* No outdoor settings on room balconies, only by the pools
* Studio Rooms don't have cutlery or plates

Positives
* Staff are super nice
* Our room (Premiere Studio: 1 double and 2 single rooms) was quite spacious
* Room price was awesome
* Check-out time is at 12pm, leaving you ample time to cram everything back into your suitcase
* Free wi-fi (they also have a few computers in the lobby if ever you need). Having said that, there is also an internet cafe one street over (Jl Nakula) which has pretty good internet
* Tv has all sorts of channels (Indo as well as international channels)
* 24 hour Mini Mart is just next door, so you can get all your bottles of water and snacks there. Otherwise Carrefour supermarket is a short drive away
* Pasar Malam (Night Market) is only a 5 minute walk away, and you can try all local indonesian food, drinks, and desserts for cheap

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank griffinjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.9 mi away
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#35 of 88 in Legian
2,415 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
1 mi away
Adi Dharma Hotel
Adi Dharma Hotel
#18 of 251 in Kuta
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kuta

Address: Jl. Dewi Sri no.8, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range: $29 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Kuta 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Kuta is nestled in the heart of Bali, only a short drive to the beautiful beaches of Kuta, Legian and Seminyak. Offer you 100 rooms choice of one, two or three bedroom leisure apartment comes with access to 3 swimming pools, BBQ area, Café, 24hr room service, spa, free Wi-Fi, free surf shuttle service, and ample parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Kuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Kuta Hotel Legian
Grand Kuta Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing