We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing hostel. a must-stay for fun and friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Island Hotel
Ranked #10 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Legian
ventura, ca
2 reviews
“amazing hostel. a must-stay for fun and friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

this place is amazing. its designed well, affordable, has a great sense of community, and is overall a wonderful place. food and yoga was amazing... we met so many fun people and the staff is local and great. they had bbq's on the weekend that brought guests together and the rooms were super comfy. i have absolutely NOTHING bad to say about this place. STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbeth26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    82
    25
    12
    9
See reviews for
3
42
108
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

Very cosy and clean hostel perfectly located at a quiet alley. About 10 mins walking distance to the beach and close to many shops/restaurants around. Good staff services with housekeeping every morning. Loved their rooftop chill out area with clean white chairs, amazing to lay down at night especially for star-gazing. Free wifi but I had difficulty getting connected with my laptop. Do check out their bbq dinner where the owner Neill organizes sometimes. Overall I had wonderful stay at "the island", highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yokinabalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

This was my first time staying at a hostel and I was very impressed with "The Island". The room was clean and the grounds were maintained well. They give you a free massage and airport pickup , which was especially nice at 2:00 am in the morning. It's close to a lot of shops and the beach is about a 10 to 15 minute walk. The yoga classes were very good and are offered 3 times a day for 50000 rupees. They give you continental breakfast which is tasty. I would suggest trying the french toast as an add on to the breakfast. It was very good. The hostel is located down an alley or very narrow street. Be sure to look for a landmark before you walk on the main road or you may get lost trying to get back as I did several times. Also make sure you take the map with you that they give you at the front desk so you can ask for directions if you need it. I usually asked one of the guards at the hotels since they were not trying to sell me anything or harass me. They also have massages available for 70000 rupees for an hour which is nice. The pool area and lounge chairs were very nice and clean. There is a rooftop bar that opens in the afternoon which I did not use but it's a nice convenience. There is a nice lounge/breakfast area to meet people. My flight arrived at 2:00 am and I could not check in until 12:00 pm the next day so I just chilled/napped in the lounge area until check in time, which was not a problem for the staff. There is free wi-fi and they have flat screen TV's with many English speaking channels.


If it's your first time to Bali be prepared to be harassed by the locals trying to constantly sell you something. I was not prepared for that as I turned on the main road to walk to the beach. Just keep walking and don't make eye contact or speak and you will be fine. Also be prepared to bargain (just like in the rest of the shops) for a beach chair as the prices will vary from each vendor. I paid 30000 rupee but you could probably do better. People will approach you on the beach for a massage or to buy something but be firm and they will go away quickly. Bali also seems to be the place where Australians go for vacation so be prepared to meet a lot of Aussies and make some new friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cuetaipy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

great location,super friendly staff, dorm is very clean and comfortable,had lots of fun with other traveler i met .the island team do care about what people expected as they offered excellent service,it's a perfect place for just chill out do nothing,i loved it,will definitely stay there again when i go back to bali,thanks neil,for your hospitality to made my stayed enjoyable!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritachang1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

From the moment you step in the place , your welcomed.
Great spot, clean rooms, best breakfast , top staff , great chilling areas with constant chilled music.
Could not help being relaxed the whole time that we where there.
A beautifull place.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dozamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

this place is wicked. the staff are helpful and lovely. the fellow guests were awesome - instant friendship group to experience this beautiful island with. loved it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clapyourhandssayyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

I stayed in one of the upstairs rooms. It basically has a loft-like bed that has a couch on the bottom and a bed on the top that's way too close to the ceiling so you'll be sleeping on the "couch" below. The room has a flat-screen tv, (because frankly a full-size one just wouldn't fit.) and a private bathroom. There are dorms there which surprised backpackers will love because they've just come from crappy places like Kings Cross; But after a few days in Bali, you'll realize that you're paying way, way too much to live in a room with 10 other people. I've stayed in other places in Bali and this place just doesn't make sense to come back to. Even on a backpackers budget, there are much better options.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#17 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.7 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#34 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#22 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
#11 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Hotel

Property: The Island Hotel
Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Gang Abdi No. 18, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Island Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indonesia's #1 Hostel for Backpackers on Indonesia's #1 destination. Set in a quiet lane-way, just back from Legian Beach, The Island is the perfect base for your stay in Bali. Less than five minutes walk to the famous Double 6 Beach, The Island is surrounded by great restaurants, night-clubs and bars; and the shopping district is right on your doorstep. The hostel itself features 5 double rooms, 2x Private Dorm,3x Twin,2 x deluxe dorm, a very cool rooftop bbq & bar area, an infinity pool, Island Cafe, in-house massage service, Free High Speed Wi-Fi internet, travel desk, airport transfers and most importantly a super friendly vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing