We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Island - The Oasis”
Review of The Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Island Hotel
Ranked #11 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Island - The Oasis”
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Legian is a dirty, grasping thriving tangle and you either like it or don't. In this maze up a long laneway we found The Island and it's as hard to find in reality as it is in cyberspace (URL) but worth looking.
This small hotel is recently renovated, stylish, very clean and everything worked (oh yes). We paid $US55 for an air con room with a great bed with quality linen, modern bathroom with all cons (except a hairdryer) and bed lights you can read by (imagine). No fridge or phone if such things matter but it was comfortable with a view over neighbouring rooftops and apart from the odd bark and bike (hey it's Bali) it was not noisy for its location.
Inviting areas in which to chill or chataround the small pool or up on the roof. There was also what looked like a yoga/meditation room.
Very friendly, helpful staff sit in a well designed reception and breakfast area and give useful advice on all things Bali. Simple breafast but fresh and served with a smile. The Island really is an island of calm and cool in the chaos of Legian
The Island web site is very difficult to find one - here it is ! -
http://www.theislandhotelbali.com/index.php?page=7

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    83
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
3
43
110
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We stayed at The Island over Christmas and we had a fab time. We stayed in a loft room which had a double bed, day bed, AC, flat screen TV and cable channels. The rooms are cleaned everyday so it's spic and span! The infinity pool is gorgeous and there are plenty of places to sit and read a book, browse the internet via free wi-fi or just chill.

You can book a massage in the hostel for just $10USD and you won't be disappointed! The berry berry smoothies are worth a try too.....

The guys who own the hostel are great and very welcoming. They took a group of us out on Boxing day to Padang Padang beach and then to Jimbaran for a fish dinner on the beach - it was fantastic. We met some great people whilst staying there, including the staff........ Neill even helped us to find a hostel in Ubud over New Year as everything was booked up! Sam on reception is really helpful - especially when booking a hospital appointment!

If you're staying in Legian check out this hostel as you won't be disappointed. One word of advice though - book early as they get full up!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Impala_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

The Island Bali is a guesthouse/hostel that was an absolute pleasure to stay. A lot of thought must have gone into putting this place together. If you're staying in one of the private rooms, you have a very clean and comfortable room and bathroom full of character and mod cons. Likewise, the dorms and shared bathrooms are impeccably clean and tidy and those who sometimes shy away from the dorm option have no need to fear. Add to this an infinity pool and properly decent complimentary WIFI all the time. The real icing on the cake however are the great staff who always have a smile and are eager to help. It's located down a quiet side street which, though a little walk to the beach, makes it a very welcome haven away from Kuta and all that entails.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviduk888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

I stayed 4 nights in "The Island" Resort, Legian Beach (North of Kuta) and I was clearly impressed by the warm welcome, nice and very friendly staff and the rooms - quite clear above expectations. Besides all the stress, noise and people all over the Kuta/Legian area, The Island was always a very relaxed and quite place to come down after a long day on the beach or on the scooter.

Despite many other places on Bali I ran into, this place was not crowded or loud, but just always a chill-out home to come back to. Breakfast was really good, the rooms quite big with flatscreen and rain-shower. Also the dorm room was clearly above standard. The whole hostel was clean and in excellent shape. Of course this all cost, but I think cost/quality was on a very good ratio. The Island is clearly no "hard-budget" hostel like others.

I can only recommend this place to everyone who wants to get in touch with other people (non caring about age), as this is one of the last backpacker-like atmosphered places in Legian - at least I found.

Sure to be back one day! Thank you very much for the amazing start of my trip!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ba-chief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2009

The Island was recommended to me by a friend who knew the management. As soon as I emailed regarding a reservation the friendly, warm service was a delight. With nothing being too much trouble.

Myself and a friend stayed in a loft room, they may be small but it's all you need, comfy beds, chic bathroom and lovely clean linen. Although we didn't use the pool it's really inviting. It was a great place to stay for our frist 3 nights in Bali (although everything after was a slight disappointment!) This is certainly "flash-packing" rather than backpacking!

The only downside is the alley the hotel is located down, although well lit, if you're planning on being out late (and maybe by yourself for girls) it can be a bit eerie walking down it when the streets are dead...our plan...don't come home til dawn ;)
The Island may be on the high side of most travellers budgets but for a treat it is great, thanks to Claire & Neil for organising our stay, we'll be back next year for sure!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltastic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#18 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.9 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#33 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rama Garden Hotel Bali
Rama Garden Hotel Bali
#7 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#16 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Hotel

Property: The Island Hotel
Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Gang Abdi No. 18, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Island Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indonesia's #1 Hostel for Backpackers on Indonesia's #1 destination. Set in a quiet lane-way, just back from Legian Beach, The Island is the perfect base for your stay in Bali. Less than five minutes walk to the famous Double 6 Beach, The Island is surrounded by great restaurants, night-clubs and bars; and the shopping district is right on your doorstep. The hostel itself features 5 double rooms, 2x Private Dorm,3x Twin,2 x deluxe dorm, a very cool rooftop bbq & bar area, an infinity pool, Island Cafe, in-house massage service, Free High Speed Wi-Fi internet, travel desk, airport transfers and most importantly a super friendly vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing