We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Memorable stay!!”
Review of The Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Island Hotel
Ranked #9 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Probably the best hostel I have stayed in...in the world.

I was a solo traveller, stayed in a dorm, out and about all day so didn't make any friends or aquatances at the hostel. The breakfast was delish! I cans till taste it now. The spot was perfect, just a short walk to get into Kuta but far enough away from the hussle and bussle to escape. Beautiful rooms, beautiful pool. Really feels luxurious, and for a backpacker it was a treat! the dorms were huge and had lockers for safe storage. Bunk beds were ginormous as well! such comfort on such a budget price! For anyone saying it was expensive...it translated to about £12 a night.....that is waaaay cheaper than some of the horrible places I have stayed in around the globe!

Don't think...just book! you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coco_Coco_Nutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Hi,

Wow. What a great review.

We always want to maintain our hostel to the standards of when we first open. You deserve a good nights sleep in a comfy bed without having to pay a fortune to do so. :)

It's awesome to see you had such a great stay. You're welcome back anytime.

Safe Travels,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 317 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here in the 12-bed. Cut above the rest! Extremely comfortable and clean bedding, everything felt very safe and property is well cared for. Staff are truly excellent and go the extra mile which is hugely appreciated. Thank you for a great stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Hi,

Thanks for the kind words. I'll pass this onto the staff. They love making our guests happy, so it's nice to see the reward for their hard work.

We really appreciate the feedback.

Safe Travels,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights after having spent a few days in the Kuta Beach area. Was enticed to book the dorm room here after reading a lot of positive reviews here in TA. Have to agree that the place is nice, could pass up as a boutique hotel. Stayed in the 12-bed dorm room. Comfy bed, got the one in the far end by the door which allows me to connect to the wifi. (wifi's only available in the pool area and the cafe). Lockers are provided, would really help if there was a power outlet provided on each bed. I especially loved the breakfast served (super loved the toast!). Only downside for me is it's located at the far end of an alley (which can be a hassle when coming home late at night).

Room Tip: When staying in the 12-bed dorm room, choose the ones at the far end by the door, to get a decent Wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowduh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theislandhotel, Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Hi,

Thanks for the great review and feedback. Nice to hear your stay was comfortable. We always want to offer that luxurious dorm feel..... We definitely will be getting more power outlets in there. We did have a lot at one time but they seem to have legs! : ) Thx again.

Safe Travels
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Well I just loved this hostel.It was super expensive but after my other 2 very disappointing choices it was just fantastic.The price is the only down side,but as my Mom says why pay good money for something bad and this is what I got at the other 2 worst hostels on my RTW trip.This place has it all including a very nice breakfast,great pool,nice pizza in house and absolutely the best atmosphere for meeting people and having a ball.The staff were helpful and smiling all the time,the dorm rooms were huge,clean and the a/c good.Really recommended if you can afford the extra,but don’t be tricked by a cheap place that has false advertising with disgusting rooms and very bad management.Best place in Bali so far.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chilli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theislandhotel, Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

HI,

We really appreciate you spending time to write such a great review. You are welcome back anytime.

Travel Safe,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

An above average hostel that is very clean and has a nice outdoor socialising area. The place has nice comfy dorm beds, crisp clean sheets and air con rooms which will ensure you'll get a good kip after some hard partying. The dorm rooms do suffer from that age old problem of 2 electrical sockets to go around 12 beds, major drag! I didn't find this a fantastic place to link up with party goers, there is better places around for this. The staff are generally helpful but the service and friendliness can be hit an miss. This place is relatively expensive and you'd probably find cheaper elsewhere. Location wise you're never too far from the beach or pubs and warungs, so no worries there. For what it is it's quite reasonable, i'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaFooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theislandhotel, Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Hey there,

Thx for the nice words...... We appreciate it. :)

Travel Safe,
The Island team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Island Hotel does lots of things well. The 12 bed dorm is airy, spacious and always nicely air-conditioned. The beds are huge and come with a reading light and a large locker. The pool is pretty luxurious and the rooftop is a nice place to hang out. Towels are provided with a deposit. The free breakfast consists of juice (or tea/coffee), fruit salad and toast, with optional extras for a reasonable price. They also sell beer and ok (but cheap) pizzas.

Some things that are not so great include: patchy wifi that usually doesn't extend to the rooms (or the large dorm, at least), hidden down an alleyway which is quite dark at night (walk right to the end to find the hotel), variable hot water in a unisex bathroom, really high prices ($25 per night for a 12-bed dorm when you can rent some villas for that much is quite ludicrous) and no refunds once you've paid, even if you give a couple of days' notice. Expect lots of noise as people return from partying in the early hours of the morning.

Reception is officially open from 9am-10pm, although someone was waiting for me at 11:30pm when I arrived. (They don't always get in at 9am on the dot, so check out the night before if you need to leave quickly in the morning). Unfortunately some of the staff didn't seem trustworthy in terms of tour pricing. It's nice to be able to rely on your hotel to advise how much a taxi should cost or give a reasonable price for a tour, but I was quoted 550,000 for a boat trip to a nearby island that cost less than 300,000 when I did it myself.

The other guests do tend to be friendly and quite social, but as this is Bali you get a different type of tourist from most other places. The location is fine - once you get out of the alleyway there are shops on both sides, although I got completely lost going to the beach and walked for miles. (Be warned the beach is nasty in the wet season - totally covered in plastic and not very pleasant at all). The map provided is pretty vague so try to pick up a more helpful one from the airport/street.

Overall, I would maybe stay there again if renting a private room with a group of friends but the fact I wasn't refunded for nights not stayed, the high room rates and inability to completely trust that reception was quoting good prices might turn me off staying there in future.

Room Tip: The 12-bed dorm is airy, large and has all the mod cons, but is further from the wifi and more likel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryHopper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theislandhotel, Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Hi,

To answer a few of your points, our prices are very competitive and for a little extra you get a lot more value for your money. A great tasty breakfast, super clean sheets and other extras you will not find at our competitors. Our pricing has not gone up in 5 years. Currently its around US$21 (high season) and US$17 (low season) at current exchange rate.

We do have a no refund policy during your stay only for the reason we are nearly 100% always booked out so the room you have reserved can easily be rented. However, we can offer this as credit for guests who are staying a few weeks or more here in Bali and return a few nights before they leave. Also, if we are given 48hr+ cancellation warning, we are happy to refund to our guests. Our refund policy is stated on our website/ affiliated websites and also provided to all our guests upon check in.

All tours we book for our guests are quoted at the prices the chosen business has given us. The businesses we call are ones we have used over the years and recommend, but we are happy for you to go with whoever you choose. This travel desk is a free service we provide to help our guests. The hostel itself makes zero profit from this.

We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking on ways to improve.

Safe Travels,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed for 5 days at one of their 4pax dorms. Room is well lit and air conditioned. The beds are cozy. They organize many day trips around bali at reasonable price. Met loads of people. Very near to the beach and surf schools. Free complimentary breakfast. Had a memorable time staying at The Island.

Room Tip: The dorms are less expensive and also comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KalyanRatakonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theislandhotel, Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Hi,

Thanks so much for the kinds words. Was nice having you here.

Safe Travels,
The Island Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.9 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian
0.6 mi away
Bliss Surfer Hotel
Bliss Surfer Hotel
#17 of 88 in Legian
1,324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loft Legian Hotel
Loft Legian Hotel
#26 of 88 in Legian
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#36 of 88 in Legian
2,414 reviews
4.8 mi away
Canggu Beach Hostel
Canggu Beach Hostel
#11 of 307 in Canggu
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
M Hostel
M Hostel
#82 of 428 in Seminyak
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Hotel

Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Gang Abdi No. 18, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range: $16 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Island Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indonesia's #1 Hostel for Backpackers on Indonesia's #1 destination. Set in a quiet lane-way, just back from Legian Beach, The Island is the perfect base for your stay in Bali. Less than five minutes walk to the famous Double 6 Beach, The Island is surrounded by great restaurants, night-clubs and bars; and the shopping district is right on your doorstep. The hostel itself features 5 double rooms, 2x Private Dorm,3x Twin,2 x deluxe dorm, a very cool rooftop bbq & bar area, an infinity pool, Island Cafe, in-house massage service, Free High Speed Wi-Fi internet, travel desk, airport transfers and most importantly a super friendly vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing