We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place but fairly pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Island Hotel
Ranked #9 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“A nice place but fairly pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Island Hotel does lots of things well. The 12 bed dorm is airy, spacious and always nicely air-conditioned. The beds are huge and come with a reading light and a large locker. The pool is pretty luxurious and the rooftop is a nice place to hang out. Towels are provided with a deposit. The free breakfast consists of juice (or tea/coffee), fruit salad and toast, with optional extras for a reasonable price. They also sell beer and ok (but cheap) pizzas.

Some things that are not so great include: patchy wifi that usually doesn't extend to the rooms (or the large dorm, at least), hidden down an alleyway which is quite dark at night (walk right to the end to find the hotel), variable hot water in a unisex bathroom, really high prices ($25 per night for a 12-bed dorm when you can rent some villas for that much is quite ludicrous) and no refunds once you've paid, even if you give a couple of days' notice. Expect lots of noise as people return from partying in the early hours of the morning.

Reception is officially open from 9am-10pm, although someone was waiting for me at 11:30pm when I arrived. (They don't always get in at 9am on the dot, so check out the night before if you need to leave quickly in the morning). Unfortunately some of the staff didn't seem trustworthy in terms of tour pricing. It's nice to be able to rely on your hotel to advise how much a taxi should cost or give a reasonable price for a tour, but I was quoted 550,000 for a boat trip to a nearby island that cost less than 300,000 when I did it myself.

The other guests do tend to be friendly and quite social, but as this is Bali you get a different type of tourist from most other places. The location is fine - once you get out of the alleyway there are shops on both sides, although I got completely lost going to the beach and walked for miles. (Be warned the beach is nasty in the wet season - totally covered in plastic and not very pleasant at all). The map provided is pretty vague so try to pick up a more helpful one from the airport/street.

Overall, I would maybe stay there again if renting a private room with a group of friends but the fact I wasn't refunded for nights not stayed, the high room rates and inability to completely trust that reception was quoting good prices might turn me off staying there in future.

Room Tip: The 12-bed dorm is airy, large and has all the mod cons, but is further from the wifi and more likel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryHopper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theislandhotel, Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi,

To answer a few of your points, our prices are very competitive and for a little extra you get a lot more value for your money. A great tasty breakfast, super clean sheets and other extras you will not find at our competitors. Our pricing has not gone up in 5 years. Currently its around US$21 (high season) and US$17 (low season) at current exchange rate.

We do have a no refund policy during your stay only for the reason we are nearly 100% always booked out so the room you have reserved can easily be rented. However, we can offer this as credit for guests who are staying a few weeks or more here in Bali and return a few nights before they leave. Also, if we are given 48hr+ cancellation warning, we are happy to refund to our guests. Our refund policy is stated on our website/ affiliated websites and also provided to all our guests upon check in.

All tours we book for our guests are quoted at the prices the chosen business has given us. The businesses we call are ones we have used over the years and recommend, but we are happy for you to go with whoever you choose. This travel desk is a free service we provide to help our guests. The hostel itself makes zero profit from this.

We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking on ways to improve.

Safe Travels,
The Island Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    83
    25
    12
    9
See reviews for
3
43
109
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed for 5 days at one of their 4pax dorms. Room is well lit and air conditioned. The beds are cozy. They organize many day trips around bali at reasonable price. Met loads of people. Very near to the beach and surf schools. Free complimentary breakfast. Had a memorable time staying at The Island.

Room Tip: The dorms are less expensive and also comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KalyanRatakonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theislandhotel, Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi,

Thanks so much for the kinds words. Was nice having you here.

Safe Travels,
The Island Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Kuta is one annoying area full of markets, shops, mopeds, fumes, and the beach is rather grubby, however, the Island Hotel is a lovely little retreat from the hustle and bustle of Kuta. It has a lovely swimming pool, nice views from the top and rooms are of good quality with comfy beds. The complimentary breakfast is basic but good. After travelling in Australia and living in grotty hostel dorms for a year this was certainly a step up. Ensuite bathrooms too! :-)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank andywells1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theislandhotel, Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi,

Yes we too travelled to some of those dorms you mentioned, that's why we set out to give our guests a great experience. It's nice to see when a true travellers passes though here and really sees the difference.

Thanks for staying with us.

Travel safe,
The Island Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed at The Island Hotel dorm over a long weekend. Firstly, the staff are really friendly, especially at the reception. It's a great place to meet people from all over. Very comfortable bed, great AC. Dorm is spacious and cozy at the same time. Depending on the people staying there, it could be a party dorm. I did get woken up at 3 in the morning from the party-going folks. On the other hand, it is so chilled-out in the morning since nobody is awake. Pool is relatively small.

Housekeeping could be slightly better, especially in the bathrooms & toilets (they look clean but have funky smell at certain times). Location is hidden in an alley but easily accessible.

The Island serves great pizza.

If you're looking to meet new people from all over the globe and party all night all week, The Island is the place. If you just wanna get a good night's sleep, get the room not the dorm. I didn't like my first night staying there but after getting to know people in the dorm, I ended up liking the place.

Some things could be better. But hey, it could be worse in other hostel.

Overall, I had a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uttama P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theislandhotel, General Manager at The Island Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the feedback and great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Safe Travels,
The Island Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Island is probably best described as a cross between a hotel and a hostel - good beds, good toilets and showers. Towels were provided, there was a swimming pool and a good roof hangout area. The receptionist Agun was extremely helpful and friendly - he helped us call and book our room at Gili Hostel when we couldn't do it online! Their cafe serves GOOD pizza. Beach is about a 15 minute walk, Kuta, a 5 minute drive. There are a tonne of shops, bars, money changers and food cafes all within a 5 minutes walk. Great for people who are looking for a slightly more chilled hostel, away from Kuta's raving scene.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room for two, but the air conditioning was not working and it was very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JYLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Island is well located in bali, and has nice rooms. I stayed in the shared room and I liked very much their idea of using courtins between beds since it gives you some Privacy. They have also a nice pool and common area.
Wi-Fi was not good, specially in the room, but worked.
I believe the price for a shared room could be a little lower, but that's what you pay the extra comfort this hotel gives you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very comfortable beds, good working A/C, nice pool. Staff is not friendly. It's a party hostel so it is hard to have a good night sleep. They let people get in the pool whenever they want in the middle of the night, being drunk and loud. Terrible. It's not only a hostel, it's also a hotel. A hotel that happens to have a dorm so there should be a no party after 10 policy. Bathroom facilities are beginning to deteriorate. Food is good and fair price. Not a good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamagotchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#17 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.9 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#35 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#3 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rama Garden Hotel Bali
Rama Garden Hotel Bali
#7 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#16 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Hotel

Property: The Island Hotel
Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Gang Abdi No. 18, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Island Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indonesia's #1 Hostel for Backpackers on Indonesia's #1 destination. Set in a quiet lane-way, just back from Legian Beach, The Island is the perfect base for your stay in Bali. Less than five minutes walk to the famous Double 6 Beach, The Island is surrounded by great restaurants, night-clubs and bars; and the shopping district is right on your doorstep. The hostel itself features 5 double rooms, 2x Private Dorm,3x Twin,2 x deluxe dorm, a very cool rooftop bbq & bar area, an infinity pool, Island Cafe, in-house massage service, Free High Speed Wi-Fi internet, travel desk, airport transfers and most importantly a super friendly vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing