We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities, good for exploring Bali”
Review of The Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Island Hotel
Ranked #11 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great facilities, good for exploring Bali”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed with friends for 4 nights, the facilities in the dorms were great. Really good way to meet other people while there. Facilities are good, especially for only the $19Aud we paid per night. The perfect place to stay if you plan on getting out and doing things rather than staying at your accomodation the whole time you're there. Very nice staff too.

Room Tip: Go for dorms if you don't mind people coming and going late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    84
    25
    13
    10
See reviews for
4
43
114
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at The Island Hotel for 2 nights, 20th-2nd March.

Having spoken to other backpackers, I'm under the impression that my friends and I simply made a mistake in booking private rooms rather than the dorm. The private room had very poor a/c and wasn't particularly comfortable.

On the plus side, there was a great communal area.

Room Tip: Stay in the dorms, not private rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Accommodating staff, great food at the hostel Cafe, comfortable beds and overall a great value! This hotel is just a 10-minute walk to Legian Beach.

Great for couples and groups of friends wanting to spend time exploring Bali (and save on the hotel rates). :)

For photos of our room and the meals they serve, please see this link:
http://www.charmtan.com/2013/03/the-island-hotel-bali.html

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charmtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

In 5 months of travelling around Southeast Asia I've never stayed in a hostel as nice as this one. Gorgeous pool, chilled atmosphere and really nice spacious dorms- you can see why it's won awards. The location's great, just off a nice quiet alley. Love it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hostel so much! Best hostel I've stayed in! Rooms were immaculate and I felt like I was in a hotel! So clean, pool got cleaned for a day but everyone goes in there after nights out so it was reassuring! Made some awesome friends there and have great memories! Staff can seem not so friendly but think it was a language barrier! Breakfast was so good, felt like I was in a nice hotel! Can be hard to find so know address before you go there but it's 5 mins from main shops and 5-10mins from beach so great location and nicer than inside kuta! Definitely would recommend to all travellers!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Invucozuraqtpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We loved our stay at The Island Hotel, we stayed in both dorm rooms. Everything is clean, comfortable and the staff is very friendly.
The breakfast, pizza and sandwiches served at the small restaurant are delicious! The Island Hotel is located just a few minutes from the beach, Kuta and Seminyak.
The only remark is that the WiFi didn't always worked.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hualien, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I had a really good days in this hotel meet lot of nice people made nice holiday. Bad is so comfortable people very helpful, I like small pool, it's close with to shops and legion beach so good place. Very clean small cafe food is testy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travler_Taiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#17 of 87 in Legian
1,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 87 in Legian
2,309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loft Legian Hotel
Loft Legian Hotel
#24 of 87 in Legian
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian
0.1 mi away
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
#14 of 87 in Legian
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Hotel

Property: The Island Hotel
Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Gang Abdi No. 18, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Island Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indonesia's #1 Hostel for Backpackers on Indonesia's #1 destination. Set in a quiet lane-way, just back from Legian Beach, The Island is the perfect base for your stay in Bali. Less than five minutes walk to the famous Double 6 Beach, The Island is surrounded by great restaurants, night-clubs and bars; and the shopping district is right on your doorstep. The hostel itself features 5 double rooms, 2x Private Dorm,3x Twin,2 x deluxe dorm, a very cool rooftop bbq & bar area, an infinity pool, Island Cafe, in-house massage service, Free High Speed Wi-Fi internet, travel desk, airport transfers and most importantly a super friendly vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing