We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Hotel an Oasis in Paradise!”
Review of The Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Island Hotel
Ranked #11 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Island Hotel an Oasis in Paradise!”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The Island Hotel in Legian Bali is truly a sparkling oasis in Bali and a peaceful haven from the frenetic atmosphere and nightlife of Kuta. The staff are extremely gracious and friendly and the whole property is clean and the pool inviting. There are all white dorms, sheets, towels and bathrooms where the backpackers generally stay, but the rooms are quiet and ample for 2 people with comfortable beds, lots of storage, TV, free WiFi, cafe serving pizza from a brick fired oven! wonderful French bread for sandwiches and full breakfasts for $3.50US cooked to perfection. Do have a fresh papaya and lime cooler and fresh fruit salad and even espresso! Rooms are refreshed daily. For two seniors the Island Hotel supplied our every need. Day trips to different parts of Bali can be organized by the efficient staff and the young Australian owner is always on site for some friendly banter. Our stay was for one week - and the cost would equal one nights stay in an upmarket resort!! Great value for money.!!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a full size bed - there are bunks so if you are seniors you would not be climbing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noosalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    84
    25
    13
    10
See reviews for
4
43
114
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2012

stayed here for a couple of nights. The layout and decor are nice, but the Indian looking guy who served breakfast seemedto think that being polite and courteous was beneath him. Instead he was rude and arrogant and I will never stay there again for this reason

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trailbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Island this weekend. It is a clean hotel, within easy access to the airport and handy for exploring the Kuta/ Legian area of Bali. The food and pool are good and the free massage when you spend 3 nights or more is an added bonus.

On Sunday we checked out at midday, but had had a flight. The staff kindly let us continue to use their facilities and generally hang around for the day. Unfortunately I then fell unwell and collapsed while in their bathroom. The staff could not have done more to help us at this stressful time, arranging doctors, giving me a new, clean room to recover in, cleaning up after me and even calming my friend down.

The level of care the staff provide their customers is far beyond what can be found in most of the fancy hotels in Bali and I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone visiting Bali.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claireberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

The Island was a great find, I was travelling alone so I stayed in the dorm to meet people and found it to be very clean and private. The lockers were very handy for small items and there is loads of storage for big backpacks and suitcases. I felt very safe in this hotel, the staff were all very friendly and helpful with regards to finding out about the local area. I would recommend the dorms to anyone travelling alone or even with friends as its such great value, clean bathrooms (with toiletries) only five steps away and the plunge pool at the doorstep is a bonus. The whole set up of the Island is very user friendly and its very quiet as its off the main road. They also make great pizzas, offer airport pick up and have in house massage!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stay in the dorm rooms if you are travelling alone or even with friends- they are great value for money in the Legian / Kuta area of Bali. There is a free airport pickup and free massage included if you stay 3 nights or more. The massage was fantastic!

Since I was travelling alone, I was initially concerned about safety- the hotel is located down an alley which can get quite dark at night, but I found it to be quite safe to walk around even at 9/10 at night.

Breakfast was included but I did not get a chance to try this since I left early each morning to go out and about.

Food options are cheap and abundant- Warung Yogya around the corner is fantastic! Good and cheap massage at the Grand Sinar Indah spa. Will stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hungry_Foolish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The staff, the atmosphere, everything about The Island was amazing! We had a fantastic time at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone and everyone!

Room Tip: Go the Deluxe room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bechudson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Clean and together, off the beaten path of all the craziness. I stayed in the dorms- they are spacious with crisp sheets, a large storage locker and a cool lounge to chill out in and order up a pizza or watch a movie (on scheduled nights). Plus, the infinite pool ain't so bad either! Walking distance to everything, and the beach a 10 minute walk! Enjoy- a great place, and not too pricey (for Seminyak).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#17 of 87 in Legian
1,190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#14 of 87 in Legian
2,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loft Legian Hotel
Loft Legian Hotel
#25 of 87 in Legian
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian
0.9 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#36 of 87 in Legian
2,324 reviews
0.1 mi away
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
#15 of 87 in Legian
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Hotel

Property: The Island Hotel
Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Gang Abdi No. 18, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Island Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indonesia's #1 Hostel for Backpackers on Indonesia's #1 destination. Set in a quiet lane-way, just back from Legian Beach, The Island is the perfect base for your stay in Bali. Less than five minutes walk to the famous Double 6 Beach, The Island is surrounded by great restaurants, night-clubs and bars; and the shopping district is right on your doorstep. The hostel itself features 5 double rooms, 2x Private Dorm,3x Twin,2 x deluxe dorm, a very cool rooftop bbq & bar area, an infinity pool, Island Cafe, in-house massage service, Free High Speed Wi-Fi internet, travel desk, airport transfers and most importantly a super friendly vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing