We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High class hostel, lovely location”
Review of The Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Island Hotel
Ranked #10 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Being my first hostel experience, I really enjoyed the dorm rooms at The Island. Yes, it is not the cheapest place around (in Bali it is better to stay in traditional 'homestays' for value for money) however there are many good things about it. The beds and bedding are really luxurious, puffy quilts and comfy matresses (just a shame they are covered in plastic as it's noisy when you move!). The dorms are spacious and light and privacy can be achieved as there are curtains partitioning the bunks. Other good things were:
The social aspect - we met lots of new friends
The space / architecture - lots of different and quirky areas to chill out, such as the sunset bale
The pizzas are yummy
The staff are really lovely, warm and helpful
Airport pickups and free massage if you book 3 days - worthwhile!

Things that, for me, could be improved on:
The price - a little on the high side for Bali standards
The bathrooms - dark (no windows) and actually really quite smelly, felt a bit unclean even though they are cleaned each day, they never actually felt clean
The breakfasts - as mentioned by other reviewers, the breakfasts are meagre e.g. you have to decide BETWEEN fresh fruit or juice you can't have both! And they charge extra for all sorts of little things like a spoonful of yoghurt on your fruit, ouch.

The location in Legian is stunning, I loved wandering down the little stone alleyways. The beach is not far, 10 mins walking. Taxis struggle to find it, though.

All in all a pleaseant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 310 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

Good location, 5 min walk to legian main street
Down small alley (not well known by taxi drivers)
Nice place
Friendly staff
Good food, but a bit slow
We had a private room
Nice room and bathroom included
Small place and pool
Simple breakfast included

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieR12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed at several different places throughout my 3 weeks in Bali, and every few days I always came back to the Island, it started to feel like home! The staff is so lovely, one of the cleanest hostels I've stayed at. It has a really ideal environment for solo travelers looking to meet others, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephkeelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Cool place, nicely decorated,clean and friendly staff. However quite expensive for what you get especially considering the breakfast is really poor compared to other places in bali: coffee or thee, 8 pieces of fruit or juice, 3slices of old bread per person and 1 spoon of honey and jam for two people...shame it was so little and measured

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manolito16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

After a rather stressful experience at customs where I was forced to destroy a bottle of whisky and cut hundreds of cigarettes in half, I left the airport to find my transfer here to collect all carefree smiles and my experience of Bali was starting to improve dramatically. During my ten day stay at the Island, I was very happy with the service, rooms were kept clean and belongings that got left around the pool were safely looked after. The food was very nice, i would have liked to sample more of the menu, my only complaint is that food wasnt served all the time as I frequently missed breakfast but lunch wasnt served til a bit after but then that was prob for the best as it meant I got to experience dining elsewhere. The staff were so friendly and happy go-lucky that on the day I left, they all came to see me off and there was a mood of sadness of separation but hope for the future, in fact whilst having my last drink, the bartender and I mused wistfully whether we should ever see each other again. I hope so as I would very much like to go back there one day when I have seen a bit more of the rest of the world.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
Thank Barky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

You may think, ughhh a hostel in bali...but this is no ordinary hostel, its practically a hotel! I stayed in the dorm room as I was a solo traveller and it was extremley spacious, safe and clean. I made some great friends through the hostel also, we all went for meals together, tours, drinks and eventually on to the Gillis together. The private rooms were amazing, especially the shower. I was a bit sceptical of the hostel as it was down a lane but it is truely a little patch of paradise and luxury!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashcoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

The Island's rooms are comfortable, with pleasant beds, clean bathrooms and nice showers. The garden and pool allow visitors to relax and mingle. The restaurant is nothing special, but it's pleasant and good for a beer. All told, a nice base for exploring the surroundings. The only downside is that the hotel is at the end of a long, narrow alley, and taxis may have a hard time getting there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerryDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.5 mi away
Loft Legian Hotel
Loft Legian Hotel
#24 of 87 in Legian
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
#21 of 87 in Legian
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#13 of 87 in Legian
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#35 of 87 in Legian
2,373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#16 of 87 in Legian
1,244 reviews
1.6 mi away
H-ostel
H-ostel
#4 of 207 in Kuta
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Hotel

Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Gang Abdi No. 18, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range: $17 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Island Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indonesia's #1 Hostel for Backpackers on Indonesia's #1 destination. Set in a quiet lane-way, just back from Legian Beach, The Island is the perfect base for your stay in Bali. Less than five minutes walk to the famous Double 6 Beach, The Island is surrounded by great restaurants, night-clubs and bars; and the shopping district is right on your doorstep. The hostel itself features 5 double rooms, 2x Private Dorm,3x Twin,2 x deluxe dorm, a very cool rooftop bbq & bar area, an infinity pool, Island Cafe, in-house massage service, Free High Speed Wi-Fi internet, travel desk, airport transfers and most importantly a super friendly vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing