We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel service and location was great. Rooms were clean...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Camakila Legian Bali
Ranked #23 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    457
    165
    45
    28
See reviews for
265
473
41
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Ramada is situated in an excellent spot. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle, but a small cab fare to either Kuta or even the airport. It is positioned in a quiet area with beachfront access with minimal traffic on the beachfront road(scooters only). There is a warm feeling in this resort, the staff are very friendly, and professional too. The room is adequate and spacious also. However the bathroom is just a bit outdated, could do with a reno. The pool area and restaurant is excellent, our breakfast each morning was divine. Not a very busy beach at the front of Ramada, as there is no motor car access. We found this to be better. Overall we had a 5 night stay here and found it to be excellent.

Room Tip: A bottom floor room is good, if you like access to the pool. Open the bedroom door a small balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keno7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaCamakila, General Manager at The Camakila Legian Bali, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Keno7

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Ramada Camakila, we really appreciate all of your great comments and I am very happy that you had an excellent stay with us.

Yours sincerely
Greg Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joondalup
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I recently spent four nights at this hotel, out of a ten day Bali trip. We also stayed 2 nights at Ayana and Four nights at Samara Villas Ubud. (also reviewed)

On arrival we were warmly greeted and provided with a refreshing drink. Much needed after what should have been a 25 minute drive turned into a 90 minute plus crawl through ridiculous traffic. Sorry to say that this has become the standard and is a real blight on a Bali trip. The traffic across, Kuta, Legian, Seminyak and even to Jimbaran area is terrible. On one of our journeys we actually paid off the driver of one of our taxis and abandoned him in a grid lock. But that is another story.
the Ramada Camakila? Clean and spacious room, well appointed with a huge comfortable bed and good sized bathroom. I will say though that it is a bit worn and tired with some of the fittings in the bathroom and doors etc. Minor, but still noticeable.
Breakfast was fine, usual buffet fare, not fantastic but it did the job.

My main gripe? Noise. We were in room 1316, third floor, three quarters to the beach end of the complex. I think I heard every door that opened and slammed shut, the trip trapping of high heels, and the yelling and thumping of kids/teenagers playing chasey from early morning and into the late evening. Not to mention bogans hollering to each other. If you are anything other than a heavy sleeper, take ear plugs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaCamakila, General Manager at The Camakila Legian Bali, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Mike G
Thank you very much for your review of Ramada Camakila.

I appreciate your great feedback on our rooms and property.

I am sorry for the other noisy guests that bothered you during your stay, normally our resort is very quiet. We do try and control noise (particularly late at night) as much as we can.
As you have mentioned with the traffic you were here in a very busy week which had both Indonesian and Australian school holidays, this is unusual that they coincide.

Once again thank you for your review

Yours sincerely
Greg Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip Island, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed for three nights.
Positives: Really Lovely staff, good breakfast (but you get that at any reasonable resort in bali)
Negatives: The resort has a mosquito problem, they are well aware of this so really can't offer you much when you complain of not being able to sleep because you have a million mosquito's in your room. They have to come around every night with a spray can and spray your room. There were also mites of some sort that gave us tiny bites all over our bodies.
The pool was always cloudy, not very clean.
There was an electrical problem in our room, the power kept going off when we were trying to watch a movie, the electrician came and told us there was a short circuit some where and wasn't really sure when it would happen again.
We couldn't open our wardrobe without using a towel because it would give us a good sharp static zap.


From Ramada we moved on to a $50 a night resort and it was much MUCH nicer.

Room Tip: Don't book a room any where near the pool, people drinking swim late at night and are loud and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simpletraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaCamakila, General Manager at The Camakila Legian Bali, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Simpletraveller24

Thank you very much for your review of Ramada Camakila.
Thank you also very much for your great comments on our staff and our breakfast.
We have noted your comments above on your experiences during your stay. During June and early July we did experience an increase in Mosquito’s to Bali, mainly due to the unseasonal rain and windy conditions we experienced. We increased our fogging in the gardens during this period and also asked our housekeeping staff to spray each of the rooms each day with insecticide to help control the mosquito’s. Thankfully weather in Bali is back to normal and we have seeing very few mosquito’s now.

I am very sorry that this and the other matters that you have mentioned affected your stay. I have brought up these up with my team in an effort to try and insure that they don’t happen again.

Best regards
Greg Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We hired 3 rooms at end June. None of the aircons worked. We changed 2 rooms, same problems. All rooms smelt of sewerage. We were advised the water system supplying the aircons was dirty, hence the smell and lack of performance. The maintenance crews came after 11pm to pump the dirty water from the aircon into our baths to attempt to fix the problem. Baths were not cleaned until the next day. The hotel driver - Mr B - quoted us rates to Ubud which he doubled on arrival claiming we mis-understood him. I doubt this! We had no access to the sunset lounge on 2 of our 3 nights due to functions / wedding. Wedding guests kept us awake all night with drunken quarrels. Complaints from us could not resolve the problem. Rooms generally were a bit tired. Mosquitoes were a problem and no facility is supplied to repel them. Breakfast was acceptable, but you have to pay for a cup of drinkable coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaCamakila, General Manager at The Camakila Legian Bali, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear PeterB

Thank you for feedback of your stay in June of Ramada Camakila.
I am very sorry for the problems you experienced in connection with you air conditioning. I am pleased to let you know that we have now upgraded the hotel Air Conditioning system and although we have had some teething problems it seems to have made a very good improvement, with no further major problems since your stay. We have also spent some time with our maintenance team training on how a room should be left after performing some maintenance work.

I am also sorry of your experiences with Mr. B. Mr. B does not work for the hotel as you mentioned, but him and his company are outside contractors who we recommend, I have never had a problem in the past with him or his team, so I am sorry that you had a misunderstanding with him.

Once again I am sorry for the poor experiences that you experienced at our property. I have addressed each of the issues you have raised with all hotel departments and we are working hard to ensure they do not re-occur.

Best regards
Greg Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.5 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 87 in Legian
2,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 87 in Legian
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#27 of 87 in Legian
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Camakila Legian Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Camakila Legian Bali

Property: The Camakila Legian Bali
Address: Jl. Pura Bagus Teruna, Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Radisson Bali Legian Camakila)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Legian
#10 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#13 Family Hotel in Legian
#13 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#18 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Camakila Legian Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camakila Legian Bali offers direct access to Legian beach in South Bali, which is renowned for its central location and relaxed beach culture that makes it less commercialized than other parts of the island. Only 20 minutes away from Ngurah Rai International airport, the resort is the leading destination for leisure travelers with 116 modern and contemporary rooms, two restaurants, a spa and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Camakila Legian Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Camakila Bali Hotel Legian
The Camakila Legian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing