We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL, FANTASTIC LOCATION”
Review of Puri Raja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri Raja
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2009

Having recently stayed at the Puri Raja with an extended family of children and grandchildren, I couldn't rate this little hotel any higher.
From the moment we got there the staff were welcoming and friendly.
The rooms are neat and clean with lovely bathrooms.
The location just couldn't be better, just a short walk either front or back to a huge range of restaurants, which was perfect for us with two small children to cater for. Being a small hotel the pools were never crowded and there was always a choice of deckchairs.
The staff made us feel at home.
I think that this is a little gem of a hotel, well worth discovering.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChewyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 625 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2009

I stayed at the Puri Raja in April, I found it a very nice hotel. Most of the staff were wonderful except one female as noted by another review. Her attitude towards me was dreadful on arrival, in fact I spoke to the Manager about her. The other reception staff tried to make it up to me for the way she treated me.

The pool area at the front was lovely, the bar pool great, except the people whom left towels on the seats most of the day.

The room was very clean and I found my balcony very private and at the end of the day a blessing. The restuarant was lovely for both breakfast and dinner, the staff there great.

It is very central to most things and accessible to transport, I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Stayed at the Puri Raja for 10 nights it is a great hotel in a perfect location at a bargain price.

Pros

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION

Walk out either the front OR back of the hotel and you are less than 5 minutes walk away from fantastic CHEAP restaurants, bars, market style shopping & deli style supermarkets

Right on the beach

Sitting having your breakfast each morning watching the waves roll in is a real treat

Close enough to walk into Kuta (approx 20mins) but still far enough away

This is a small hotel of only 72 rooms which means the pools are never crowded and there are always plenty of deck chairs

The gardens are well maintained & very pretty

There were mainly Aussies at the hotel - mostly couples traveling with teenagers People would make the effort to say hello or stop for a quick chat - it really made the holiday. Heading back to the hotel in the afternoon we would joke that we were heading back home

Cons

The rooms are a little small (clean but simple).Luckily we are the type of traveler that does not spend much time in our room so it was not an issue for us.

The sheets are not as white as they used to be but for AUD$69 per room per night including breakfast what do you expect

I can assure you the pros outweigh the cons & I would have no hesitation recommending the property

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raven567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Our experience was pleasant and relaxed as soon as we walked into the Puri Raja. The service was very attentive and the staff super friendly and always greeted you with a friendly hello every time they saw you. Our room was upstairs room 223 which we liked as the balcony was private. The cleanliness was of a high standard and we had no complaints, although the bathroom was a little basic. In saying that we only stayed in a superior room and am sure the delux room would be a little more upmarket.
Excellent location, very central to everything and the beach out the front a little quieter than further up Seminyak. The pool area was excellent but spoilt by some people reserving lounge chairs for hours with towels which made it difficult for others to find a spot to lay. The best thing we liked was the peacefullnes and the size of the hotel (not too big) the worst was no satalite tv if you can call that a "worst". Would have been nice to have it at the end of a long hot day.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonnoCFQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

This is the 5th time we have stayed at the Puri Raja & we will stay again next year. Most of the staff are very warm & friendly except one of the front counter people who needs a personality transplant, Management should take notice of her attitude,as she will drive people away by her greetings & departures.
The hotel is a great location with beach out front with surf, good restaurants within walking distance, good massage on site at a reasonable price,close to shops. I don't think this hotel is that suitable for families with small children.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

This hotel is in a great spot close to everything, clean and a really good price. Would highly recommend this to anyone. Didn't really enjoy the breakfast but all the other meals we had at the hotel restaurant were great and the pool bar and area(s) were great.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANS04sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2009

we have just spent a wk staying here & it is very clean, pools are very clean. Staff are great. If you need anything, or anything breaks the staff are on to it immediately as in mins. Fresh water every day. Great location, on the beach. Restaurant is great on the corner.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.5 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#14 of 87 in Legian
2,421 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
0.1 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#7 of 87 in Legian
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rama Garden Hotel Bali
Rama Garden Hotel Bali
#9 of 87 in Legian
670 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lokha Legian
The Lokha Legian
#36 of 87 in Legian
492 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Raja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Raja

Address: Jl Padma Utara | Legian Beach, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range: $65 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puri Raja 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Puri Raja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Raja Legian
Puri Raja Hotel Legian
Puri Raja Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing