We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings but great location”
Review of Puri Raja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Raja
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings but great location”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My friend and I had been staying in Ubud. We had booked a twin room at the Puri Raja. Staff greeted us warmly and we were shown to our room. It was a lot smaller than expected but did the job. We were very quickly shown the main features of the room. We had little money left before coming to Legian so gave a small tip..the best we could. It was very off putting to have the staff member comment by saying "something little". Very bloody rude actually as we had not had time to change money. Our room was in a great part of the hotel: on the end, upstairs, half way down. It was much quieter than the yobbos that were closer to the reception pool. They always seemed to be noisy, door open with loud music blaring. Bloody selfish prats if you ask me! There was construction going on opposite us but we were not often in the room during work hours to be affected by noise. The restaurant had nice enough breakfasts. The drinks seemed a bit 'light on' so I preferred to drink beer. Amazing view of the beach from the restaurant and quite a central location. The pool near the restaurant was lovely. I have mixed feelings about the hotel for the price (had better in Nusa Dua) but the restaurant and view of the ocean was amazing. No wifi in rooms. Had to go to reception. Might consider going back but will look at other options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Upupnaway2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    287
    81
    19
    13
See reviews for
169
238
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We recently returned from Bali and had 5 nights at Puri Raja. While it was OK not sure that I would return to this hotel as I think there are better around for the money. Breakfast was OK, however it was not a buffet which was a surprise. You simply had to order what you wanted which wasn't an issue for us and the food was freshly cooked and there was a good range of choices. There were two pools, one near the front of the hotel which seemed to be the quieter one of the two but we got bitten by mossies on the first day which wasn't encouraging. The main pool was on the beachfront however this one was very noisy with music blaring from the pool bar speakers all the time. Overall not sure which was louder the kids around and in the pool or the music, whichever, it was not very relaxing. Staff were friendly although forgot to mention to us that you could use a flat side path to enter and exit the property instead of going up and down the steep steps through the foyer. Someone else staying in the hotel told us this little gem of information. A couple of mossies thought our room was a good place to hang out but after we brought some mossie spray, we just sprayed our room every time we left the room, which seemed to do the trick. We were on the ground floor so easy access and the rooms were a reasonable size but bathroom was a bit older and could do with an upgrade. Beds were the old fashion style, remember how they push two singles together to get a queen, sorry to say, beds were hard and just not comfortable. On the upside it is in a great location along the beach road with plenty of restaurants and shopping on the doorstop not to mention a surf beach at the back door. It is important to remember that everyone will have a different expectation and experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAFSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The staff are fantastic.
we arrived very early in the morning around 6am not due to check in till after lunch but they made a room up for us straight away

pool I clean
close to everything
massages 100m away for 60,000rupie
Just a good all round place to stay
the beds are firm

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillfindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

great location, amazingly friendly staff, food is great too. Only negative was that the room was smaller than expected. If I was ever coming back to Legian again I would definitely consider staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelliottjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuriootpa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our second stay at Puri Raja was just as good as our first. The always smiling waiters ready to make your stay even the more special. The gardens always kept very well manicured with the pool attendants keeping the 2 pools in great condition. We had an upstairs (only 2 levels) room this time and found this even more special with our private balcony overlooking the gardens that we enjoyed having our pre-dinner drink every evening.
Our accommodation included breakfast which was had on the beach front deck - a great way to start each day looking at the waves.
Rooms were tended to daily with fresh towels and they would put the air conditioner on for us for when we returned to our room - great feeling after a full day of sight-seeing.
Puri Raja is a handy 20min walk to either Kuta or Seminyak and a 5min walk to the Legian Markets and a Circle K (Mini Mart) 3min around the corner.
We had 3 massages and manicures and pedicures that were not going to pop the wallet strings. These girls are great and are even recommended by other nearby hotel guests!
Special thank you to our pool bar buddies (Ketut, IB and Agung - not to forget the 'boss lady' too!) they really know how to make wicked Mojitos (my special...vodka, lime, mint, soda and no sugar!)
Puri Raja - well done...another great holiday to remember. Thank you!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have just stayed at the Puri Raja for a 6 night stay and had a fantasic time. Stayed in a deluxe cottage right by the pool. Could not have had a better room. Very Roomy and clean and the outdoor shower was fantastic. Staff were very friendly and could not be more helpful. Excellent location and close to some very good shopping. Will return again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khadeja Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Second time back in less than 12 months and would not stay anywhere else in that part of Bali. The staff are on the ball especially around the pool bar. Our rooms were spotless. Harder to get a booking because it is so good and getting better and better known.

Room Tip: Need to book well in advance as the hotel gets well known.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.5 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#14 of 87 in Legian
2,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
0.1 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 87 in Legian
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Hotel Kumala Pantai
#27 of 254 in Kuta
797 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Raja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Raja

Property: Puri Raja
Address: Jl Padma Utara | Legian Beach, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puri Raja 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Raja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Raja Legian
Puri Raja Hotel Legian
Puri Raja Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing