We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday”
Review of Puri Raja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Puri Raja
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Have just returned from a month In Bali what a wonferful time stayed 22 nights at the Puri having stayed there before Went back for more we stayed in one of the deluxe rooms which I booked 18 months ago and I am pleased I did great room very large the outside shower fab never used the inside shower at all. The staff are still just as friendly Breakfast good cooked fresh when you order nothing seemed a problem the pool still very clean. Bathroom towels could be updated getting a bit grey but otherwise everything still wonderful staff location and beach out the front.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    284
    81
    18
    13
See reviews for
167
235
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed at the Puri Raja for 12 days in June 2012.I had booked in Nov 2011 for our holiday. When we booked I requested for a ground floor, instead we had to stay up stairs the first night,no ground floors were available. It also happened the previous year when we arrived. The Puri Raja has a great location for breakfast in front of the beach really relaxing. It needs some TLC getting a bit old.I wish the curtains were darker to have a sleep in. Maybe a DVD in everyones room. There was sewerage smell some days. I had a shower in the morning one day just went to put my face in the water and the water was black I nearly had a heart attack called my husband to show him it didnt smell just black water yuk. I wasnt comfortable after that experience when I had my shower, it never happened again. I love the oatmeal for breakfast. The Indo National Resturant is great also I can recommend the Ultimo Resturant in Seminyak. was beautiful for dinner ask to sit out the back really nice we ate there heaps.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PossumPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarita Beach Australia
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed at the Puri Raja early June with 11 other ladies & really enjoyed the beachfront location. Plenty of great restaurants within walking distance on the beachfront path - Mozzarella by the Sea, Hitana (fantastic), Zanzibar, Seaside...
Head out the back of the hotel into Jl Padma Utara & there is everything you need - shopping at markets shops, laundry, small supermarket, day spas, money changers, phone credit, dvd shops, coffee shops, cafes and more restaurants.
The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. We requested a ground floor room but were given a first floor room on arrival. No problem to move a few days later when a ground floor room became available.
Have to agree with others in saying that the pool near the restaurant can sometimes get very busy & a bit noisy - best to get there early morning, then head to the other pool near reception later on.
Love the '2 hour pool towel on sun lounge' policy - this avoids sun lounge hogs!
Really enjoyed our stay here, can't think of any negatives other than a lumpy pillow - easily fixed by housekeeping.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room near reception - from memory our ground floor room number was 126
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CantikSekali0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just returned for two great weeks in Bali, staying at the Puri Raja Hotel with my husband and six year old daughter. What a little treasure this resort is. Puri Raja pool areas were immaculately clean and lush with lots of shurbs and tropical trees. It was nice being around the pool and being able to see through to the beach if laying on the southern side. Room service was excellent, we'd go to Breakfast overlooking the beach and come back to a clean room, fresh sheets and WHITE (not gray) towels and fresh little flowers on our bed. The staff were helpful and always accommodating to whatever we needed. As far as the pool area being rowdy and full of drunken tourists, not here! In fact it was the opposite. People would have a few cocktails throughout the day and there was never any drama getting a deck chair, and no one seemed to put their towels on them and walk away and if they did, the culture there is to remove it and use it! (good rule if you ask me). We would go out for dinner and come back to absolutely no one around the pool or being loud. We were in interconnecting rooms (superior) 108 and 107 which were only 30m from the pool bar area. Perfectly situated right on Legian beach, which for us was essential as we are beach people, walk in either direction and find lots of lovely places to eat on the beach, and at the other end of the resort on the street lots of shops/markets and other places to eat. A 15 minute beach walk to Kuta markets, poppy's lane 1 and 2. After staying here for two weeks comfortably in clean and tidy rooms with immaculate surroudings I had to question why people would complain about this place! Maybe some people are too hard to please and might be better staying somewhere like the Padma, which you will need a taxi to get you from one end of the resort to the other and sit like cattle amongst the hundreds of deck chairs and cement (and pay triple the price). I love that this resort is smaller and was very family orientated at the time of our stay. We have booked for same time next year! Can't wait.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the main pools were not loud and rowdy at our time of stay. Try the Puri Raja for di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We just got home from another great trip to Bali. I found the puri raja to be an average hotel and out of 8 places we have stayed this is the only one we won't go back to. Our room smelt like sewerage which was grose. I did enjoy the quiet pool but that was about all. Breakfast was disorganized. We didn't feel very welcomed at this hotel but hey you win some you lose some.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We recently traveled to Bali on our first oversesas holiday as a family, we have two young children 9&6 years of age. The atmosphere was great, the staff were amazing, the rooms were clean and comfortable, although our bathrooms could of done with a little touch up as it was starting to look a bit shabby, but still very comfortable. We traveled as a group of 4 familys so 17 of us in total 8 adults and nine children. We could not rate the place highly enough, we had interconnecting rooms as our children are quite young, the restaurant was nice and food was of good quality as breakfast was part of our package, we also had tea there a couple of nights, couldnt fault the meals for us. It is out of the hustle and bustle of Kuta and the pool areas where quite and great swim up bar to relax and have a few bintang's by the pool. Will definetly revisit this property again in the future

Room Tip: If you have young children request an interconnecting room it makes the experience a heap easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is our second time back to Puri Raja and again the Puri did not disappoint. We requested a ground floor room and were given one together with a welcome fruit bowl on arrival. The staff at the hotel are always accommodating to help with any requests. The pools are always clean and the front pool is quieter if you want some quiet time. The other pool has a pool bar which is very nice to use. One day they did run out of pool towels but did manage to find some for us. Eating breakfast overlooking the beach is a view you can never get tired of. Eating around the Puri is good, recommend Legian Snacks, not fancy but food is good as is Bali Bagus, Warung Wali is also very good for food, try there nasi goring with the satay sauce, aaammaazzzing. DON'T eat at Pavone, we went as a group and one member of our group had to send his meals back twice.
Want a good laugh, go to Legian Beach Shack on Garlic Lane, they have a drag show on at 9.30pm, great for a laugh, don't expect the best show but god it is funny. Mugshots coffee around the corner is great for real coffee.

All in all, good place to stay, location wise you can walk everywhere, Kuta and Seminyak. Will stay at Puri again next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melbourneites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.5 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 87 in Legian
2,272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 87 in Legian
1,118 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Sari Beach
The Sari Beach
#71 of 87 in Legian
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Raja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Raja

Property: Puri Raja
Address: Jl Padma Utara | Legian Beach, Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puri Raja 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Puri Raja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Raja Legian
Puri Raja Hotel Legian
Puri Raja Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing