We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal & Service”
Review of Zanzibar

Zanzibar
Ranked #61 of 245 Restaurants in Legian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Perth WA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal & Service”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Dined here 10th Feb with another couple. Service was prompt and efficient and friendly. Three pasta meals were thoroughly e joyed as was my grilled vegetable couscous. Excellent coffee as well. Bathrooms spotlessly clean! Great value for money and great food. Definitely will be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BatyPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    243
    77
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Listen to the bad reviews, wish we did”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

One of friends fell ill from the fish and chips for 5 days, the rest of us ordered parmas and they also made us sick but not to the same extent. Go up the road to The deck! Soooo much better. We looked at the bad reviews and thought people were overreacting but we should have listened.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chloebly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketumbar, Owner at Zanzibar, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
we apologize that you fell ill after eating fish at our restaurant. our chef will be investigating this matter. we are very careful in selecting and handling our food, however, especially with seafood, we do not have the capacity to control how the seafood being handled from the sea to the market. we are taking this case very seriously, and given the current cases with fish, we are considering to limit the types of fish that we serve at our restaurant. it would be helpful in finding the cause, had you let us know right away when you fell ill. once again, we do apologize for the inconveniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Got sick eating here”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We ate here on our last day on 7 Feb.
We had the chicken satee and nasi goreng. I felt nautious and had stomach ache three hours later. My friend was worse than me she suffered severe vomiting and rest !
Thankfully after 14 days in both Ubud and seminyak this happened on our last day - we were so disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgina_Atz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketumbar, Owner at Zanzibar, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
we are sorry to hear that you fell ill after eating at our restaurant. we are very concerned and careful about food handling at our restaurant, and a case like this is very seldom. our chef is investigating this matter to prevent it from happening again. once again we apologize for the inconveniences caused by the illness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still better food than elsewhere”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Always receive excellent service, the food is reasonably priced, and what's more tasty too. Have eaten at Zanzibar quite a few times and have never been sick from the food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lzimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waste of time. Disappointing”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We caught a taxi down here from Seminyak based on some comments by friends who had been here previously and reading T.A. Should have stayed in Seminyak. This place is old, tired, food is like 1980's family restaurant and priced higher than places in Seminyak which are in a different league. Mei Goreng was 2 min noodles with some tiny dried seafood. Tasteless, unappealing....my heart sank when it was put down in front of me. Not sure what all the positive comments are about. Guess it shows the difference in expectations between TA reviewers. There is a much newer place just down past O-CE-N, didn't write down the name but looks funky, wooden interior, the guy at the door was really helpful and welcoming and the menu was more extensive and cheaper than Zanzibar.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanzibar also viewed

 

Been to Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing