We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pearl Hotel, Bali”
Review of Bali Hotel Pearl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bali Hotel Pearl
Ranked #3 of 63 Legian B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pearl Hotel, Bali”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This rating is a little overdue. It was our 9th trip to Bali, an island we love. We were recommended to stay there by friends. It is a very tired, overpriced resort, great Balinese staff though I must admit. French owners definately lived up to their reputations, they were rude, arrogant and unfriendly ignoring us the whole time they saw us and they were residing upstairs next to us. Great massage, friendly Balinese staff who served us breakfast with an amazing smile & greeting every morning... will not return to Bali after our stay in this resort. PS: French food in restaurant fabulous, Chef, who is their son, gave the same spiel night after night to every customer if you ate there, it was like he was doing us a favour just by speaking to us! First time I have ever vented my opinion on Trip Advisor as we do always, always have amazing travels based on this site which we researcxh thoroughly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesandPepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    130
    44
    10
    8
See reviews for
55
199
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

After hearing so much about the restaurant in TA, I decided to look for this restaurant as I was staying nearby. Found the restaurant and discovered that they had a spa in the same compound. I wasn't too trusting of the massage places along the road and decided to check it out.

We booked a 1 hr massage to test them out and it was bliss. After that, we booked a 3.5 hr pampering (body massage 2hr, facial 1 hr & head massasge 0.5hr) for the next day.

My observations:
- Efy and Tutu are great massage therapists.
- the facial was kind of different from the normal that I'm used to, but I was happy with how smooth and hydrated my skin was after the treatment
- the decor was rustic and put you in th right mood. It was open air, no aircon, which I like, as we Chinese believe that natural air is better for the body.
- the therapists checked to make sure that the pressure was ok for me
- paid attention to little things like ensuring their nails were short. I had massages where I could feel the therapist's nail scratching me when massaging me.

My recommendations to the owners:
- provide towels for guests so that we can cover our private areas and lie down on the massage bed before taking the towel away and covering us with the big cloth. What happened was, we were told to strip down to our underwear in the presence of the therapists. We were a little shocked as most of the spa we've been to let us undress privately. After much embarrassment on our part, both of them realised we were uneasy and then let the curtains down and retreated behind the curtains to let us undress. After undressing, we were looking for a towel big enough to cover ourselves but there were none. So we lay down and they came in and then covered us with the big cloth.
- better if could provide disposable undies so that we don't soil our undies with the massage oil

Overall, I did enjoy the massage and highly recommend it. The price was also very reasonable, can't really remember but about 250,000 to 300,000 rupiah for the 3.5 hr massage.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eugene_Sim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

On a recent trip to Bali I visited the Pearl to eat at their beautiful french restaurant and also visit their day spa.
The restaurant was beautiful, the food perfect and the service first class. Anthony was attentive and informative and even introduced us to his head chef after we had finished dining.
The day spare is well appointed and the massages are to die for. I went back on several occasions and each time was as good as the one before. Prices are also more than reasonable.
My only negative would be that I also had a manicure which was less than impressive. So stick with the body massages and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

One night is not really long enough to give an accurate review of a hotel. I wasn't head over heels for the Pearl - but I definitely didn't hate it. I love the location - far enough away from all the silliness of Kuta but close enough for some essential shopping and eating! I thought breakfast was terrific. I'm over heaving buffets and prefer a smaller breakfast made to order. Scrambled eggs were terrific. Best Bali coffee I had all trip. The best thing I found at the Pearl - the spa! Massages were awesome. I would consider staying here again if the price was right...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raecheyraech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have just returned from our 4th stay at the Pearl. We requested our usual ground floor room and were pleased that we got it. We were pleasantly surprised to be checked in and shown our rooms 6 hours before our due check in time. Staff are always very friendly and happy to meet any of your needs. This hotel suits our needs, it’s not a 5 star by any means, but it offers a beautiful room and huge bathrooms. Breakfast is ordered from a basic menu every morning, not much of a choice, but we found this to be plenty and fresh. There is no room service through the day, although you can request to eat your breakfast in your room or by the pool if you wish. We like this hotel for its quiet tranquil ambience and this is due to the fact NO swim up bar and no children, so this eliminates the rowdiness around the pool. Nothing to stop you from making your own mixed drinks if you want. Spa prices are very comparable with the street prices. On this occasion we didn’t eat at the restaurant only due to the fact of the dynamics of our family group, but can honestly say Jeremy is a very talented chef. I am yet to find another hotel like the Pearl for price, size and value. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to like the Pearl after reading and hearing so many good things.
Unfortunately the place did not come up to scratch for us for a few reasons.
Our room was ok but so many Mosquitos! Small old television, grey and thinning towels and bed linen.
Was anticipating a great breakfast considering the restaurant has such a great reputation but again let down. Only two choices, eggs or bread basket which was barely enough to feed a bird!
Staff were friendly and the on site spa was well priced and provided a good massage.
The location, right off Double 6 is excellent but we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeleneSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Pearl is the best l have ever stayed, service spot on, small personal with attention to detail. Would tell my friends there isn't a better place to stay. Will be back again. The location is perfect, even at Nepei time, close to good shopping. Y
The grounds are well kept, staff go out of their way to make your stay rewarding.
If you didn't know better you would think you are in the middle of France.
We have made and met amazing people while being here.
It's number one for future visits.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.1 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 143 in Seminyak
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 86 in Legian
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 86 in Legian
1,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#18 of 86 in Legian
1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#67 of 143 in Seminyak
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Hotel Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Hotel Pearl

Property: Bali Hotel Pearl
Address: Jalan Double Six, Legian Beach, Legian, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bali Hotel Pearl 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located 15 minutes from the airport, this small hotel will be the perfect departure point for your excursions into the rural heart of Bali.Set in a lush and verdant garden you can unwind by the pool or take a five minute walk to shops, restaurants, massage parlours and night clubs.At dusk, the pleasure of watching the setting sun on famous Legian beach, only a few hundred yards away.You will be charmed by the relaxed,discreet and professional service provided by our staff.No kids can be accomodate in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bali Hotel Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hotel Pearl Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing