We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooftop BBQ beat ribs ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Tunjung Bali Hotel & Spa
Ranked #24 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great rooftop BBQ beat ribs ever had”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The chef is awesome never had BBQ rubs like it .... All you can eat BBQ was fantastic for 100000rp !!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bali3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    39
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
48
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The location of this hotel is tops. And the staff are lovely people. The 3 bedroom villa we stayed in Bayu 1 was nice.. I think the description of it having a kitchen was exaggerated. It consisted of a bench, sink and fridge. Our fridge did not keep anything cold except in the freezer section which froze everything. There were plates supplied but no glasses or cutlery and nothing to cook on at all.
The downstairs area was open and would be lovely in cooler weather but far too hot during our stay this time.
The pool was very nice but very little shade anywhere.
We had to go climb rickity stairs to get to breakfast upstairs on the balcony which was in direct sunlight so opted to have breaky in room. The breakfast was ok but they would leave the dirty dishes there for days at a time.They have a new restaurant downstairs which opened the day we left which was much better.
The meals supplied were excellent and good value.
The spa was great.
On checkout they tried to charge me full amount and i had to show receipt of deposit to prove it had been paid so make sure you take it with you.
Overall it is a nice enough place.. I think I would stay in the one bedrooms as a couple again and love it but not so much in the 3 bedrooms as a family. The staff make this place good. Very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We are a family of 6 - two adults and four children. A family that size comes with certain challenges, one of which is finding suitable holiday accommodation. As a result, we need to find three bedrooms which can be either impossible or prohibitively expensive in many cases.
As a result a villa resort such as this appeared ideal.
Firstly the good, and there are a few -
the staff are wonderful. Always happy and helpful. If anything they are the shining light of this hotel.
The location is not far from perfect for mine. In the heart of Legian it was close to shops, close to food, convenient for just about everything.
The resort is a pretty small complex. This often meant drivers had no idea where to take us by just the name - but if you tell them its Jl Padma Utara just behind the Puri Raja - no problems. But I liked the fact that the pool was close, the restaurant was close, there weren't millions of people...
The villas are lovely and big. The set-up, as you will see below, wasn't quite perfect for us, but I loved it. We had seperate lounge, dining, kitchenette (almost), the master ensuite bathroom was huge and semi-open and very cool. Even the shower was ok (one of my 'things').
The neutral -
you need to understand the nature of the villas - when I say they are 'open' I am not kidding. You step up a few steps from the path and you are in the villa. The lounge, dining and kitchenette are all on the ground floor and there is only a small (ie about 2') wall around the edge that seperates you from the garden and path. So everyone can see in to the living areas, and the living areas are not air conditioned - only an electric ceiling fan. This may not be for everyone but it is interesting and, if you had friends in the complex (as we did), enabled and encouraged mixing.
The kitchenette only has a bar fridge and a sink. There are no cooking facilities. For most people this will be no problem - who wants to cook while in Bali anyway? For my family it was a minor inconvenience - it is nice to be able to do your own occassional snack and my kids are also very fussy.
The pool - there is one and it is not huge. But remember this is only a small resort. I thought it was nice and had no complaints. To some extent it will depend on who else is staying.
The restaurant - I have done a seperate review. On the whole I thought it was good but with breakfast provided over 10 days - it did start to get a bit dull.
The rooms - given the 'open nature of the villas you need to appreciate the bedrooms. One bedroom opens up off the lounge room on the ground floor. This has a very small ensuite and I always felt smelled damp. The other two rooms open up off the landing at the top of the stairs. As a result, your villa is not secure - you must lock each bedroom seperately. This also means if you have children in the ground floor room you are a flight of stairs away from them. This could cause some issues if you are very sensitive about such things.
The bad -
the only bad thing I can think of is you have to be right in reception to get a wi-fi signal.
the only other thing I would mention is that it took a bit of haggling with reception to get the deal we thought we had already committed to - and I am fairly sure that my sister-in-law was overcharged for her villa.
While the set-up was not perfect I think this hotel comes fairly close for my brood. If they fixed the damp in the downstairs bedroom (I was in Villa Bayu III) it would have been a five star rating from me.

Room Tip: The pool view room is convenient but my sis-in-law had problems with the 3 bedroom that overlooks th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnpaladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Royal Tunjung.
The management & staff were fantastic from the time we stepped through the front door until check out we were treated like we really mattered.
Very clean & spacious rooms, priced to please & food in restaurant was great.
Couldn't fault this little gem ... although a few more poolside lounge chairs would be appreciated. Staff are attentive & good fun. Thank you ... see you soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathybeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed at this villa complex for only 2 nights in the first week of September 2011. Sad to say our experience here doesn't give the glowing reviews of the previous guests. There were pros and cons with our stay but overall we would have to say we would not return to this hotel.

We booked the 3 bedroom Pool View room (closest to the front of complex and pool). It consisted of one king bed in upstairs master, two single beds in the second upstairs master and a single bed downstairs (very small room). Downstairs living is totally open to the outside, typical Bali style. We saw a couple of rats come through at night, but being Bali that's not the hotels fault.

There are 2 types of 3 bed villas: Pool & Garden view, I understand the bedding configurations are different in each, so check this when you book. Each bedroom had it's own bathroom, but strangely enough the bathroom to the downstairs room did not have an internal access door, so you have to walk outside to get to it. Not great for privacy given the surrounding units can see you coming out of the bathroom. The villa when booked said it was a 6 person villa and given there is no sofa anywhere (except downstairs which is open to the environment), I am not sure how they do the maths on that one. We were traveling as couples and the single beds were disappointing. I made the assumption there would be 3 doubles, or 2 doubles and 2 singles, which I can't blame the hotel for, but I can say there was zero flexibility in turning the 2 single beds into a king like the majority of Asian and European hotels do. We found the housekeeping and garden staff to be much friendlier than management.

We had to pay for the full accommodation on arrival not departure, which I thought was strange (not a problem at all however). I don't recall ever doing this at other hotels around the world unless it's a prepaid rate in which case you are charged when you make the booking. It might be a Bali thing or maybe the hotel has had problems with people giving bad credit cards and doesn't trust their guests anymore.

The safe in the room didn't work, but they swapped it promptly, which was efficient. We asked for the wifi password and got given a bunch of try these passwords that didn't work before giving up. They said they would get the right password and let us know, we never heard anything. With guests of only 7 villas to please, they must have been concentrating on the other 5 villas (we booked a one bed villa also). The one bed villa, was good, and good value with no specific problems, just the same general complex comments below.

The upstairs bathroom to the main master was nice, and quite large (open shower, toilet and separate bath). The bathroom to the second master was smaller but fine.

The downstairs bedroom stunk of mould, a very moist damp smell that hit you the second you opened the door, the hotel said this was the teak wood smell, but we didnt buy it, especially when we could see the moisture stains on the wall from the airconditioning unit. There were no problems with the upstairs rooms. We didn't sleep in that room for obvious reasons, we dragged the single mattress upstairs (no assistance from staff offered) to the master room which was more than big enough to fit it.

We tried the hotel spa a couple of times, and were very happy with the girls and the value of treatments.

The pool we used several times, it's small but about the right size considering the amount of villas in the complex. The 4 deck chairs wasn't enough, and it would have been nice if they put out fresh beach towels on the chairs throughout the day as other guests use them and take them away.

We tried the Resturant for dinner once and another time for breakfast. Dinner food (Balinese Menu) was fine and quite tasty, when we paid the bill the manager apologized for the bad service, which was unusual as we hadn't indicated that we were unhappy with anything. It was bad service, but we didn't care, we weren't in a hurry at all. Breakfast is complimentary (English Menu), between us we tried all of the available selections and I don't know how anyone could call that good food. Pancakes with raw mix in middle, bacon with more fat then meat, uncooked toast etc. The second day we just paid for breakfast somewhere else and forfeited our "complimentary" vouchers. We also ordered a couple of mango smoothies which was not included and they were absolutely disgusting. I think if the hotel is to only offer an English/American style breakfast they should first learn how to cook it.

One more tip, the hotel hasn't always been named the Royal Tunjung Bali from what we understand, and almost every taxi we got in had never heard of the place. The first night we got in, we thought we would never find our way home. Make sure you get a map from reception, or remember the names of the surrounding hotels to ensure you don't get stuck.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AussieTraveller1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed Sept 2011. There are 7 Villas, a couple of 1 bedroom and 2 and 3 bedroom family villas. We had 3 bedroom villa with 5 adults and 2 kids. Very spacious and clean modern rooms all with large private bathrooms. Each room had flat screen tv's and remote with numerous eastern and western channels. Always a good movie on one of the 3 or 4 movie channels. Or hire a Dvd player for less than 10 dollars (Au) a week. Pool and outdoor area not huge but very peaceful. Hardly ever a crowd when we were there. We came for mostly for relaxation so Tunjung having only 7 villas and a lot of guests go on all day tours etc so usually we had the pool to ourselves. The restaurant was really nice. The food was sensational in all of our humble opinions. New chef Nym has really stepped it up a knotch since his arrival, great kitchen team and the service in the restaurant was fabulous. You can not have a bad day when every morning at breakfast you are greeted with the real meaning of "service with a smile". Tops marks for providing a great service and a warm friendly atmosphere. Not to forget the surrounding gardens are lush green, with a rain forest feel with mango trees a small pond with bridge etc. Just really peaceful and nice. Gardener seems to always on duty pruning this and that. They also have 24 hour security so safety is not an issue. I am expressing my compete satisfaction with Royal Tunjung and i know my friends would agree, the whole team is wonderful and have incredible work ethics. Thankyou so much Royal Tunjung. I am saving as we speak to return asap. Also must try the roasted whole piggy, fresh and delicious.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnarg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We had great expectations after reading some reviews on Tripadvisor. However for us the experience did not match the positive reviews. First the good! The villas are spacious and would be very good for a family stay as you have a downstairs living area and spacious sleeping area. For us the initial greeting was cool. When we arrived the safe was locked so we had to make 3 calls before someone came to unlock. We looked forward to a dip in the pool but alas the area was being set up for a wedding that evening and there seemed to be a reluctance to bring us towels so at least we could cool off. The next day we noticed that the pool area was still not very welcoming - we saw only one umbrella and 2 sun beds set up. At 8.30am we put out "please clean room sign" in a clear position. We got back at 12.30pm. Room not done. Only about 8 rooms in total so we didn't understand why that couldn't have been done. A few minor requests took some time to be fulfilled. Breakfast - not tasty at all. Rubbery poached eggs with unrequested sausage and bacon. Brown bread not fresh. And voila!, on same food plate, a piece of waxed paper with some runny jam. Loud music was being played. The friendly breakfast service did not make up for poor quality of food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwanbournePossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Melati Apartments
Beach Melati Apartments
#32 of 86 in Legian
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Sinar Indah Hotel
Grand Sinar Indah Hotel
#58 of 86 in Legian
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sinar Bali
Hotel Sinar Bali
#71 of 86 in Legian
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sari Beach
The Sari Beach
#65 of 86 in Legian
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Tunjung Bali Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tunjung Bali Hotel & Spa

Property: Royal Tunjung Bali Hotel & Spa
Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Tunjung Bali Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Tunjung Bali features a luxurious home ambiance carved with perfection to give guests a sense of serenity and privacy. The hotel delights guests with an exotic garden surrounding which truly imitates a tropical forest abounding with large trees, flowers and fish ponds. Within the premise, lies a crystal clear swimming pool cascading waters from the fountains, and beautifully decked with sun loungers. The hotel maintains its exclusiveness with small number of villas to provide you an ideal retreat for a highly cherished vacation. This unique boutique-style luxurious hotel is located in Legian and a distance of only 150 meters from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Tunjung Bali Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Tunjung Bali Hotel Legian
Royal Tunjung Bali Hotel And Spa
Royal Tunjung Bali Hotel & Spa Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing