We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #70 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average rooms but great location”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I wouldn't rave about this resort except the pools, we checked into a superior room overlooking the main pool level 2, the air cond didn't work and the toilet smelt like raw sewerage,a few other guests had the same problem, after three hours we came back to a sweltering room, they proceeded to move us to a ground floor room on the second pool which was opposite to check in, and it was nicer but still the air cond didn't work properly (funny the afternoon we checked out they re input a new one)

The breakfast was nice but every day they ran out of coffee cups and took 20-30 mins to replenish and didn't fill up the food to quick. The new dining area had only just opened when we arrived so we didn't have dinner their besides breakfast so not sure what it was like but never more than four people when we walked past eating dinner.

The Restaurants around the area are great we ate at a few and a nice one was across from the Beach as you walk out of the resort beach side, then head left and t its down about 15 min walk across from the beach and even has a pool in it. We ate lunch their and has free wifi and our son had a swim after lunch whilst we had a drink, Great atmosphere & service. Sorry vant recall the name

If you walk out the street side be prepared for mothers using their children to hawk bracelets or just sitting their with babies a few months old begging. Its sad to see and we did buy a few bracelets but I think these kids were better sales people than the average westerner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burleigh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    300
    205
    93
    100
See reviews for
353
216
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

For a non-hotel corporation hotel it certainly excelled in every way. The rooms are large and always clean. The friendly staff were always happy. smiling and forever ready to oblige your every request. The new restaurant on the beach front opened during our stay, much to our amazement. It operated without any major hitch right from day 1. The food was very good, and with 3 different styles of pools, everyone was spoilt for choice. Our week sped past, far to fast for my liking, as another week there would not have gone amiss. Would not think of staying any where else on our next trip to Bali.

Room Tip: From what we could see, there was nothing that would make any of the rooms seem less inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank verkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently stayed a full week at this hotel and had a beautiful time. The staff were friendly and totally helpful with everything we asked or needed. They were available 24/7 but not intrusive . The suite we had was spacious and clean, yes it was an older style but we knew that before we arrived so it was never an issue. The gardens and hotel location were fantastic and the view from the restaurant stunning. If you want a true sense of Bali and not an international could be anywhere in the world hotel then visit the Melati. The food was good and plentiful and the 3 pools had something to suit everyone. Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Fourth trip to Bali and have just spent 1 week in resort, it is very tired and needs a major overhaul. We were aware of the dining room renos but chose not to move hotels. The new dining room was operational during our stay, very dangerous steps inside dining space which were very hard to see as the floor is high gloss tiles, did see a couple of nasty falls. No marking on floors, also I can only imagine them being very slippery when wet. The stairs to the upper level dining room also were unfinished and had lots of exposed steel rods all quite dangerous. Breakfast was very average, after having been spoilt in other resorts, there was very little choice here and the top up was often slow, even the egg person was slow.
Our room was big enough, but not particularly clean, the bed was quite comfortable, the towels were very very old, worn and grey. There was almost no water pressure and on at least one occasion no hot water at all.
The pool surrounds are uneven and some tiles were broken. The pool towels are also very very old, faded and thin, giving them the feel of not being very clean. I was only once offered bar service around the pool and there were often lots of empty bottles left lying around.
The reception staff were helpful when needed and the drivers located at the hotel very good. The grounds were nicely kept.
The hotel has a bar at the front entrance and there was quite loud music and singing from there every night.
It is in a good location with the beach walk into Padma and Melasti streets and close access to some really good markets and eateries. This is a budget hotel in need of serious updating , and we will not be returning to stay.

Room Tip: No lifts for upper level access, if mobility an issue rethink the booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise01012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I'm in my 60's. 8 times to Bali. Came here at Melasti 10 years ago with friends and it was good then. We upgraded this time but don't think it was neccessary. Pure white sheets/pillow cases towels were change each day, bed and pillow were very comfortable (not hard). Room/bathroom, sitting room were clean & spacious. I'm not a pool person but ended up in the glorious clean pool each day and loved it. Staff were helpfull and friendly the couple of times I needed them. Hotel close to the beach a two min walk along garden pathways and another beautiful pool. Downside- only at the moment- replacing the dining area- and it is big bright and beautiful and nearly finished (early aug) The ballroom for breakfast was not the best place to be and I've had better included break fasts BUT this is not an expensive hotel. And its cheap to eat out. My sister and husband stayed at a hotel 3 doors down on the beach and very expensive but the food was great/luxurious bedroom etc etc.& etc. You get what you pay for. We are not in our room much and take a motor bike for 2 or 3 dollars for a ride on the back each for a quick shopping spree otherwise a car for $ 5 and that's from the hotel without bartering! You can rent a car/van for the day for 30-40 dollars without bartering also.

Room Tip: Make sure the resturant is completed and in use its a lovely place right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Middelburg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
525 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

If your ideal vacation is to go to a place full of tattoed and obese Australians, then welcome to Melasti. If you are looking for some cozy, relaxing place this is not it. While it is in front of the beach, unless you are staying in the bungalows near the beach it will take a walk to get there. The hotel is quite large and has a few nice pools (if it weren't for the feeling of being in a working class neighbourhood public pool in Australia), but it is very large and crowded. They did not have queen bed rooms, only full beds. The price of the deluxe room, at US$100 seemed steep. Brekfast is included but it is horrible and one must wait a long time to et an omelette. All of that said the staff is very attentive and the place is located in the middle of crazy traffic Legian

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFoster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I recently took my daughters and granddaughter here for a holiday. (We had stayed over 10 years ago and was good then). This hotel is badly in need of a facelift. Our room was dark and dingy, the towels were old and dirty looking (but clean), when we got them, we were often not left with any towels and needed to request from reception. Our air conditioner was leaking water, causing my granddaughter to slip and hurt herself quite badly.
When we first arrived breakfast was served in a dark ball room with no atmosphere then the beach restaurant was completed and breakfast was served in the new restaurant for the final 6 days of our trip. They were ill prepared for the number of people booked in, no tables available, no cutlery, had to continually ask for cutlery. No tea cups for tea and well the breakfast just kept running out.... we ended up eating out for a couple of days.

The pool was nice enough, clean and the kids had a great time. The beach towels looked like the same ones they used in 2001 when we came (the very same towels) old and worn out.

Staff were friendly but overall the resort did not present as a professionally run resort. Sorry, i will not be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovesholidays59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.1 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#27 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#16 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Sari Beach
The Sari Beach
#64 of 84 in Legian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Hotel Kumala Pantai
#29 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaside Suites Bali
Seaside Suites Bali
#1 of 84 in Legian
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Jl Padma Utara, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
#39 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melasti Legian Beach Hotel Legian
Melasti Legian Beach Resort And Spa
Hotel Melasti Legian
Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing