We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #68 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Have stayed at the Melasti twice before and are going again in November 2013
the people are very friendly and willing to help in any way, when I left my phone in
a taxi they went out of their way to find the taxi and got it back for me. When we got there
last time I asked if the room was available that we had last time, no worries we got it
straight away. The lad that cleaned our room was very good, he even put flowers on our bed each day. Would definatly recommend staying there, great location, near to plenty of eating
places and the beach.

Room Tip: choose a superior as they are much better than the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pensioner22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    294
    197
    91
    97
See reviews for
341
210
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great. While you eat breakfast you can watch the waves.. The rooms are pretty standard and could do with some updating. We stayed here for a few nights and it was good. Breakfast was okay, not the best. Staff are very friendly and helpful. I think the hotel could do with a little updating but overall it was good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauralouclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Home from another relaxing holiday in Bali. Note to myself and anyone thinking of staying at The Melasti Beach Resort in Legian.. DON'T stay there. The one time my daughter didn't lock her suit case and 2 million rupia was stolen from it. We were sun baking near the pool for a few hours enjoying a few cocktails when the staff helped themselves to it. Sneaky buggars must have had one watching us down stairs whilst they search our room. Time to find a new hotel!!
This isnt the first time we lost money either. One time money disappeared from the locked safe, which they have a master key of.

Dont get me wrong, the staff are beautiful , the location is great and the pools have been renovated. It is the stealing and the manager that let the place down.

Room Tip: Only accept a ground room as they have one door, no one can be sneaking in through the back door whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skippyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just arrived home from another wonderful holiday at the Melasti Hotel...Me, hubby, 4 children and Grandma! On arrival nothing had changed, grounds still lovely, security guards at front gate smiling (even remembered us from last year), check in staff were lovely, kind and accomodating. Welcome drink was cold and staff very helpful. We had requested ground floor for my mother and she was given ground floor, we requested adjoining rooms but unfortunately were told that this was not possible immediately but they would change us in two days. We understand that probably many request adjoining so we were fine with it not happening straight away.. unlike other people who for some reason thing that any request they have should be met. We were shown to our cottages and were delighted with both of them. Rooms are huge and very accomodating for families. After two days we were offered a choice of rooms so we moved to a ground floor directly opp the other cottage,this was wonderful. Our room was renovated so we had a lovely bathroom with granite bench tops, and a new toilet and huge mirror and great lighting. Now when I say renovated it is not straight out of belle magazine but it is new and clean. our air conditioner was fine but not wonderful so we just mentioned it to reception and 5 minutes later we had an airconditioner man have a look at it and noticed it needed re gassing....after that it was so cold we needed light jackets on. I heard rude people complain about their air conditioners, or taps leaking, or toilets not flushing and couldnt help myself but later in the day would simply ask them "did you get the problem with your room fixed", everyone of them replied YES! (rude pigs they were to the staff, you dont get fixed at home that quickly for free and done by someone with a smile on their face)...so yes there are things that need fixing but if you tell them they will do their best to fix it and promptly! To winge about the breakfast area is ridiculous, one minute people say it needs fixing and then when the hotel is under any sort of reno people complain. There is absolutely no disruption or disturbance caused by the renovation....the breakfast area has been moved above reception to the conference room and is perfectly fine. I dont know what some of you piggies expect for breakfast but the omlettes, poached or boiled eggs we had every day were hot and delicious. There was a choice of white or brown bread, sausages, rice, banana or pineapple or plain pancakes, crossaints, fruit, bacon, juices, tea and coffee.....is this not enough for some????
Our sheets would have been changed everyday if we wanted but I found this ridiculous as we all showered before bed so we were happy to just get fresh towels, soap and shampoo, and water bottles everyday and the sheets changed every few days. I heard someone mention that the sheets that they got on one particular day were grey.....omg...grey sheets, can you imagine.......get a life...bet your washing is not always perfect at least they were clean!!!!
As for the theft well dont get me started......we left jewellery out, money lying around, nintendos, iphones charging etc etc, nothing was ever stollen....but by the pool my daughter had a phone taken, my husband a top and me a dress.......stop blaming the staff, who for you information are searched when they finish work and have their bags checked....its the bloody tourists that are the thieves..... I can not fault the melasti,,,,,yes the hotel is run down but they are improving it but is traditional bali, we are all starting to expect too much........the towels around the pool have had it but so had the ones we used at the five star Pullman!!! The hotel is used by hundreds of people every day of the year I think we should be a little more understanding that we are going to come across a grey sheet, a worn out towel or even a broken banana lounge. sit back enjoy the holiday with your friends or family and stop worrying about the materialistic things that arent that important, the memories you create at this wonderful hotel are far more important.........See you again Melasti!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank balihereicome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney aust
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just came back from two fantastic weeks at the Melasti. Was concerned regarding the negative comments but was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a Cottage Suite closer to the beach but not too far away from the pool. The rooms are huge and clean. The staff were some of the most friendliest and courteous I have come across in Bali. Only downside was the renovations to the beachfront restaurant, (due to finish around August) as breakfast was served in the ballroom upstairs. Breakfast was good everything you could want, bacon, ham, sausages, cereal, pastries, rice & vegies, eggs anyway you wanted them, toast, tea/coffee and juices. Although the Melasti is one of the older resorts in the area and is in need of a reno, it had everything we needed. The location is excellent with great restaurants along the beachfront path. After speaking with one of the staff, they said they are slowly renovating but it is hard as the resort always full. I would highly recommend the Cottage suites as they are really spacious and would be perfect for families especially with small children.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend a cottage suite even it is for only two people you might pay a little extra b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank codie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel has great swimming pools (3), 2 with swim-up pool bars. The grounds are well kept and the hotel is in a great location on the beach and right in the heart of Legian.
Be sure to get aeroguard and mozzie coils as soon as you get there as the mozzies and bugs are ferocious (they were in late June anyway)!
We asked for a recently renovated room, but were told that the rooms weren't being renovated - which is at odds with what the hotel had told our travel agent.
We were travelling with friends and had requested rooms together, or close by. This had not happened, but reception sorted this out as best they could when we brought it to their attention.
The hotel entrance from the beachfront is currently being renovated (see pics below - luckily we didn't arrive at this entrance, or we would have left immediately - it is not the most welcoming of entrances) (and has been for the past 4 months or so according to a hotel driver we had - who also said the renovations would continue for another 8 months at least). The sitting/dining/bar area at the front of the hotel is not available due to the renovations, which means no buffet dinners or live music or Balinese themed nights - which they still say on their website are available - disappointing that they have not updated the website with renovation details and that some facilities will be unavailable.
Unless we wanted to eat at the pool bar area or get room service, the only option was to go to restaurants outside of the hotel each evening, which we did - luckily there are are plenty around.
The rooms themselves would have been quite lovely 10 or so years ago. They are still clean, but very tired looking. Bed and pillows not at all comfortable, but rooms, beds and bathrooms huge. My kids had foldout beds which they said were reasonably comfortable, but the blankets on the beds had cigarette burns in them and all the foam stuffing was sticking out of the headboards. At least they got beds - our friend's son had a mattress on the floor to sleep on! Having said that, the sheets were changed regularly and made up beautifully.
As the hotel indicated, breakfast was served in the ballroom because the restaurant (presumably at the beach entrance of the hotel) was closed for renovations. This room is enormous and was much like a Coles cafeteria. The food was very ordinary and not something that any of us looked forward to each morning, but the fresh fruit was good, as was the cereal. The staff were polite and lovely too.
All in all, I wouldn't rush to stay there again, but we had a great holiday in Bali.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heyfield, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a wonderful little place to stay. Fully secure and gated. The most beautiful people who could not do enough for us. Our room was overlooking one of the swimming pools, 2 king size single beds or a king bed, 2 showers, seating and a magnificent balcony. Buffet breakfast that catered for everyone. 3 wonderful swimming pools 2 with swim up bars. 1 minute walk to shops and taxi's out the front or walk straight onto the beach and all of the great resturants out the back. Best holiday ever

Room Tip: Understand the money as there is a lot of 0's e.g 100,000 is only $10.00, we got confused first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerrin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.0 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#28 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Hotel Kumala Pantai
#34 of 250 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Jl Padma Utara, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
#39 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melasti Legian Beach Resort And Spa
Melasti Legian Beach Hotel Legian
Hotel Melasti Legian
Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing