We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You won't find better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You won't find better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

I recently stayed at Mandira with my 18 and 19 year old daughters. Previous to this visit I had stayed at Mandira in 1988. The staff and hotel is fantastic just as it was 22 years ago. Sitting at the bar at night, it was noticable how many people from other hotels were coming in and saying the staff are a lot more friendlier here. We stayed in a superior room on the second floor and each morning we would go out and come back to a spotlessly clean room. Construction was going on at the end of the building but this didn't start until 10am and stopped by 6pm. We couldn't hear any noise from our room. The buffet breakfast served in the morning was top class. We didn't feel like eating until dinner time as the breakfast would suffice us for the day. The swimming pools are nice and clean and the top storey pool has a beautiful view looking out to the beach. The hotel is quiet and has a lovely surrounding view being right opposite the beach. The road between the hotel and beach is closed off and no vehicles can go through. Our last few nights were spent at Hard Rock and even then we would go back to Mandira to have a drink at the Parasol Bar. My daughters will return and even though you pay that bit extra, Mandira is well and truely worth it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynetteK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,420
    806
    216
    61
    37
See reviews for
870
969
76
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

Everything about the hotel is firstclass, the only complaint is there was no belcony in the surperior room, which was no big deal as they had a smoking farea for my mum and my brother just down stairs, the staff were fantastic , location was fantistic, staff were extremly friendly, i am a 16 year old teenager, who will deffenetly be back in the future, the hotel was not far from anything, 5 star resort , brilliant in everyway, absolutly loved it... Hint : use the blue bird taxies and ask them to put the meter on. all in all a truly amazing place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evelyn_cilia_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

I highly recommend The Bali Mandira Beach Resort and Spa. We were upgraded to a garden cottage room with an open air bathroom which was lovely, showing some slight signs of wear but with so much more charm and character than some of the modern accommodation now available in Bali. The grounds are beautiful with lush gardens and meandering paths. The foliage gives good privacy to all of the rooms. The position on the beach in Legian is handy to everything but lovely and quiet as the paved road between the hotel grounds and the beach is closed to traffic and, it appears that no sellers are allowed on it either. The bar is, perhaps, a little more expensive than it should be but all good things come at a price and waiter service on a daybed overlooking the beach at sunset is rather special and the bar staff, especially the bar manager, Adi, are lots of fun. The spa, though significantly more expensive than those in the surrounding streets, is a wonderful experience with beautiful products used. Yoga sessions, scuba lessons in the pool and the gamelan playing accompanying breakfast are all great. The buffet breakfast has an excellent range of food. The rank for the Blue Taxis(metered) is conveniently nearby and the Mozzarella Restaurant, about 100m up Jalan Padma is a cheaper option than the hotel with great food and fantastic staff. Would go back tomorrow if I had the opportunity.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HippygoneYuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

Recently stayed a week at the Mandira resort and was very happy with the hotel. The location is excellent, can not be beat! Very private as the beachfront road isn't used by motorists off the street. Beach is on Mandiras doorstep, and great restaurants, shops close by.

The hotel grounds are stunning, very well looked after, all the gardens and surroundings make the stay a truly happy experience. The pools are very nice, especially the rooftop adults pool, great for a swim at any time of the day and was rarely busy with no screaming kids. The ground pool is quite nice, and plenty of lounge chairs to sit on. Breakfast great, lunch at both restaurants were very nice, definately reccomend parosel restaurant for lunch, food is delish.

Booked a superior room but on arrival upgraded to a premier room which was quite nice, dvd player ensured we were always entertained with the numerous dvds/cds we had purchased off the streets. Staff were very friendly and helpful too and always greeted us with a morning or hello.

Only 1 problem and quite minor but the buffet breakfast. It opens at 7am each morning and little jugs of milk are placed on every table at 7am for anyone who drinks coffee or tea. Wether you arrived at 7am or 9.30 or 10am, the milk was always on the table. Now after 20minutes left outside in warm air, this is bali belly waiting to happen. Def reccomend that you just get a fresh glass of cold milk from the juice area. I did this twice before getting told that the milk was on the table and not up near the juices but I dont think they understand.

Great hotel, definately will return again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racingmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

Had a 2 night stay here after our accommodation didn't work out so well. Booked via late stays for $150 US inc breakfast per night.
Well worth it. Had a room on the 3rd floor, with 2 double beds, no balcony but a little deck type thing with cushions which was quite comfy. Not a great view looked to other houses/hotels, but didn't bother us.
Although hotel seemed to be busy was plenty of spare sun lounges by the pools.
Really friendly staff.
Close walking distance to shops and restaurants.
Front bar was a great place to watch the sun go down.
We only had breakfast one morning as had an early flight but the banana pancakes were great!
Would highly recommend for couples.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stubbsy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Mandira after so much research, we were a bit worried after reading some of the reviews as I am a bit fussy and we decided to pay the bit extra and stayed in the Junior Suite. Well we were so impressed with our room, it was so worth paying a bit more for, it is exactly as it shows in the pictures on the website, we absolutely loved it, the bed was bigger than a King and so comfortable, the marble bathroom and bath overlooking the resort were amazing. The resort was really lovely, especially the daybeds that overlooked the beach, lots of grassy spacious areas with or without shade. The main pool was clean but not very shaded and needs more areas to just relax in as you cant lean over the edge as it is a bit high whereas the upstairs pool was really lovely and you could lean on the edge and see the ocean. Very friendly staff, room was attended and tidied up twice a day, breakfast was good, have seen better spreads but you really couldnt complain, they had everything and it was fresh and tasty. The location was great, sort of in the middle of Seminyak and Kuta, taxis cheap to either. Probably wouldnt take kids here as the kids club looked a bit small, ok for really little ones but bit older ones might get a bit bored. Very professional staff, smooth check in. The deluxe rooms were a bit closer to the pool area and restaurants but I didnt get to see inside them. Our room was at the back of the resort in the tower block which was very modern and inviting on the 3rd floor, it had a lift which was good. All the grounds were beautiful. We would definately recommend this hotel (our room) to friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shill78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

Stayed at the Mandira after having stayed at the Padma last year. Mandira needs some updating eg flat screen tv's and a DVD player would be good as all rooms should have them, but otherwise everything was good. We stayed in a Superior Cottage and it was larger than our friends room who were at the Padma. Pools were clean, breakfast was good, cannot fault it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.0 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#3 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Jalan Padma No. 2, Kuta (Legian Beach), Legian 80362, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Legian
#4 Business Hotel in Legian
#5 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#8 Spa Hotel in Legian
#8 Luxury Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid landscaped gardens with palm trees, a relaxed resort, simplicity and touched with local warmth and charms. located right to the Beach and within walking distance to all that Legian and Seminyak is famous for, excellent shopping, traditional art markets, trendy restaurants and beach clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Travelocity so you can book your Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Mandira Beach Hotel Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Resort And Spa
Bali Mandira Beach Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing