We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice traditional Balinese hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice traditional Balinese hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed in the Bali Mandira for three nights. The hotel is a nice haven away from the busy streets outside. The pool area and gardens are beautiful and spacious. There are water slides which are fun for the younger guests and a swim up bar, sun beds in the pool and hammocks in the pool for adults. The area where the sun loungers are is a grassed area and well shaded by the tall trees so if you prefer full sun you could walk outside and across to the beach (one minute walk). We stayed in a deluxe bungalow which was nice, the shower area was amazing, it felt like being outside although you were not actually. The breakfast was fine, nothing to rave about. There was a selection of european foods and asian breakfast items. The only thing I would say here was that there were flies landing on the bread and pastries which is a bit offputting, they should be covered with large plastic dome covers if flies are present. The staff were not really attentive at breakfast, not looking around to see if you needed anything. A couple of times we had to get up and approach the staff to ask for more coffee etc. All in all our stay was ok for a three day stay.

Room Tip: Basic rooms tend to be in the big building set back near reception whereas the deluxe cottages in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherylthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,137
    665
    181
    44
    31
See reviews for
673
780
61
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Bali Mandira last week, facilities, staff and location were fantastic. It is situated right across the road from the beach and by walking up to JL Legian it is either a short taxi ride to Seminyac or Kuta, we both walked it a number of times.

There are also a number of really good places to eat such as the Indo national or Mozarella's together with a number of bars very close by.

Breakfast was great and both management and staff brilliant, I will certainly be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

For the second time this year we stayed at this fabulous resort. We booked 3 days there then went onto a luxurious resort up north for 5 days. The other resort was fantastic, 5 star and in a very serene environment. But..I missed the Bali Mandira...Its quiet and you can relax so well, the pool is glorious, the staff are the best, the breakfasts on the beach are great. What we like is that you could relax and unwind from the hustle and bustle, but be only a walk out the gates and you are there amongst it all. Katut around the corner, fabulous restaurants a walk away, quick walk to the Melasti where I have the best massages and facials, and then drinks around the pool and chats and laughter with the staff and tourists...we will be back next February.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 654patndave831654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My daughter, granddaughter and myself stayed at the Mandira for a week, then moved on to Ubud, then back to Mandira. The first time our room was fabulous! In the newer block and on the second floor. The second time around, our room was not up to standard, and we were moved into another room on the ground floor of the same block. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were very friendly, and we all loved the choice at breakfast. One criticism would be that the 'poolside' menu was quite ordinary, but the staff were very obliging if we required a drink or food that was not on the menu. All in all a very safe, relaxing and enjoyable stay. We would stay at the Mandira again. Convenient to beach, and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeno, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

in order to offer my friends the most luxurious balinese holidays I chose the most expansive category: the so called "Delux Club Cottage" for them and for me. The website says: recently renovated. The furniture is old and shabby and the whole environment needs a deep touch up. Probably the whole "renovation" was some fresh paint. The blankets are not always clean and changed and the quality is poor and sometimes worn out, the same is to say about the towels.

Room Tip: better go to a place which gives you what it promises for that amount of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friedrich v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Was in Bali for a wedding at the Padma so decided to make a decent holiday out of it. Stayed at the Mandira for a week, and loved it. Although the staff were initially concerned about my "female all alone" status, which was weird, they were super friendly and helpful and would even stop to chat when I was eating breakfast or having a drink at the bar. Food was great, rooms good, outdoor shower was awesome. Loved the adults only pool and spent a fair bit of time in it. I'll be back to the Mandira - great value and a great holiday. Definitely better value than the Padma next door - the rooms may not be as posh, but the service is far more personal and the pools are just as good.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Phairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were disappointed with the room. The Private Courtyard Club room is described as having 'a lush garden view' and an 'indoor private courtyard and garden area'. In reality, the room is on the ground floor of a 4 story building at the back of the hotel. To maintain some privacy the courtyard has high walls and a roof to block the curious in the rooms above from looking in. The result is feeling like you are trapped in a cave, with only a brief flash of sunlight in the morning and shaded gloom the rest of the time. On a more positive note, the hotel's new pool area is great, particularly for families with young children and the over 18 pool area gives a respite from noisy kids, although the lounge lizards grab the sunbeds early and hog them all day. The Club Lounge benefits that are provided with the room are good but you need to be there at specific times in the afternoon to take advantage and this can be somewhat restricting. Breakfast was average, just the usual included-in-the-tariff offering. Staff were friendly and efficient. This is a big hotel in a popular location and no doubt has plenty of returning guests but for us the stay will be a one off.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffnKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.0 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#3 of 80 in Legian
4.5 of 5 stars 4,449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#10 of 80 in Legian
4.0 of 5 stars 1,834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Jalan Padma No. 2, Kuta (Legian Beach), Legian 80362, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Legian
#4 Business Hotel in Legian
#5 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#6 Spa Hotel in Legian
#7 Luxury Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid landscaped gardens with palm trees, a relaxed resort, simplicity and touched with local warmth and charms. located right to the Beach and within walking distance to all that Legian and Seminyak is famous for, excellent shopping, traditional art markets, trendy restaurants and beach clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Mandira Beach Hotel Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Resort And Spa
Bali Mandira Beach Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing