We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, but not blown away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but not blown away”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in Sept 2013 and it really is a very good hotel. The service (breakfast aside where they are seriously understaffed) is generally excellent. The food is good and reasonable value. The pools are great and the grounds amazing and immaculate. On the downside, it is expensive for what you get - we booked a Superior room which in my mind was a bog standard hotel room. On the plus side it was significantly better value than the Delux Cottage my friends booked - the only difference being they had a shower room and paid twice as much. Also I personally didn't think the location was that good - sure it is close to the town but really the town isn't especially nice and it is a 1km walk down the beach to find any decent beach side bars and restaurants - the bars in town just play thrash metal or karaoke. Furthermore, the bar closes at 12pm which I feel is early for a hotel of this size, and the staff are overly eager to kick you off the seats to shut up shop for the night. Also the cocktails are small and fairly pricey and the beer choice very limited indeed. Finally, the nightly entertainment put on by the hotel is frankly horrific and more like bad cabaret than quality evening entertainment - seriously the restaurant singer couldn't even sing!

Room Tip: The Deluxe Cottages are basically the same as the standard rooms only they have a shower room. In my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,565
    872
    237
    65
    41
See reviews for
993
1,040
80
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just arrived home after spending 9 glorious nights at the BaliMandira (our 3rd stay) and best by far. The new pool with its water slides swim up bar and sandy entrance is truly magnificent. Cascading rock wall waterfall, spas and lie nets unbelievable. Staff and pricing excellent. Only sour note a sewerage smell coming from the bathroom , but not all the time. ( thank god). Great memories of lying in the new Cabanas drinking a Bintang. All in all a great choice of rooms and facilities with the Balinese doing it in style. Will be back again.

Room Tip: Go for a Balinese style room and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband, 8yo daughter and I stayed here for 8 & 1/2 nights from 25 September 2013 (after staying 4 nights in Ubud). This was our 8th trip to Bali, having stayed in Legian many times before but it was our first stay at this resort. I guess I was a little naïve booking a standard room, thinking that being quite pricey it would still be of a high standard. We were first given a room on the top floor at the very back of the "hotel" section of the resort. It had 2 queen beds, no balcony, it overlooked Legian, the window wouldn't open and there was noisy construction work/banging going on above us. We requested a different room, refused the next room on the ground floor still with 2 queen beds and finally settled on the 3rd room offered - this one had a king bed and they made up a comfy single for our daughter. The bathroom was the smallest we have ever experienced in Bali and the shower was a constant source of frustration for us. I cannot fault the staff at this resort otherwise, they were always friendly, helpful and obliging. The room was also done up spotlessly by Gede from housekeeping every day. The new pool is lovely but as parents of an 8yo we were frustrated that the pool lounges were unable to be set up by the pool - particularly in close proximity of the water slides. We noted that parents of young children/toddlers would spend their day on the deck sitting in the regular chairs so that they could watch their children. The majority of pool lounges are set up in rows on grassed area near the pool. We've never liked this sort of set up and have always preferred lounges set up around the perimeter of the pool. It meant that one of us always had to stay with our "stuff", the 3 of us could never swim together. The other annoyance were the weddings and other functions - every single day. The wedding ceremonies are held in a nearby area next to the Parasol restaurant but the larger receptions are held on the grassed area in front of the water slides section of the pool. This meant that on 3 occasions, the pool lounges were squashed up, there was minimal shade and we had to watch staff carrying tables, chairs, buffet equipment etc. in front of us all day long. The toilets for pool users are also in an inconvenient location - one has to walk past the bar and restaurant. These toilets also catered for restaurant, bar and wedding attendees - not pleasant if you're a guest and have to use a wet pool toilet. Also, there were only 2 toilets for this entire area and there was often a queue (not great if you have Bali Belly). Breakfast was plentiful, but the area often a bit unorganised when one first walked in. There is no "please wait to be seated" sign and even the staff were often confused by which tables were taken. Some days they would ask for your room number and other days they didn't. We were so looking forward to staying here and whilst we had a wonderful and relaxing time in Bali we would not choose to stay at the Mandira again.

Room Tip: If booking a standard room, request one with a balcony. If you can afford it, stay in a cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurielandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

What a great resort. Check in was slow but I quickly learned the difference between Australian and Bali time. I need to chill out. Service was first class and always friendly. Food was fantastic and well priced, beach location meant that there was no reason to leave. So sorry when our time was up, this is a week that memories are meant to be made of. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a magnificent resort. Spotless rooms, super comfortable beds, a great pool area with many chairs, right at the beach, and the food is great here too. I think I can safely say that there is not a single negative thing to be noticed here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelledalot25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We have previously stayed in Nusa Dua at the Aston Bali which is fantastic. This time we decided to stay at the Bali Mandira and were certainly very impressed. As someone who works in an industry where the people working there can make or break your business I know that the Bali Mandira have the ultimate in staff. All staff are happy, polite and always smiling which gives the hotel a wonderful atmosphere. All staff should be congratulated however there are always those who excel and give their 100% these include the staff in the tours office, the front office and 110% was Gede who was our room attendant. His service, his smile and nothing was too much trouble made us feel like VIPs. He is proud of what he does and he is polite and kind to all as I heard him speak to other guests. Valuable staff are the backbone of a business. The breakfasts were great as we're the swim up bar staff. Thankyou to all and we will certainly be back!!!!!
If there was improvements I would stay in a room closer but the balcony was great. Mosquitoes are a slight issue but not too bad.
We will certainly be back sooner rather than later.
Thankyou Bali Manderia !!!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here one night as I find Kuta very different from the rest of Bali (yes Ozzie capital of Indonesia) it reminds me of the Spanish beach resorts/cities in EU. Good spot for (windy) beach and shopping. No swimming allowed when I was there, but a true surfer's paradise. Superior room was ok, overall the hotel looks fine. Pool(s) are nice, so is the food and staff.
Please do check the tourist office on the right side of the reception (go outside, there's a little office) and book your taxi to the airport for only 100K rupia. When I asked the reception earlier, they stated "a taxi to airport is 100 to 250K" and never pointed me the office on their premises. Which later when I found the office stroke me as odd, as the service was excellent and you don't feel ripped off like with some taxi scemes.
Just a tip!

Room Tip: When you arrive you can always upgrade to their fancy bungalow/villas, there's a sign on the des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieN71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.1 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 87 in Legian
5,580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 87 in Legian
2,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
1.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Jalan Padma No. 2, Kuta (Legian Beach), Legian, Kuta 80362, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Legian
#4 Business Hotel in Legian
#5 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#7 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#7 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid landscaped gardens with palm trees, a relaxed resort, simplicity and touched with local warmth and charms. located right to the Beach and within walking distance to all that Legian and Seminyak is famous for, excellent shopping, traditional art markets, trendy restaurants and beach clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Mandira Beach Hotel Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Resort And Spa
Bali Mandira Beach Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing