We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Ok, the location of this hotel is good, right on the beach. Legian is a bit of a dump full of bars and tacky shops selling fake Australian rugby league jerseys. The real Bali it certainly is not.

If you like beaches full of parasols, loud music at the bars and tourist shops you will like the place but it wasn't for me.

The hotel itself is ok. The grounds are very nicely tended and the staff are excellent. Room walls are very thin so it sounds like your neighbours are in the room with you, not ideal if your neighbours are a noisy family (which in fairness, most families are).

It is probably more 3 - 3.5 star them 4. The grounds are nice, rooms very average and bathrooms more like 2 star.

If you are coming from Europe think tacky Spanish resorts, America tacky Mexican resorts and Oz.....well I think this is the Australian tacky resort.

For Australians, you will be disappointed by the beaches, ones in oz are much nicer.

We checked out after 2 nights (supposed to stay 8) and headed inland to see some of the real Bali. Much nicer.

All in all, very average.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hey_funboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,941)
There are newer reviews for Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,081 - 2,087 of 2,943 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was our first visit to Bali and we were feeling a little nervous but from the moment we arrived at Mandira we felt at ease. Everything about Bali mandira is fantastic from the location to the beautiful gardens and amazing pools. The staff are wonderful and could not do enough for us with special mention to Candra, we will definatley be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina1964_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our first time over to Bali, we stayed 10 nights at Mandira & loved every moment.
Great location, staff very friendly & even better was the pool had just re-opened. What a great set up they have now.
We went looking for a place to get married next year & booked at Mandira.
Food was great, rooms had everything you need. Sercuirity where brilliant also.
we cant say enough great things about this hotel. Cant wait to be back next August for our wedding :)

Room Tip: we moved to a room with a balcony as we like sitting outside to relax also.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayleyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here after a trip to Jimburan. We chose this hotel for 2 main reasons:

Location - after a quiet time in Jimburan we wanted to see some hustle and bustle which made this a perfect location. You can walk to Padma street which is the Main Street and here there are a flurry of restaurants, places to shop for fakes and spas.

Value - this is one of the nicest places in Legihan and half the price. The Padma was double and residence from the hotel wished they chose the mandira.

On arrival we were told to wait for 1 hour as the room was late! We were given lunch and drinks to make up for it (nothing special as all guest were given this as the pool wasn't ready)

We had to move rooms however - the first room was a standard room and the bathroom was old, falling apart and smelt! I spoke to Maria who was lovley and we had an upgrade to a cottage which was lovely.

The adult pool is great, prime location for sun just need to be quick to get seats. The new pool is more for kids but a good feature.

The options to eat are good and the food isn't too bad for snacking.

Wifi is a bit temperamental. Short walk to the beach which is nice (50k for a sun bed all day).

Pros - location, price, space, adult pool, overall staff.

Cons - busy hotel, basic rooms are not as good as I hoped, Mosquitos everywhere!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indus_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just got back from an absolutely wonderful stay at this hotel. I highly recommend it.

The location is amazing as it's right between Kuta and Seminyak. Gives you access to both within walking distance. The beach behind the hotel (30 second walk) is the same beach as Kuta/Seminyak and is amazing. Crazy waves just 10 meters from shore, great sun.

The service of the hotel staff was outstanding as well. We had multiple strange requests due to items we didn't have (such as nail polish remover) and in every instance the hotel staff found the item we wanted and gave it to us for free.

We also needed a late check out because we had a flight at 9pm. The staff simply asked us "how late do you want to check out" and accommodated a very late check out for us at no additional charge.

We enjoyed a multi-hour spa treatment as well while at the hotel, and while I must say it's much more expensive than spa treatments just outside the hotel (I saw $4 an hour massages), however the quality is VERY high and the price still lower than any massage you can get in America or Europe.

The one downside is I would describe the food at the hotel as average. Since the pool was being renovated, dinner was served free of charge to all. This was a nice gesture to make up for the pool being down, however the food was nothing special. Was it horrible? No. However it is significantly below the flavor you can get at good restaurants around the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wrstling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As first time travellers to Bali, my husband and I had a great time staying at the Bali Mandira. The new pool wasn't finished but we knew that when we booked - no drama, there were two other pools to enjoy. The gardens are lovely and the rooms spacious. The staff are wonderful and looked after our every need, nothing was too much trouble. The location was great and we look forward to returning with our children!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadster2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Well for the poor / shortcomings first, we were very disappointed in the new pool not finishing as promised ( a big reason for us to book here!). We understand there can be delays, but it's how the hotel dealt with this was disappointing....down right bad! The complimentary evening buffet was NOT good enough, in fact it was plainly poor quality and narrow in range. Second, another issue with the buildings going on was the access to both pools... a real problem for those amongst us not able to climb like monkeys ....steps, steps and more steps....Pse time to get ramps, especially to the infinity pool ( I assume it is staying?). Also the noise and dust, especially for those who pay quite a bit more for club benefits, we could not sit outside on most Happy Hrs. As for the club ...really it's NOT WORTH IT...... you can get a good drink in a friendly pub around the corner at a much cheaper privacy and not suffer the noise and dust. The hotel is tired, lost of paving needs replacing and rooms need a little bit of upkeep. The hotel can not expect to raise prices or consider themselves " up to speed" on the basis of the new pool alone! .....
For the good....the staff, especially the service staff, they all deserve awards ... they were brilliant. All smiles and helpful, thanks to one and all of you ( ESP the breakfast staff at the parasol). The gardens are beautiful and well kept, the "feel" of the place is wonderful. Obviously the location is perfect for beach and surfing and access to shopping, spas, etc, etc
All in all a good holiday let down by a few avoidable shortcomings

Room Tip: Don't bother with the club, really get more value around the corner at a pub or resto
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waikikitim21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.1 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#14 of 87 in Legian
2,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 87 in Legian
5,788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
1.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Padma No. 2, Kuta, Legian 80362, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Legian
#4 Business Hotel in Legian
#5 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#6 Spa Hotel in Legian
#7 Luxury Hotel in Legian
Price Range: $150 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid landscaped gardens with palm trees, a relaxed resort, simplicity and touched with local warmth and charms. located right to the Beach and within walking distance to all that Legian and Seminyak is famous for, excellent shopping, traditional art markets, trendy restaurants and beach clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Mandira Beach Hotel Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Resort And Spa
Bali Mandira Beach Legian
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing