We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something grand, tranqil and different”
Review of La Villa Mathis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Villa Mathis
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had a wonderful 3 nights at this boutique hotel. The rooms and grounds were absolutely beyond beautiful. A clever and opulent mix of French and Balinese culture, cuisine and design. The hotel was very quite. The staff were friendly but sometimes hard to find. The only problem we had was that the bed was too hard. Both my Husband and I have bad backs and it made it a little hard to sleep. The third night the staff moved us to another room where the bed was more comfortable. Both rooms were excellent. I just loved doing morning yoga in the amazing outdoor bathroom. Loved the privacy of the rooms.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with firmer mattresses let the staff know.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynleeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
There are newer reviews for La Villa Mathis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 615 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

>I spent a week holidaying at Villa Mathis the resort is wonderful both my husband and i had such a relaxing time, the staff team you have were so good caring for us, everything was done so well in an atmosphere of rest and relaxation, even to having beds made and turned down at night we never saw the staff who did this! But it was always don so well ,
> We had a romantic evening dinner which was way beyond what I expected a memory made that we will treasure, Your Restaurant and Bar staff made us feel as if we were friends and we looked forward to returning to the Villa each day after our tours, We loved the fact that there were no TVs Telephones or clocks (please never change this) it is perfect just the way it is,
> I felt relaxed and at home all the time we spent in the Villa Mathis, the rooms are so lovely and I loved the private outdoor bathrooms it soon became natuarl to shower or bath in the open air as privacy is asured,
> We really do hope and plan to return and visit again, I will be telling everyone about "The Villa Mathis " leaving was sad
> Thank You for offering us a place to relax, recoup, and enjoy life

Room Tip: Every room is different at the Villa and all offer a comfortable relaxing rest. I would only suggest...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Beautifull hotel with a special concept. Each room is just amazing and you feel really relaxed and away from the noise and the crowd witch is just what I wanted after touring in Indonesia for 2 weeks. Excellent spa, great stone massage nice breakfast and restaurant. I highly recommand this beautiful Relais & Chateaux!!!!!

Room Tip: All the villas are extremely nice and well decorated.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqueline237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently hired out the entire property (18 rooms) for a weekend away with our closest friends for our wedding. Everyone was very impressed by the beautiful property and quality of service. Since we had the entire place I was able to visit most of the rooms and although they are not particularly my style, the decor is of a high standard and the central areas of each villa are beautiful. My only criticism would be that some of the bathrooms need a little sprucing up.
That said, I can't emphasize enough how charming the place is and how lovely and attentive the staff and villa manager were. It was magical. A truly memorable event.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventurists_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our new family (4 month old) enjoyed a relaxing week here, culminating in one of the most beautiful and enjoyable weddings we have attended. The villas step down (linked with stepping stones) through lush, private greenery, each with its own pool and communal lounge area and hosting, on a rotating basis, afternoon tea for all guests. The elegant restaurant offers a small but diverse selection of delectable Balinese and European dishes and we have fond memories of breakfast nasi/mie goreng and crepes. Dinner was equally delicious. The menu and drinks list are both in English and French: there is a wide range of excellently executed cocktails and some very desirable French wines (remember to request Champagne at least 2 hours before you would like it)! A number of tours and traveling options are offered by the Villa: we took the opportunity to visit Kintamani overlooking an active volcano and Ubud as well as the on request shuttle to Seminyak. However, we often found ourselves content to stay, resting within the luxurious surrounds -occasionally in the spa, our few needs easily met by the gracious, attentive and considerate staff and thoughtful owners.

Room Tip: For those with littlies, a villa close to the restaurant will mean your baby monitor is well within...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryCityGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno-Villa-Mathis, Director of Sales at La Villa Mathis, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2017

“Thank you for choosing MATHIS Collection, as you know when you combine our 2 properties MATHIS Retreat Ubud and Villa MATHIS Umalas, enjoy the HAPPY MATHIS with FREE benefits:
For a minimum of 3 nights each: Transfer inter hotel, Massage of 60min facing the ricefields & Romantic candlelight dinner in our tropical gardens.
Other advantages for longer stays as cooking class, day tours, … -Do not hesitate to ask us!
Enjoy also our unique concept of LIBERTY PASS, Any night booked can be swapped, without fee, to another hotel of Mathis Collection. For a 100% Freedom on holidays!

Thank you for your confidence and see you soon in Paradise!”

MATHIS Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Quite a different experience, the villas are beautiful, staff very professional, dinners around the Vila nice touch, we were there just to rest after working in Bali for several weeks. The resort is well hidden in lovely gardens, the philosophy is to share the common areas, which was fine with us, but if you want a lot of privacy then this may not be for you. We thought the restaurant could offer a few more choices, although we did enjoy what we had

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno-Villa-Mathis, Director of Sales at La Villa Mathis, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2017

“Thank you for choosing MATHIS Collection, as you know when you combine our 2 properties MATHIS Retreat Ubud and Villa MATHIS Umalas, enjoy the HAPPY MATHIS with FREE benefits:
For a minimum of 3 nights each: Transfer inter hotel, Massage of 60min facing the ricefields & Romantic candlelight dinner in our tropical gardens.
Other advantages for longer stays as cooking class, day tours, … -Do not hesitate to ask us!
Enjoy also our unique concept of LIBERTY PASS, Any night booked can be swapped, without fee, to another hotel of Mathis Collection. For a 100% Freedom on holidays!

Thank you for your confidence and see you soon in Paradise!”

MATHIS Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I purchased this accommodation through a deal and I am so glad we did. It has been the perfect trip to Bali. This villa run by a lovely French couple is like an oasis hideaway in Bali. It is only a short drive to Seminyak so it is easy to see Bali but while you are here you feel secluded from the hustle and bustle. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The villas are gorgeous and you are able to use any of the three of the pools. Very green and luxurious. Would love to have a wedding here which we did see when we arrived. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno-Villa-Mathis, Director of Sales at La Villa Mathis, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2017

“Thank you for choosing MATHIS Collection, as you know when you combine our 2 properties MATHIS Retreat Ubud and Villa MATHIS Umalas, enjoy the HAPPY MATHIS with FREE benefits:
For a minimum of 3 nights each: Transfer inter hotel, Massage of 60min facing the ricefields & Romantic candlelight dinner in our tropical gardens.
Other advantages for longer stays as cooking class, day tours, … -Do not hesitate to ask us!
Enjoy also our unique concept of LIBERTY PASS, Any night booked can be swapped, without fee, to another hotel of Mathis Collection. For a 100% Freedom on holidays!

Thank you for your confidence and see you soon in Paradise!”

MATHIS Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerobokan
1.0 mi away
Kokonut Suites
Kokonut Suites
#3 of 35 in Kerobokan
661 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Balisani Suites
Grand Balisani Suites
#8 of 35 in Kerobokan
687 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 38 in Canggu
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
0.3 mi away
The Santai
The Santai
#5 of 35 in Kerobokan
147 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Styles Bali Petitenget
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Mathis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Mathis

Address: Jl. Bumbak no. 81 | Banjar Anyar, Kerobokan, Indonesia (Formerly La Villa Mathis "Relais & Chateaux")
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kerobokan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kerobokan
Price Range: $96 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Villa Mathis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is a truly Boutique Hotel set in 11.000 M2 of tropical gardens, 4 pools, a dedicated Spa, a bar and a Restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Owned and managed by Western European professionals, "Villa Mathis" consists of 4 beautiful and very unique villas, between North African "Riad" and "Lodge". We do offers a very personalized welcome to any of our hosts, to soak in the best atmosphere and refined of the island of the Gods, Bali. Each villa has a pool, a lobby including a dining room set in a tropical landscaped garden. Our 18 "Deluxe" rooms (from 50 m2) all different by their style and design, including an open bathroom with separated bath and shower, air conditioning, safety deposit box, hairdryer, bathrobes, and a personalized selection of bathroom amenities especially created for us. Decorative handicraft materials, traditional as well local furniture with a touch of Slave influence. Upstairs bedrooms have a large mezzanine that can be used as a second bedroom or a day bed, ideal for a child or simply for yourself Complimentary internet connection bu Wi-fi thru all the property, complimentary shuttle service everyday from 10am to 6pm to Petitenget/Seminyak (drop off only). Each villa can be privatized for groups or families (4 and 5 bedrooms villas) as well organization of events as weddings, celebrations, ephemera dinners in any occasion. "Villa Mathis" is part of Mathis Collection, including as well our sister property located in Ubud, "Mathis Retreat" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Villa Mathis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Mathis Hotel Kerobokan
La Hotel Umalas
La Hotel Mathis
La Villa Mathis Bali/Kerobokan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing