We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Villa Mathis
Nearby Hotels
Grand Balisani Suites(Kerobokan)(Great Value!)
$59
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Kayu Raja(Kerobokan)(Great Value!)
$105
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Adma Umalas(Kerobokan)(Great Value!)
$33
$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green Zhurga Suites(Kerobokan)(Great Value!)
$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pandawa All Suite Hotel(Kerobokan)(Great Value!)
$37
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lokha Umalas Villas & Spa(Kerobokan)(Great Value!)
$137
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Uppala Villa Seminyak(Kerobokan)(Great Value!)
$72
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Putu Bali Villa and Spa(Kerobokan)(Great Value!)
$44
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$16
$15
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Andaman(Kerobokan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
649 results
Traveler rating
475
105
35
16
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
105
35
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbalinese artboutique hoteltropical paradiseromantic settingswimming poolwonderful stayour honeymoonthe hustle and bustlebravoweddingconceptvillabintanseminyakviviserenitybathtub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 649 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Wonderful place to spend nice and quiet holidays.
We stayed 5 days there and it was just magic! We had a bungalow situated in the villa 'les rizières' and we enjoyed the garden, the swimmingpool and the peacefull atmosphere. Inside the bungalow, we appreciated the interior design very much. We had the feeling to be in a fairy tale! So romantic! All the employees were very helpful and nice. The only noises we heard, was the geiko and the birds :-). Every evening we had dinner in another villa, which was a very good idea. We had a lot of choices of different meals (local + international). The starters as well as the main courses were excellent but the desserts were not as expected (chocolate mousse and vanilla ice cream). But this changed nothing to the high quality of the goods.
We will certainly keep this address in our contact list and will give it to our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mojito_Master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had our wedding here at Villa Mathis and the whole experience was amazing. Bruno and his staff were so accommodating in all areas. It was a real team effort to get everything ready and they went so far out of their way to make sure everything was perfect.
Thank you so much Villa Mathis. We will never forget you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Villa Mathis. The villas are simply amazing. The rooms are large, well laid out and beautifully furnished. When I arrived the bath had been filled with water and frangipani flowers – a very welcoming sight. The grounds surrounding the villas are well looked after and at night time the trees are full of lit lanterns – giving the villas a romantic and relaxing atmosphere. There are a number of swimming pools to visit and there are always plenty of fresh towels available and lounge chairs to recline in. The staff are friendly and attentive and will do their best to ensure you are happy and enjoying your stay. I would definitely recommend staying at Villa Mathis – it is a very impressive hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makarla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was my 12th trip to Bali and I have never experienced a hotel like La Villa Mathis.
I wanted to get away from the hussle & bussle of Bali and relax for 7/8 days, so I chose this hotel in the rice paddies. I was not disappointed. What made our trip were the staff at the hotel - from the gardeners to the waiters. Everyone was so lovely.
The hotel was AMAZING and the concept of swimming, dining & relaxing in any one of the villas, although foreign at first, was soon second nature and provided more than enough options to keep any guest satisfied.
I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to all my family and friends.

Room Tip: Not all hotel rooms have twin bed option - so make sure you book early and specify tha tyou wish for 2 beds
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed 7 nights at La Villa Mathis in October 2012 on a Scoopon voucher I purchased back in February 2012 and had the greatest vacation we could have hoped for.
We were also not treated any differently for using a voucher.

Our room/villa was called Timor, which was situated at Les Jardin D'Hiver. We didn't really explore the other villas so we can't really compare, but we both thought our villa was the best. The only complaint was from my partner that there was no TV. But it's understandable, it's a villa, a place of relaxation. (We are not the type that likes to relax and laze about doing nothing, we get bored easily, but we still thoroughly enjoyed this place and it's serenity.)

People have complained about the outdoorsy bath area and its lack of privacy, so that was a concern of ours before arriving, but seriously, the walls are high enough,and there are banana trees and bamboos that grow high enough to shade the top which creates the most natural & peaceful atmosphere. As weird and funny as this may sound, during our stay there we have both actually said to one another, "Sitting on the loo was so peaceful! I have never enjoyed sitting on the toilet until now."

On our first night, we found our bath tub already filled up and sprinkled with red petals, which was a lovely touch,

Service was excellent. Yes, there are no phones in the rooms, but we had a butler who basically lives outside our room and is readily available to serve us upon request at any given time.

There is room service twice a day.

They provide free shuttle/taxi services from the villa to Seminyak daily until 6pm.(10-15 minute drive with traffic)

There is free wifi, although, it's very patchy.

Breakfast is free daily. You get a choice of an American Breakfast or an Indonesian Breakfast.
Our favourite dish on their menu was their Penne Carbonara. We found their prices very reasonable.

Dining by the pool in their lovely gardens was very romantic and enjoyable and we looked forward to it every morning and night.

Our butlers were very humble and we were treated like royals. Staffs at front desk were also very lovely.

Check-out is at midday at La Villa Mathis, but our flight was at 10pm. We were told we could leave our luggage at reception and still hang around and use any of their facilities, just not the room because it needed to be made up. We were already grateful for that, but just before midday came, as we were about to vacate our room, a lovely gentlemen from reception came down and told us not to worry about checking out, and that we could stay in the room until 6pm! A very late check-out!

We are so impressed with your hospitality and putting our comfort & needs first.

Thank you so much for the lovely experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno-Villa-Mathis, Director of Sales at La Villa Mathis, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2017

“Thank you for choosing MATHIS Collection, as you know when you combine our 2 properties MATHIS Retreat Ubud and Villa MATHIS Umalas, enjoy the HAPPY MATHIS with FREE benefits:
For a minimum of 3 nights each: Transfer inter hotel, Massage of 60min facing the ricefields & Romantic candlelight dinner in our tropical gardens.
Other advantages for longer stays as cooking class, day tours, … -Do not hesitate to ask us!
Enjoy also our unique concept of LIBERTY PASS, Any night booked can be swapped, without fee, to another hotel of Mathis Collection. For a 100% Freedom on holidays!

Thank you for your confidence and see you soon in Paradise!”

MATHIS Collection Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews