We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Paradise”
Review of La Villa Mathis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa Mathis
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tropical Paradise”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa MathisThe layout of the villa with the different Pavillions and swimming pools with attached gardens means that you are able to find a secluded spot anytime. The gardens are magnifcent giving the place a totally relaxing and genuine Bali experience.The winding paths added to the feel of being in someones private estate.
There are a couple of aspects that need some work-the bed was a bit firm for us, the spa was not up to Bali standards and the food could be improved in range and quality.Glasses would be good in the pavillions
However we plan on returning as the staff were attentive, the atmosphere wonderful. We hope to return with friends as this is an ideal set up for groups but if you are looking for a typical 5* resort this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griffin1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno-Villa-Mathis, Guest Relations Manager at La Villa Mathis, responded to this review, January 21, 2017
“Thank you for choosing MATHIS Collection, as you know when you combine our 2 properties MATHIS Retreat Ubud and Villa MATHIS Umalas, enjoy the HAPPY MATHIS with FREE benefits:
For a minimum of 3 nights each: Transfer inter hotel, Massage of 60min facing the ricefields & Romantic candlelight dinner in our tropical gardens.
Other advantages for longer stays as cooking class, day tours, … -Do not hesitate to ask us!
Enjoy also our unique concept of LIBERTY PASS, Any night booked can be swapped, without fee, to another hotel of Mathis Collection. For a 100% Freedom on holidays!

Thank you for your confidence and see you soon in Paradise!”

MATHIS Collection Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    100
    32
    16
    15
See reviews for
100
353
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We purchased our voucher from scoopon and the value was amazing. On arrival we were greeted by the manager and shown around the property. It was breathe takingly beautiful. Our room/villa was Komodo and simply wonderful. our experience was amazing the staff could not be more helpful and the whole holiday was relaxing and refreshing. At the end of the day any holiday is what you make it but being in these beautiful surroundings does help. Thank you for the experience. Greg and Karen

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno-Villa-Mathis, Director of Sales at La Villa Mathis, responded to this review, January 21, 2017
“Thank you for choosing MATHIS Collection, as you know when you combine our 2 properties MATHIS Retreat Ubud and Villa MATHIS Umalas, enjoy the HAPPY MATHIS with FREE benefits:
For a minimum of 3 nights each: Transfer inter hotel, Massage of 60min facing the ricefields & Romantic candlelight dinner in our tropical gardens.
Other advantages for longer stays as cooking class, day tours, … -Do not hesitate to ask us!
Enjoy also our unique concept of LIBERTY PASS, Any night booked can be swapped, without fee, to another hotel of Mathis Collection. For a 100% Freedom on holidays!

Thank you for your confidence and see you soon in Paradise!”

MATHIS Collection Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The couple who were having their wedding in Bali booked the entire property for the guests. I arrived after dark (7ish PM). At first glance, the room was nice: Fancy canopied bed, bath tub with rose petals, and the rooms (in Maison Rouge) look like cute little cottages.

However, after staying in there for 3 nights and having visited a few other villas on the same property ("Les Jardins d'Hiver" and Ricefield), I feel like I totally got ripped off. The complaints:

1) My room was so poorly lit: They're probably going for the relaxing ambiance and what not, but I'd really appreciate the OPTION of "normal/ regular" lighting my room (for reading or whatever)!
2) The only mirror in the room was in the bathroom, which was hung so high for an average Asian that I could barely see my neck. How on earth was I expected to put on makeup, and check my overall outfit before leaving for the wedding? (The dim lighting didn't help either.)
3) There was no water when I got back to the villa at around midnight during my 2nd night there. The water did come back ~30 mins later, which I later found out was due to complaints from other guests.
4) There was no intercom/ phone which connects one room to another, or to the front desk. If you need anything, you'd need to walk out of your room (and even all the way to the front desk) to ask.

I expected more from a villa whose room costs ~USD 200/ night.

The good? Well, most of the staff were helpful and friendly. I find this (great service) to be a recurring theme in Bali.

The other villas (at least the two which I've visited) within Villa Mathis seem more modern and aligned with my expectations. Perhaps I'm just not the "rustic" kind of gal. Disappointed I was.

Room Tip: Avoid Maison Rouge (Red House)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meldoremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prizzo, Owner at La Villa Mathis, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment, indeed as you said clearly in your mail, I think that you must feel more comfortable in modern and minimalist atmosphere than in our tropical property. From the beginning, we regret the huge development on the island of the modern and minimalist influence totally disconnected of the culture and the traditions of this beautiful island, the danger is of course that Bali could loose its roots with these untasty buildings (to please to the biggest market of asian tourists). Villa Mathis want to give back a real feeling of the beauty of Bali, its architecture, decoration, pushing the gardens a maximum to give a felling of relax and quietness to all our guests. To be honest, we are very glad to take this way already 7 years ago and most of our guests are very happy of this particular atmosphere we gave to our peaceful place.
May be when you will travel more in the future your expectations will be different than plasma screen and marble floors in your room, at this time you will be ready to come back to us and really appreciate the real essence of travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Apparently,awarded Trip Advisor winner, 2012, but we wonder how! Also recently awarded the coveted Relais and Chateaux rating, which is why we booked, but like other reviewers we found it anything but. Very French and most visitors are French. Think decadent French decorator styling, complete with chandeliers, and chiffon bed canopies, combined with traditional grass roofed huts- if you can! Each room or villa is different, some much better than others, so you can get lucky,but all are quirky with odd touches such as putting the toilet and shower outside on open (and not entirely private!) balcony. Unsuitable for the frail or children, due to terrain and architectural safety issues and poor lighting at night.
As with other recent Australian guests, they also completely messed up our booking. Having booked and paid for 4 nights 8 months prior, only 2 days before we were due to arrive we were told they were overbooked and we would not be able to stay there for the 1st 2 nights as they had a wedding on. After much emailing to and fro, they did organise us a good alternative . However, while enjoying a quiet dinner on arrival on day 3 we were accosted by the owner and told that we would have to move into another room for day 4 due to (guess what!) another wedding! So our planned 4 day holiday rest ended up requiring 2 separate hotels, and 3 lots of packing! Agree with other reviewers that transfer charges are also ridiculously high.
Good points? Good food and helpful,caring (if embarrassed at how many guests were being treated!) staff.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in Maison Rouge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My partner and I spent a week here after purchasing a groupon deal. Let me say first the hotel was amazing, beautiful and the number of pools made it so you could almost always have a pool to yourself. The food was good (breakfast was amazing) but it would have been nice if they changed up the menu once and awhile after just a few days there we had to start venturing to town as we were getting sick of the same choices. On our first day there we were put in a lovely room after being shown around the property by the manager. They had drawn a bath in the outside tub for us and there were fresh flowers everywhere. One problem though... no hot water. Now when it is an outside bathroom in the heat, no hot water isn't the end of the world, but try shaving your legs with goosebumps, or taking a bath in freezing water, and you will want at least a little warm water. So day 2 we tell them twice we have no hot water and both times we are told they are going to fix it. I told them then a there that they could move us if they are unable to fix it. Then day 3... still nothing and 2 more complaints later we keep getting told they are going to fix it. Finally on day 4 when we have to approach the manager and 2 more complaints later they final move us to another room which... whoo hoo has hot water. 2 days there and we were asked to move to another room as a big group was coming in. Totally fine with me, until low and behold our new room has no water at all... 2 days of asking to fix it (both days it was fixed, but took at least 2 hours for each) which the last days was very difficult as we were trying to leave to make it to the airport and wanted a shower before 24 hours of traveling and had to go back to ask them to do something 3 times before we got it. Ok so no water, that wouldn't ruin someone's trip, but we did also have 2 excursions booked with them that were over an hour late each. We went to the zoo at night and were told 4:00 leave time, then when we showed up they said it didn't start till 4:30 and then at that time they were going to be late and finally showed up a little after 5:00. As it was the zoo who sent the driver, I can't blame the hotel for them being late, but being told the wrong start time was annoying. Then the next day we wake up to take a tour of Ubud and sit there for over an hour as the hotel only ordered one tour that day and another couple who showed up after us to get their tour took the first car. We kept asking the guy at the front desk where our tour car was and just keep waiting and waiting. He said he called five times, but surprisingly 5 min after I saw him make the 2nd call someone showed up since they were never told to send 2 cars. It just stinks having to get up early or leave the pool early and then sit in the lobby for an hour waiting for something to happen.

All of that being said, some of the employees that work in the bar/restaurant are wonderful and were always so helpful and so happy to see you. One recommendation, if you sit around the property and not in the restaurant you get better service. Also the massage area is nice, but if you walk 5 min down the road you can get a massage for a 5th the price. I would probably go back to this hotel, but would hope that would fix a few things first. For all of the things we went through we never got anything, not even an apology which would honestly have made this review a lot nicer. Customer service goes a long way and sets your mood for your trip, not being able to take a shower 5 out of the 7 days we were there is just unacceptable.

Room Tip: We loved all of the rooms we stayed in, but as soon as there is a problem with one be sure to go to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveyah14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prizzo, Propriétaire at La Villa Mathis, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your message, I notice that you enjoyed the property and despite more than 1 page of comments you will may be coming back. Your problem was about hot water, the engineering worked on it, but we had to break a wall to fix it, it took little bit time, as soon as another room was available we moved you, we (and you) were in very bad luck because in another place of the property a pump bringing the water from the drill (it’s mechanic and the water coming from the ground – not like in large cities where you just push on a button) and you new room was connected to this pump, unfortunately. Wilfrid our manager crossed you few times taking care of your past problem and you were enthousiastic, so for us the problem was over and you enjoyed your stay. Everywhere and every day all over the world in the Hotels –especially in tropical conditions like us, the hoteliers get these problems, on our side and from last year, the fact that we have very high level of occupancy make these problems more complicated for us because most of time as we are full, it’s impossible to move directly the guests to another room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and i have just returned after a quick 3 night get away brought with a ouffer coupon. After much worrying aboout what we would actually get i have to say what an amazing experiance. From the amazing rooms to the fantastic staff . We would have no problems recomending this villa or going back. Simply perfect .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Della G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The rooms are small, smelly and old! The kitchen located downstairs is a disgrace and un-kept. This properly is NOT a luxury villa but more like a 3 star hotel. Although the pools are lovely, the rooms are terrible; the staff are un-trained and rather sleazy and rude. on numerous occasions we were told by staff to pack up our things and leave the pool/lounge area in order for them to clean up although this could have easily be done without us needing to leave.

Why we hated our stay:
- You share all the pools with other hotel guests. There are no private villas

-Service is terrible - I waited 15 minutes to receive a towel

-continuous wi-fi issues.

-rooms were dusty to the point where I needed to use the bathroom towels to clean up the dust

-there were frogs in the down stairs shower at the "red" villa

-I went to use the toilet in the "white" villa and found urine all over the seat and floor. I asked nearby staff to clean this however this was not done until I advised the owners wife about this

-at breakfast I asked the staff whether they stocked any herbal tea (peppermint) which they told me no. On our 2nd last day I discovered that in t menu that they in fact stocked peppermint tea although their staff had no idea what it even was.

although this place has huge potential it is the staff and the shaggy old rooms that really put it down.

Room Tip: the new rooms are located on the left of the main swimming pool (away from the restaurant). these ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mytravelreview49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerobokan
1.0 mi away
The One Boutique Villa
The One Boutique Villa
#2 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
13.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#25 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kokonut Suites
Kokonut Suites
#3 of 35 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Santai
The Santai
#6 of 35 in Kerobokan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 35 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
1.1 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Mathis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Mathis

Property: La Villa Mathis
Address: Jl. Bumbak no. 81 | Banjar Anyar, Kerobokan, Indonesia (Formerly La Villa Mathis "Relais & Chateaux")
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kerobokan
#1 Spa Hotel in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Villa Mathis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is a truly Boutique Hotel set in 11.000 M2 of tropical gardens, 4 pools, a dedicated Spa, a bar and a Restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Owned and managed by Western European professionals, "Villa Mathis" consists of 4 beautiful and very unique villas, between North African "Riad" and "Lodge". We do offers a very personalized welcome to any of our hosts, to soak in the best atmosphere and refined of the island of the Gods, Bali. Each villa has a pool, a lobby including a dining room set in a tropical landscaped garden. Our 18 "Deluxe" rooms (from 50 m2) all different by their style and design, including an open bathroom with separated bath and shower, air conditioning, safety deposit box, hairdryer, bathrobes, and a personalized selection of bathroom amenities especially created for us. Decorative handicraft materials, traditional as well local furniture with a touch of Slave influence. Upstairs bedrooms have a large mezzanine that can be used as a second bedroom or a day bed, ideal for a child or simply for yourself Complimentary internet connection bu Wi-fi thru all the property, complimentary shuttle service everyday from 10am to 6pm to Petitenget/Seminyak (drop off only). Each villa can be privatized for groups or families (4 and 5 bedrooms villas) as well organization of events as weddings, celebrations, ephemera dinners in any occasion. "Villa Mathis" is part of Mathis Collection, including as well our sister property located in Ubud, "Mathis Retreat" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your La Villa Mathis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Mathis Hotel Kerobokan
La Hotel Umalas
La Hotel Mathis
La Villa Mathis Bali/Kerobokan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing