We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“four days at Villa mathis”
Review of La Villa Mathis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa Mathis
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We have just spent four days at Villa Mathis , and on the whole it was a wonderful experience. The staff were amazing, and it was so lovely to hear about their lives. I think Westerners could learn from them . Our room was quite small and not enough space for clothes , but our biggest gripe was the food which was very poor , no choice for a simple meal well cooked and without the spices/chillies and unwanted extras. We still loved it there , and if we ever wanted to come back to Bali which we don't think we do , we would stay there . 3rd May 2012

Room Tip: ask about clothes storage, choose largest villa. Villa Gia has good size private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 632 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

When is a booking not a booking wellthat is easy at Villa Mathis that is certainly the case.

We booked 8 months prior, we then went to the propoerty on an earlier trip to Bali 1 month prior to the booking and visited the property ,all in order.

We then called 3 days before the booking to check if all ok, "of course it is" then we book in and are allocated a room.
We go out and when we return we are told that we can stay in teh room we are in and then we will have to move room as they have a wedding.
Clearly this property thinks they can just push clients around like pawns on a chesss board.
So at 7 pm we are having a stand up argument in the lobby, oh I forgot to say that our stay there was our honeymoon so no way we are going to unpack.pack and move.
isolated case I fear not another guest from Australia was there and they booked 8 months prior,then 3 days before they get a call we do not have room for you, well for 8 months you did and then you bump the lowest denominator for guess what, yes you are right another wedding,so this begs the question are you a hotel or a wedding venue.
In the end we moved elsewhere(at their expense) and never to return.

My advice is not to trust this establishment

Room Tip: get it in writing that you will have the same room for your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidvPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prizzo, Propriétaire at La Villa Mathis, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
You used, as many Australian guests, a voucher to spend few days in the property. We decided last year to do it to open our beautiful place to new market, specially the Australian one, sure that they will enjoy it! The success of the offer disturbed us little bit in our booking system – we are from January nearly all the time fully booked – This fact added to few venues (more than the other years) and also the fact that the guests can come in group of friends and privatize a villa is a new challenge to mix for us. So on your arrival we explained to you that it will be necessary to move to another room the day after (fact that we cannot anticipate few weeks in advance) A booking calendar is always moving with cancellations, modifications, etc…so that’s why and in the whole Hotel industry the problem appears in the last minute. So we were only in a problem of allocation of room, not a real problem and we not pushed you out as you seemed to mention. You didn't accepted our compensation and we propose in last solution to find you another villa in the area at our costs…following the rules of the Hotel industry. Your choice was to move to another place instead of changing room in the property.
Our property is totally different than the other common hotels, so by the lay out we don’t have many other choices….but our place is unique and it’s may be the price to pay for us sometimes to make running daily this beautiful place.
In your case, you take the decision by yourself to move to another place, but a room was blocked for you for your whole stay. So we pay the other accommodation and we loose your room which stay empty for the whole stay…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Driving out of Seminyak and following the rice paddies I started to wonder where Villa Mathis was hidden - out in the middle of no where you suddenly come across this hidden away little gem. The entrance is a bit shabby but the greetings from the beautiful receptionist soon make you forget the environmental impressions. As per usual the Balinese staff and their manager Wil, could not have been more welcoming. Once you pass the reception area, its a real OMG! just like the brochures.The rooms are just lovely, the concept was not something i could have imagined. Each room is different and each is something special - be prepared for no fridge or telephone or television or wifi. The place is definetly not suitable for children. If you require anything you may have to walk to find some one to assist you. The food is great, massages, manicures and pedicures are reasonably priced for a boutique hotel. The down side is ....you need to be prepared to change rooms as often and whenever you are told. We did get upset with the owner after having witnessed a very angry woman demanding rooms we had family located in. Her behaviour was witnessed by many of us as she was loud and a bully and we were cross that she got her way and felt bad that this made us behave in an angry manner. As Australians we are fairly lay back and accomodating but having to appease a horrible bully did not go down well with us and further more we weren't asked if we would mind we were told it was happening. Following this incident things started to go downhill, a guest complained about noise from our group by the pool (at 9:30pm) so we were told by the owner to leave, I think he was still upset by my earlier comments to him on his poor customer service. I had asked staff to let us know if we were noisy and they didn't think we were a problem. When it was time to check out, nearly all of our accounts had to be queried. The owner controls the accounts and he couldn't be found for some time which created problems - we advised reception in the morning of our afternoon check outs and one of our group waited three hours before anyone could work out his bill - not good. I wont go into great detail here as there were a number of issues with the bill so make sure you give reception plenty of notice and check your account! Overall the villa staff are warm friendly and effecient. The Villa itself is lovely -if you have a back room be careful walking to it in the dark, I tripped on a loose paver and landed in a hole that looked like it was dug to fix a pipe so I ended up with a sprained foot and an infected toe and ankle. Make sure you take a torch at night as its dark. There are some good little restraunts close by and also a really good massage place only five minutes down the road on the way into Seminyak. Staff made our stay special, they catered a birthday dinner barbecue for my son. If you are looking for somewhere remote and quiet and dont mind having to possibly move rooms the place is good. My suggestion would be for the owner to allow his manager more control as this man knows how to treat guests and could possibly be trusted managing accounts too! From an IT perspective the Villa needs to invest in some proper routers for their wifi as they are trying to use indoor equipment out in the open which of course is bound to fail. Overall nice accomodation and quite an experience.

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely Java and Borneo are the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Reynell5162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prizzo, Propriétaire at La Villa Mathis, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your return really positive about our property.
One thing that the guests seem to forget, our lay out I mean a property divided into 4 parts, where it’s possible to privatize one of the part (villa between friends or family) caused sometimes that we have no other choices to switch rooms. In your case you took 9 rooms (so 50% of the hotel) we tried to group your rooms but regarding the other guests already in the hotel when you check in it’s not always easy…The problem of billing is really simple to understand, you asked to us to make separated bills (so around 12 different bills) but never you inform us about where to input the different deposits that we get before, so It’s impossible to make correct invoices without your instructions. Be informed that when you travel in groups, it’s common that you asked the invoices the day before the check in – it’s much easier for you and avoid negotiations at check in when most of the time, the guests are in rush to catch their flight. I was indeed non reachable during 2 hours, laying on a bed hospital to get blood infusion and unable to answer to my handphone…sure that everybody will understand, specially that all the guests know that I reply at all the mails and calls very quickly. Wilfrid is a real appreciate person taking care of the clients and indeed, I drive the company in back office – You can easily understand that 7 years taking care of my clients brought me very nice moments but also many disillusion coming from the attitude of few human beings..But be sure that our only purpose is to give joy and happiness in this beautiful place that we created 7 years with our hands, our heart and a pure spirit! Every guest fell it when he stays in the place…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We expected the worse of this place after reading one or two negative reviews, but were more than pleasantly suprised when we arrived at Villa Mathis for a 3 night stay using an Ouffer voucher!! This is the ultimate place for utter relaxation and a breakaway from the hustle and bustle of everday life. Every aspect of Villa Mathis is exceptionally beautiful - every room and Villa had it's own character, the gardens were lush and green and the pools were well maintained, the staff were always accomodating and friendly and the restaurant, food and drinks were all very well priced and were of great taste!! We would recommend this place to anyone and everyone who is looking to visit Bali for a relaxing breakaway (not ideal for kids though). Seminyak is only 5-10 minutes away, which caters for those who would like to do some shopping and try out a couple of other restaurants, but we were more than happy to stay at the resort and indulge in the cocktails, pools, sunshine and lounging around!! What suprised us the most is that we thought we would receive a lower standard of service or more basic room, given we purchased a discount voucher, but we did not receive this reception or treatment AT ALL during our stay. Do yourself a favour and book into this little piece of Paradise!! *** You won't regret it!!

Room Tip: Villa Jardin d'Hiver and Villa d'Resieres are the better villas and most popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASHLEIGH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Villa Mathis is very relaxing and very beautiful. We loved the hidden places behind hedges, gardens and down jungle pathways with a different exotic destination to be discovered. I experienced 3 different rooms over 12 days in changing circumstances: with 1 girlfriend for 3 nights near the main pool to plan the arrival of 10 other friends when we moved to Villa des Rizieres which became our own private playground and then another villa for a romantic package when my husband arrived. Each place was unique with lovely details, and comfortable 'sprawling' spaces. The staff were wonderful, the food delicious and I was very reluctant to go out, preferring to stay in and be lazy, swimming, reading, massages, pedicures and eating!
I did have some problems with communication and knowing which questions to ask, but we all really loved our stay and will go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We went to La Villa Mathis on a Scoopon deal for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. We met both Bruno and his wife and they were both very nice. We were asked to change rooms during our stay and we were given an extra one hour massage each which was great and we got to stay at a different part of the resort. We enjoyed every aspect of the package and would we do it again?...... yes. We have children and would we take them to the La Villa Mathis? No, this is not a place for children it is definitely a couples retreat. All the staff at this resort were lovely and eager to please. We would especially like to thank Ikomang for his exceptional service. Ikomang made our stay even more special. We also had great service from Ecker and Gusti. I hope the owners of La Villa Mathis appreciate their staff as the resort would not be the resort it is without them. The location may have been 7 or 8 minutes out of Seminyak but with the shuttle service this was not a problem. If there is anything negative it would be that the pool at Villa 2 is murky and there is allot of foliage on the bottom. Internet was an issue, connection at times had a very weak signal. It would have been great to have a fridge in our room. In saying that, there are fridges in a common area for use. Other than that the villas were great.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelDea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed at Villa Mathis for 1 week of our honeymoon at the start of April and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were fantastic and upon booking, Bruno (owner) even warned us that there would be a wedding held at the villa during our stay just in case we wanted to change accommodation. Anyway the wedding guests were completely fine and we didn't mind that there was a bit of noise from the DJ on the wedding night. It was nice to be advised in advance just in case it bothered us!
We LOVED the food at the restaurant - it was delicious and cheap and we regularly had breakfast, luch and dinner there! The continental breakfast was amazing and they provided french toast, crepes and pancakes as well as cereal, fruit, bread, juice and coffee. We had an Ouffer voucher so massages and a balinese dinner were also included and this was great too.
Can't fault anything. We loved the outdoor bathroom and the fact that there were no distractions such as TV or telephone. We would have liked internet in the rooms though but it wasn't far to walk to the pool or restaurant where we had internet reception. The main pool was really murky and had algae around the sides of it, despite being cleaned, but we swam in it everyday and we were fine!
We would definitely go back to this villa but would not recommend it for anyone wanting to be in the heart of the action as there is not much around it. It is a very short taxi ride (10 mins) to Seminyak so is close enough, but was easy for us as we had motorbikes.

Room Tip: Our room was Alor and was lovely (it was fine for us), but I think there are nicer rooms in Villa Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieGirl29Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerobokan
1 mi away
Kokonut Suites
Kokonut Suites
#2 of 34 in Kerobokan
700 reviews
1.1 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
1 mi away
Grand Balisani Suites
Grand Balisani Suites
#8 of 34 in Kerobokan
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
ibis Styles Bali Petitenget
0.2 mi away
The Lokha Umalas Villas & Spa
The Lokha Umalas Villas & Spa
#11 of 34 in Kerobokan
99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Kayu Raja
Villa Kayu Raja
#6 of 34 in Kerobokan
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Mathis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Mathis

Address: Jl. Bumbak no. 81 | Banjar Anyar, Kerobokan, Indonesia (Formerly La Villa Mathis "Relais & Chateaux")
Location: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kerobokan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kerobokan
Price Range: $80 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Villa Mathis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is a truly Boutique Hotel set in 11.000 M2 of tropical gardens, 4 pools, a dedicated Spa, a bar and a Restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Owned and managed by Western European professionals, "Villa Mathis" consists of 4 beautiful and very unique villas, between North African "Riad" and "Lodge". We do offers a very personalized welcome to any of our hosts, to soak in the best atmosphere and refined of the island of the Gods, Bali. Each villa has a pool, a lobby including a dining room set in a tropical landscaped garden. Our 18 "Deluxe" rooms (from 50 m2) all different by their style and design, including an open bathroom with separated bath and shower, air conditioning, safety deposit box, hairdryer, bathrobes, and a personalized selection of bathroom amenities especially created for us. Decorative handicraft materials, traditional as well local furniture with a touch of Slave influence. Upstairs bedrooms have a large mezzanine that can be used as a second bedroom or a day bed, ideal for a child or simply for yourself Complimentary internet connection bu Wi-fi thru all the property, complimentary shuttle service everyday from 10am to 6pm to Petitenget/Seminyak (drop off only). Each villa can be privatized for groups or families (4 and 5 bedrooms villas) as well organization of events as weddings, celebrations, ephemera dinners in any occasion. "Villa Mathis" is part of Mathis Collection, including as well our sister property located in Ubud, "Mathis Retreat" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Villa Mathis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Mathis Hotel Kerobokan
La Hotel Umalas
La Hotel Mathis
La Villa Mathis Bali/Kerobokan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing