We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but may not very convenient in many aspects”
Review of La Villa Mathis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Villa Mathis
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice but may not very convenient in many aspects”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The landscape and physical settings of the villas are beautiful. Room arrangement is artistic and romantic. It is good for a romantic holiday or honeymoon. However, we've found some disadvantages staying here. First, there is no entertainment in the room. I understand that many honeymoon couples may need their own time without distraction. This is just fine for us. Second, there is no fridge in the room. There is one in the common area which is around 50m away. We think this is inconvenient at all. Sometimes, we brought something from outside and wanted to keep for our private consumption but we couldn't put in our room. So, we ended up walking a lot between our room and the fridge. I think if the concept of this hotel is for honeymoon couples, fridges are quite important for them. They may just wake up naked and want to eat something of their own in the fridge. This was impossible for us to do so. Lastly, there is no telephone set in each room; it is in a common area again. Again, this is similar to the reason why I think there should be a fridge in each room. You can't just wake up or spend your own time in your room, and just ring the reception from your own room at all. You need to walk out all the time. Basically, in each room there's nothing but bed and decoration! However, the overall quality of this property is not too bad. Oh...there is no internet in the room. There are wifi spots around the common area of each villa, if you are lucky enough you will have a signal in your room.

Room Tip: If you think you need to use common facilities in each villa such as fridge, phone, internet...ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    100
    32
    16
    15
See reviews for
101
357
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This is a beautiful boutique resort with a very different concept of luxury holidaying.
A group of us arrived at the resort and we were greeted by a friendly French manager (Wilfrid) who offered us a welcome drink and a detailed introduction of the resort.

It is an amazing resort with 4 separate villas and each villa has its own swimming pool and jacuzzi and common area (eg TV, DVD, library, dinning area, fridge). There are around 4-6 rooms in each villa and each room has it's own theme and they are all beautifully decorated. By the way, we love the bathroom and shower which is outdoor (and of course with privacy). We enjoyed the shower and bathing with the sounds of nature. The rooms are all large and one thing we find in common with resorts in Bali is, there is no TV in the room. Why do you need a TV when you are on holidays!! It kills the romance. All the rooms are air conditioned.

The resort provide all meals with complimentary breakfast (our deal included a free 3 course Balinese dinner). First thing we need to do is to decide where we want to have our meal. The staff would set it up for us. We have dined in every villa with different views. None of us were fans of Balinese or Indonesian food and we had out best meals in our trips at Villas Mathis, including the fusion Balinese food.

We could pretty much live in the villa and swim all day.

There is free shuttle to certain areas of Bali (except Kuta).

Staff are extremely friendly and they would go out of steps to help you whatever they can. We were lucky enough to have our stay extended to 5 pm because of our 10 pm flight.

They provide transportation to the airport.

It was such a lovely place and we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

However, I would like to make a few suggestions and comments for the owner if they are reading (as this is still a very new resort)

1. Because Villa Mathis is a large property and there is no phone in the room, we had to walk around the villas to find staff to request service. It may be an idea to install a phone in each room.
2. Bali is a tropical island with high humidity. It may be a good idea to install ceiling fans in the common dining area.
3. There is no hair dryers in the room and it may be a good idea to install toilet paper holders .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prizzo, Propriétaire at La Villa Mathis, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear,

Thank you so much foryour advice, We are really happy that you felt so good amongst us...

About the 3 points you mentionned, May I give my advice?
1/ About the phones, we hesitatedd many times, but I'm sure it will break a part of the quietness of our place, I'm sure you see what mean, so till now we maintan the decision not to put in the rooms, to keep the calm of the property.
2/ the ceiling fans, the roofs are so high that the fans are totaly unefficient. We had also tese 2 last weeks (when you was with s) a ery hotweather unormal fo Bali even in this season. It's quiet wndy and the lobbies have no walls, I 'm sur that the very hot weathr of tis month is the reaon why you mention it, if not it wo't be a problem.
3/ For your infrmation, the rooms have all a hardryer (in a brown pocket under the wash table) as safe, umbrellas and kimonos)


We hope as you said to welcome you again very soon

Best regards

Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Excellent place to stay would definitely stay here again no hesitation , The relaxing peaceful environment is a must when holidaying in Bali, and a big thank you to the staff and grounds-staff who make this villa truly enjoyable thank you

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markbatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Thank you for making our first visit to Bali so memorable. We had a lovely room (Maluku). The entire place was kept exceptionally clean. The welcome tour provided a great insight into the property and was greatly appreciated. I would like to particularly make comment on the groundsmen and the housekeeping staff. They really do a fantastic job.
I would also like to take this opportunity to thank "Arieska" (I hope I have spelt it correctly) in reception for the wonderful service she provided.

Although La Villa Mathis is located a little out of the way, obtaining a taxi is very easy and they do have good knowledge of the area in regards to resturants that are close by if you did not want to eat every night in the Villa.

The only thing that could possibly improve the stay would be to make available a small icebox/refridgerator in the room. Even if this provided as an 'extra'.

My interpretation of an English speaker driver/guide is obviously different to what was provided. Yes our driver did speak English (sort of) and drove but a guide he was not!

Would I recommend La Villa Mathis again? Yes definitely!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank This_is_Kawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Really nice place. Staff are lovely. If we were to come back to Bali, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojonterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

If you're into interior decoration, this is the place to go! It's a pleasure to walk around and discover every angle of this hotel complex with four differently decorated "villas". The concept is very original: Find your preferred swimming pool to spend the day, then find your preferred spot for dining and they will set up your table right there.
The only thing not that perfect is the service, which is better in other balinese places of this price range (slow service, staff not very present).
But still, this place is very much worth a visit, especially for romantic people, and we definitely will come back!

Room Tip: If you have a hard time to sleep with street noise, ask for the ricefield villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaSt2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prizzo, Propriétaire at La Villa Mathis, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comments and we are really happy that you appreciated so much our property. I just want here again remind to all our guests that the property has more than 13.000m2, you can eat, drink or take a massage in the whole property (I don't know another place like that in Bali, even in Asia) All our guests are definitiveely charmed by this unique concept of totaly freedom, of course it can brings sometimes that the service is slower than somewherelse, it's the price to pay to have a such unique and succesfull concept like Villa Mathis developped for 6 years already.

We hope to welcome you again very soon,

Kind regards

Bruno & Lilka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This place was the first I had stayed in in Bali and I am sad that every other one will probably feel second class in comparison. It was perfect in just about every way - most specifically the way the place was designed aesthetically to have beautiful areas to relax, eat or swim with privacy whenever you wanted to. Day beds, pools and gorgeous pavilions were cleverly located everywhere - you could choose where you wanted to eat under the stars each night in areas covered with bell lights. Our 'butler' was amazing and the level of service uniformly excellent.
The room was furnished in an exotic and traditional style with lovely round bath filled with flower petals.. Perhaps I have not stayed at many lavish locations, but the beauty and charm of this place was about more than being expensive. Many thanks to the Villa for making a holiday that I was unsure about into an experience to repeat.

Also October is a beautiful time of the year to travel to Bali - not too hot and lovely breezes... Our day trip with driver was wonderful too...highly recommend this as a way of getting to see more of the island..

Room Tip: I can't imagine they have a bad room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JannLeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerobokan
1.0 mi away
Kokonut Suites
Kokonut Suites
#3 of 35 in Kerobokan
614 reviews
1.1 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
13.8 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#28 of 198 in Ubud
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 35 in Canggu
747 reviews
1.0 mi away
The One Boutique Villa
The One Boutique Villa
#2 of 143 in Seminyak
343 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Kayu Raja
Villa Kayu Raja
#5 of 35 in Kerobokan
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Mathis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Mathis

Property: La Villa Mathis
Address: Jl. Bumbak no. 81 | Banjar Anyar, Kerobokan, Indonesia (Formerly La Villa Mathis "Relais & Chateaux")
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kerobokan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Villa Mathis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is a truly Boutique Hotel set in 11.000 M2 of tropical gardens, 4 pools, a dedicated Spa, a bar and a Restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Owned and managed by Western European professionals, "Villa Mathis" consists of 4 beautiful and very unique villas, between North African "Riad" and "Lodge". We do offers a very personalized welcome to any of our hosts, to soak in the best atmosphere and refined of the island of the Gods, Bali. Each villa has a pool, a lobby including a dining room set in a tropical landscaped garden. Our 18 "Deluxe" rooms (from 50 m2) all different by their style and design, including an open bathroom with separated bath and shower, air conditioning, safety deposit box, hairdryer, bathrobes, and a personalized selection of bathroom amenities especially created for us. Decorative handicraft materials, traditional as well local furniture with a touch of Slave influence. Upstairs bedrooms have a large mezzanine that can be used as a second bedroom or a day bed, ideal for a child or simply for yourself Complimentary internet connection bu Wi-fi thru all the property, complimentary shuttle service everyday from 10am to 6pm to Petitenget/Seminyak (drop off only). Each villa can be privatized for groups or families (4 and 5 bedrooms villas) as well organization of events as weddings, celebrations, ephemera dinners in any occasion. "Villa Mathis" is part of Mathis Collection, including as well our sister property located in Ubud, "Mathis Retreat" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your La Villa Mathis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Mathis Hotel Kerobokan
La Hotel Umalas
La Hotel Mathis
La Villa Mathis Bali/Kerobokan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing