We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class French Patisserie in Seminyak, Bali”

Monsieur Spoon Umalas
Ranked #3 of 4 Bakeries in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $4
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Monsieur Spoon is a family-run French Bakery-Cafe started by two Parisian cousins in 2012. Based in Bali's most-visited spots, Monsieur Spoon serves a tempting range of high-quality handmade French pastries, cakes, artisan bread and savouries in a relaxed, friendly environment. Our breads and pastries respect traditional French know-how and are made using selected sourced ingredients. We also serve seasonal fresh juices and house-blend coffee, and customers can enjoy free-wifi throughout our cafes. The bakery is ideal for breakfast and lunch gatherings, and we strive to serve a healthy and delicious menu whatever the time of day. Please visit our website to view the full menu and for information on Monsieur Spoon events such as Sunday Brunch and Pastry Class for kids. Monsieur Spoon's signature pastry is the French all-butter croissant a best-seller in all four bakeries in Bali. We welcome enquiries for weddings and general catering.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Class French Patisserie in Seminyak, Bali”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

French patisserie should taste light, buttery and full of flavor which Monsieur Spoon scored highest in blind taste test for croissants. My favorite is the Apple Turnover. Moist cooked apples well seasoned baked with love encased in light buttery pastry.The selections available at Monsieur Spoon are always fresh and the best prices around the island considering the high quality of ingredients used. Apart from pastries, Monsieur Spoon also has a yummy selection of petite fours. Make sure you try the chocolate or salty caramel tarts. Monsieur Spoon now has 3 convenient locations: Seminyak, Canggu and Umalas I, Kerobokan. From experience, once you have tasted the selections of pastries and petite four at Monsieur Spoon, you will be as loyal as I am. Bon Appetite.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank mozart3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohgreg G, Owner at Monsieur Spoon Umalas, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi mozart3101

All the team is very happy to read your feedback!! as everyone is working hard to ensure the best quality everyday. THANKS!

Our Apple chausson is one of our star specialty from French indeed ;-)

Thanks again and welcome to Monsieur Spoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    34
    10
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Not much else to say about this fab French bakery. All the food is fantastic. You can't go past the chocolate eclairs or the lemon merengue pies. Not to mention the bread it is the best I have had in Bali.

I am addicted to this place and was thrilled to see they have a new venue adjacent to Seminyak Square.

Give it a go I promise it won't disappoint.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PETAtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohgreg G, Owner at Monsieur Spoon Umalas, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear PETAtravels

Many thanks for your encouragements !!

Monsieur Spoon is indeed an Artisan French Bakery which means that we do not use any preservatives, chemicals, emulsification products.... which makes a big difference with industrial bakeries..

ALL is natural and daily baked!

Many thanks for your support and see you soon at Monsieur Spoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always Sold Out!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Love the produce but SO FED UP with always turning up to be told that everything is SOLD OUT - even at 7:15am in the morning & you only open at 6:30am. Get your supply & demand sorted out please otherwise we're going to stop coming.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JulPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohgreg G, Owner at Monsieur Spoon Umalas, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear JulPo

Many thanks for your encouragements and loyalty!
I completely understand your point and be sure that we are working hard to ensure the right supply. During the last days, the demand changed drastically which explain the out-of-stock.

It should be already better and also do not hesitate to order online through our website.

Please contact us if it happens again.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The best coffee and croissants in Bali. A must for for a relaxing breakfast.. Freshly made every day just like you would get in Paris.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MRJPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohgreg G, Owner at Monsieur Spoon Umalas, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear MRJPJ

Many thanks for your feedback - this is exactly Monsieur Spoon ambition: ensuring a three-fold experience of delicious French pastries and artisan breads accompanied by house blend coffee, teas and fresh juices, served in a hang-out, trendy, relaxed atmosphere.

Hope to see you soon at Monsieur Spoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“C'est SUPER !!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I have heard about this place from my French friend. They said it's nice . So few days ago we try it. We had coffee and some cakes, not to forget the famous croissant. It's all great. However the highlight of the night was salted caramel tartlet ang royal spoon.

Helpful?
Thank Jullyanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohgreg G, Owner at Monsieur Spoon Umalas, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Chere Jullyanie

Merci !!
I am proud to hear that you enjoyed our artisan and fresh pastries.
All is made daily with the best ingredients.

Our Salted caramel tartlet is one of our specialty - for your information we organise on the 24th and 25th May at 3pm a Pastry Class on How to make them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsieur Spoon Umalas also viewed

 

Been to Monsieur Spoon Umalas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing