We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing 5 Star Dining Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merah Putih Restaurant

Merah Putih Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 192 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Named after the two bold and vibrant colours of the national flag, Merah Putih is Bali's most complete Indonesian dining experience in a sumptuous environment.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Amazing 5 Star Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I decided to have lunch here (20th March) thus opted for the Nasi Campur special. The servings were smallish however the flavours and presentation were amazing. My only disappointment was the soto (soup) which was a little bland and I was given a teaspoon sized spoon to drink it with. The nasi campur was full of flavour and surprises and was a true dining experience. It seemed like a small serve at first but after eating it I was actually quite satisfied. To top off the meal, an "Amuse" desert was served. It would have to be the most amazing desert I've had at a restaurant. The presentation and flavours were outstanding. The strawberries were the best I've tasted in an extremely long time.
Staff were friendly and attentive. The front door staff and the guards in the car park were all very friendly and helpful and very professional.
The décor is amazing! Even if you don't dine here you must pop in and have a look and soak up a little of the serenity that is encapsulated in this world class venue.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NasiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,754
    469
    151
    54
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
173 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Hard to compete with such a beautiful Decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

The decor was stunning and something so unlike you would expect to see in Bali. Very unique. The food was a bit over powering for me. So many strong spice and lots of them in every dish. It was hard to really pick a favorite. The portions are small, that one of our guests left feeling hungry yet we did fill the dent in our pocket book. Maybe we just needed to try different dishes. Worth going back again. Service Fabulous!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asharprd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Absolute superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

A truly amazing menu - we tried 6 of the small plates between three of us which allowed us room for dessert. We'd heard they were special - that was an understatement - they were out of this world. Not a cheap meal by Bali standards but so well worth it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zannagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

What a great night. The architecture and the ambiance is fabulous but the food was the star. They suggest getting plates to share which is very Indonesian. It is a mix of indonesian, fusion and some classics. Expect to pay upwards of $50 aud for an average bottle of wine. Cost us $30 a head without wine for 3 courses.would definitely go back

Helpful?
Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Delicious food and restored my faith in real Indonesian fare!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Our final day in seminyak and I had lost a bit of faith in Indonesian food- there were a lot of tasty things I had tried in my stay, and not one was traditional Indonesian food.

We headed here as it was close and sarongs (recommended by TA) was closed with average expectations. And that's where the ambivalence left- a beautiful restaurant, lovely service and great drinks. Really not too expensive given the prices we pay for places such as ku de ta and so on.

The small plates were definitely more tasty than the large, I recommend getting lots of the small plates and trying all the flavours.

Don't be put off by the fancy foufou at the front, this is a genuinely lovely place with delicious indo fare.. Worth a visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merah Putih Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Merah Putih Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing