We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised upon entrance - gorgoues”

Merah Putih Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 210 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Named after the two bold and vibrant colours of the national flag, Merah Putih is Bali's most complete Indonesian dining experience in a sumptuous environment.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Was recommended this place by our hotel! Wasn't initially convinced since we walked in and the bar was empty and no much movement, looked at the menu and decided to try it anyways. We were taken back into the main room and our jaws dropped! We were not expecting a 50 foot high ceiling, gorgeous natural decorations and such a beautiful setting, lighting, sound and ambiance included. We ordered the tuna tartare - it was delicious, the yellowfin appetizer - it was so good we each got this as our meal after the appetizer, the pork buns - equally amazing - a side of coconut rice - you must try this and lastly the 2nd white wine on the list - everything was equally delicious and I would definitely come again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anabellepaulino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,266 - 2,270 of 2,773 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The architecture of this place is unique. High ceiling since it host live cocounut trees inside the restaurant :).
Have fish pond to entertain the children.
The kids menu though it wasn't much option, it has covered basic Indonesian food for children(nasi goreng, ayam goreng, sate ayam).

For adult, not much menu selection either.
I can enjoyed the food, but hubby said it was bland.

Ps: need ask for candles to hush the flies.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We booked for dinner on our last night in Bali. We arrived for dinner and the staff helped us carry our children and pram up the stairs. Staff were very friendly and attentitive. Walkin through the entry bar area our breath was taken away walking into the dining area. It was simply stunning dining experience. I would rate Merah Putih as the best dining Experience we have had anywhere in Bali and was right up there with anywhere we have been in the world. Stunning!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic mix of indo Balinese cuisine there were 10 friends & family all of which appreciate good food here for dinner and I've got to say it was a 10 out of 10 experience , prices were good $50AUS a head 4 courses each , wonderful favours working together harmoniously , 3 chefs in our group all impressed , the ambience is lovely and service is excellent , I sampled 4 of the cocktails and just like the food perfectly balance concoctions , well done indeed Mertah ! ☺️

Thank Kerreee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Food was good really good, however staff struggled explaining exactly what was what. Very open and barn like once you get in and beyond the bar. The night we went it was only about half full.
Got absolutely hammered by Mosquitos and did not notice any type of insect control as we did with other restaurants and bars.
Bar area when you walk in is great and we enjoyed our pre dinner cocktails. Bar staff were friendly.
Deserts were great and the small sizes allowed for a couple of extras in
the order. Price was reasonable.
Don't know if I would return, prefer Sarong or Mamasan.
One thing that was disappointing was the double charging we got to our credit card, 4 days apart and after we had left Bali.

Thank CaMaWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasperManifold, Owner at Merah Putih Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear CaMaWa,

Thank you for the compliments regarding the food, drinks and service at the bar.

Knowledge training is a key part of our daily briefings. Being Indonesian, our waiters definitely understand a lot more than the basic ingredients in our dishes and pride themselves in being able to describe our menu in great detail. There are certain language barriers that we overcome daily, but this should not be reason to struggle.

Like, most restaurants and hotels in Bali, the entire venue is treated for mosquitos, comments and complaints are very rare, even in the humid months. We always have additional repellants for those who are more susceptible to being bitten.

We sincerely apologise that your card was double charged. Surely, it would be quicker and wiser to immediately contact us direct regarding such a matter. Our previous settlement records show that we have received no duplicate or over payments. Yet, following your comment, we contacted our merchant services who identified it as the possible fault of a bank. This can be rectified immediately. As we ultimately the third party taking the blame for this unfortunate situation, I will do my best to follow up from our end. Please email me / us to confirm that the situation is resolved.

Regards,

Jasper Manifold.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merah Putih Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Merah Putih Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing