We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, 5-star service, luxurious property”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Awan Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Awan Villas
Ranked #10 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location, 5-star service, luxurious property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The Awan Villas is located just north of trendy Seminyak. It's quiet location along with thwexurious private 2-bedroom villas, each with a great private pool makes for a great family resort. Spacious rooms, large open living and dining room with a fairly equipped kitchenette make you at home.

We were received at the airport and transferred to the hotel (30-40 mins). The rooms were well maintained, each with its attached bathroom, closet, and TV/DVD player with cable. Beds were turned down every evening and mosquito nets drawn. Do bring insect repellant; it's a must in all of Bali.

Bathrooms are large and one end leads to an outdoor shower, which is grand. Of course, this was a key entry point for mosquitoes. The staff did light repellant burners to keep them at bay. Good in room air conditioners.

The bathroom main door was clear glass!! Design class in some units!! The covered it up with a sheet for our stay though and it was not an issue.

Breakfast was included and it was served in the villa. Good spread with American and Indonesian breakfast options. More than sufficient.

Well cleaned and very well maintained. The plants and foliage is suitably maintained. They offer full day care rentals at IDR 700k for a 9 hour car+driver+petrol. All staff members are excellent.

The in villa pool was superb. It is 1.5m deep, very well maintained.

There are a couple of restaurants in walking distance and a convenience store that's a minute away. The hotel has complementary drop off to nearby locations. Take a taxi back.

Great place for an extended vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venkat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    47
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
31
101
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just back from Bali yesterday spending two nights in Villa Number 9, a slightly different layout from what we see in the pictures.

We had wanted a short break from City life and chose to stay in this quieter area. It was a very relaxing stay and staff are all friendly and professional.


The Great Part...
AIRPORT/CITY TRANSFER
The great part of this Villa is the free airport transfer that brings you to and from the airport. Being a distance away from "civilisation" doesn't mean you cannot go out and jalan jalan (shop around). The villa also provides a shuttle service to ferry you (one way) to town area. Grab a taxi back yourself or... walk back if you can remember the route (45min leisure walk).

Tip: Try to remember your route out from the Villa so that you can guide the cab driver back. Quite a few of them do not know where's The Awan Villa.

CLEANLINESS
Pretty good. The toilet, bed, towels seem pretty clean to us. Room will be cleaned after you are out of the Villa on a daily basis.

The Pool is quite clean as well. I've been to hotels with dirty pools in Bali so I think the pool in the Villa has surpassed my standards.

Note: There's lots of outdoor space so do bear in mind you have to live with mozzies, ants and other insects' presence. They are part of the natural environment. :) Get ready your insect repellant.

SERVICE
All the staff are very friendly. They are able to converse, at least, in basic English and even if they do not understand, they will try to understand or get some help around to understand. :)

We had our dinner in the villa and they helped to decorate the place beautifully. Nice gesture I must say.

Spa within the villa is a great experience but pretty expensive by Bali standard.


The Can-be-improved Part...
LIGHTING
Yes, the villa provided lots of privacy and noise from the neighbour villas are reduced to minimal with high walls. However, we feel that lighting in the villa is way too "romantic".

If we have to resort to switching on our non-romantic handphone white LED light to find our things in the luggage, that's not very functional and practical. Suggest management to look into this as it's really quite dark at night.

FOOD
I ordered the Indonesian platter and it's good. However, I believe the way they do the steak is probably not what we would usually eat in the restaurant. It's too stew-like. hmm...

Breakfast spread is great though. :)

All in all, we had a great rest during our short stay in Villa no.9.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xiaoyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We knew awan villa from website, searching by ourselves, first impression we saw the pool so we decide to spent our 5 days honeymoon here.. first day we come, they pick up us at the airport, when we arrived in awan vila, you can't see the different between web picture and the reality, totally same.. awan villa room makes us don't want to go outside, its very comfy inside of the villa.. and for the breakfast, they served us very "bunch" you can decide what you want to eat for the breakfast, and they will deliver exactly what you want on time, superb breakfast.. all the staffs was super nice, they have a lot of sense of smile everytime they met you.. this villas also quiet, in front of busy road, but inside the villa is not too noisy, becareful if you want to walk/to go outside that side of busy road there's 2 ways cars road an
d the road is not too big, they also provide shuttle to seminyak area, anytime you want.. this place perfect for honeymooners and also for family, every villas has 2
bedrooms, if you are couples, they will lock the other
room, and that is no problem at all.. we have exciting 5 days ever, and sure we will be bavk for our next trip

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leoni108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights here on our first trip ever to Bali. First about Seminyak: not very attractive. Awan Villas are located in the middle of nowhere. You need a transport if you leave Awan. Some can argue there is this or that just 10 or 15 or 20 minutes walking distance from Awan. Streets are narrow and there is no footpath so it is dangerous walking in any direction. One tip: if you are adventurous and decide to walk, keep right so you can see the oncoming traffic before they run you over :-) There is a mini market shop less than 50 meters down the street, but not many things you can find there unless beer is the most important grocery. Awan has a 24 hr free shuttle to Seminyak Square so you have some connection to unattractive Seminyak. So location is bad but it has its big advantage: very quiet compared to Kuta or other congested places. No bashing clubs nearby or drunken crowd passing by in the middle of the night. Taxi is very cheap so even if you desire clubs and partying all night you will appreciate even more sleeping in next morning in a quiet private environment. From Awan to Beach Walk Kuta, or Matahari Square, it is around AU $ 6 on average so even if you tip the driver a few bucks it will never go over $ 10 one way. One tip: try to use Blue Bird taxi and when you get in and tell the driver your destination make sure they turn on the meter and don’t accept fixed price pre-agreement. It will always cost more than metered fare. If he keeps bargaining, just leave and grab another one. There is abundance of taxis in Bali: you will wait less than 10 seconds before next one comes. If they do use their meters, don’t forget to tip, it will benefit everyone. Back to Awan: everyone is friendly and they are there to make sure you have uninterrupted relaxation. Our deal included breakfast and served in our villa (No 8) at the prearranged time. They serve breakfast from 07:00AM-11:00AM. If you want to skip it you can order a sandwich or meal from the menu. Breakfast is beautifully served and on time, you just have to find combination you prefer. We only ordered one sandwich once and even being nicely served with french-fries and was tasty it was too expensive for Bali prices. You can get a professional body massage on your sun bed in your privacy in your villa but for 5-6X the price of Kuta massage saloon. Regular room service is outstanding. Cleanliness is very high and efficient. They come twice a day. After breakfast they come to clean and remove dishes and few of them come in (with your approval if you are still in your villa). They make the beds, replace the sheets, all the towels, clean the floor and pool, water the plants and leave the place spotless. At night around the sunset, they come in and make the beds for the night, light up all the mozzie smokers and leave one big leaf on your bed with hand written message on it: Good night and have a nice dream. Living area is authentic style. Open spacious with high gable pergola and has a variable speed fan. LCD TV and stereo system enough for nice relaxation while a small fountain purl comes from the corner of your swimming pool. Room is air-conditioned and since you have to keep the door always closed to prevent mozzies to invade it the room is always cool. If you forget the door and let those suckers in, you have the thermo tablets replaced every night for you and bed has a net protection around it until the tablets start working. Daily they supply you with bottle of water in your bathroom for free. I guess this is for your tooth brushing as the water in Bali is not for drinking (unless from bottles). There is also a water bottle cooler and bottles were replaced when empty free of charge. Wi-Fi was good and reliable. Only one morning we still had the connection but no internet traffic. One call to reception and within a minute’s internet was back. They even ring back to tell us that. We had a great time staying in Awan Villas and when we decide to come back to Bali again, this will definitely be the place to stay. It is worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterFromRockingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Coming for a honeymoon with my wife>>>
Place is wonderful too, have been selected by the book.com, characterized by calm and romantic, also will not forget you submit roses when I came, the crew and a nice disturb collaborator, impaired villas and a buffet dinner and breakfast and lunch is important, and improve the way we close the door of the villa.

Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spcz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Echoing what everyone has been saying before, the villa is just great! It's quiet and private, and yet (with 24-hr free shuttle service) convenient to get to Seminyak area. The stuffs are very friendly and helpful. I was impressed with every time I got off the taxi, hotel stuffs came to the car with torch light and see if I left anything behind. The room is neatly decorated with full functionality as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tavipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We were VERY hesitant about going to Bali. The Awan Villas staff and managment are just simply the best. We have travelled to all corners of the World and stayed in some so called 5 star places but the Awan Villas are the best even over a butlered private villa in Maritius at 13 times the cost per night with 24hrs private butlers. We did not want to leave after 10 days as we had made some good friends in the staff. They taught us some basics Balanise and we them showed the some Australian. With one of the best restaurant s I have EVER eaten at just a short run down the road at "Sardines" ask for the tables that over look the ricefields...u have to book. The Awan staff were fantastic and they even recommended a driver for the day at 80k rupi ($8)per hour.The drivers name was Didi and he was great and could speak english and we had a great laugh and great day. We will be back again really soon but just one thing I would check to see if units are being built behind the villas as they are 3 stories and we got a couple of days of hammers and nails etc. Looking foward to seeing The Awan Villas again, well done guys. Xxxxxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff123456770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerobokan
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
0.2 mi away
The One Boutique Villa
The One Boutique Villa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Kayu Raja
Villa Kayu Raja
#6 of 35 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bidadari Villas and Spa
The Bidadari Villas and Spa
#13 of 114 in Kerobokan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Light Villas
The Light Villas
#22 of 412 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Awan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Awan Villas

Property: The Awan Villas
Address: Jl. Raya Batu Belig 168, Kerobokan 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Awan Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a 5 minute walk from Batu Belig Beach, The Awan Villas offers free Wi-Fi access and a complimentary 2-way airport shuttle service. It houses villas with a kitchen, private pool and open-air living and dining areas. The Awan is a 5 minute drive from shopping and more dining options at Seminyak Square. A 20 minute drive away is the Kuta area, where the beach, art market and shopping options reside. Ngurah Rai International Airport is a 30 minute drive away. Spacious air-conditioned villas feature a flat-screen TV with cable channels, a DVD player and a personal safe. The private bathroom comes equipped with shower facilities and a bathtub. Room service is provided. Alternatively, the property is a 5 minute walk from Seminyak's popular dining options such as Metis Restaurant and Potato Head Restaurant. Villa staff can assist with massage, car rental or laundry services. Free spacious parking spaces are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Awan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Awan Villas Bali/Kerobokan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing