We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great prices, great atmosphere”
Review of La Libre Taqueria - CLOSED

La Libre Taqueria
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The focus at La Libre is fresh and healthy Mexican food. All kinds of tacos, big nacho plates and burritos with a selection of house-made hot sauce to try. Be warned: hot means hot! We serve a variety of cold, cheap beer and a wicked sangria. LA bar-style decor with air con inside or patio tables available. Open breakfast, lunch and dinner. Delivery available between Seminyak and Echo Beach. Now open 7 days a week.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great food, great prices, great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

It is a real treat to find good Mexican food in Bali and as a Southern Californian it is a necessity. I found it here. You will receive a warm, friendly welcome and the food is great. I love the quesadillas and the chicken nachos...tacos are also great. Pulled pork is my husband's favourite. Wonderful food and excellent personal service from all of the staff. We will be returning often.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bevi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great mexican at great prices!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Found a great restaurant thanks to a friend. We stopped in for dinner and i have to say it was some of the best mexican I've ever had.

We had one of our party with a food allergy (garlic), which is very hard in eating out, but the staff helped us so much. They re made what they could for us without garlic and advised what we couldn't have. The knowledge was great on food and helped my friend a lot.

I had chicken burittos with corn chips. All the ingredients were house made and fresh and the serving size was huge! My friends had the surf and turf burrito and my other friend had the bali chicken one without garlic.

The surf and turf had a great portion of prawns with it and were very tasty. Better than what i was expecting.

We also tried the Albens cider with it and found that it matched the food greatly - that was the suggestion from the owners. They are great people.

When the bill came we were surprised at how cheap it was. We spent approx $45 but we had our fair share of booze with it.

The place is easy to find and i highly recommend it to anyone who wants decent mexican food in Bali. I will definitely go back when i return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fresh is fresh is segara!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We first went to La Libre not long after it first opened. Not sure how we stumbled on it, but from the first visit, it quickly became a favourite. Apologies for now reviewing earlier!

Segara means 'fresh' in Indonesian, and fresh it is.

It's not bogged down in cheese or nasties, but is truly fresh from the kitchen.

The menu is simple but easy to pick from. Beers are cheap (San Mig Light is about 25.000 I think and Bintang even cheaper).

It's not a flash place by any means, although the motor bikes in the window tell a different tale! Friday nights get busy and are good to catch up with anyone or no-one! It doesn't matter. Sharon is there most nights and is good for a chat.

It's easy to find, just opposite Bali Budda in Kerobokan. One of the best around and even with Mexican being the buzz word to open a new restaurant in Bali these days, few do it as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Creatavision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onanole, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantatsic food!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great authentic Mexican food and cheap beer, can it get any better? The pulled pork tacos were great as were the veg tacos. Real beans - the real deal!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evansmd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy Burritos”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The burritos were fantastic, with homemade soft shell and lots of flavour. Nice little restaurant with good atmosphere.
Room for improvement in their Nachos and also their Margaritas. Wrong glass and no salt.
I would eat there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Libre Taqueria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing