We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I read the reviews on this site before I came and overall thought other people's impression had been pretty good. A few things I read,, I thought were incorrect however... The lighting on the paths is ambient and certainly enough to safely allow you to walk around at night, they also provide a torch in the room just in case. The room felt very safe to me, we stayed in a pool villa, the wooden gate to get in the villa entrance does not lock but the room itself does and they also provide a in-room safety box.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the staff were warm and welcoming. They were keen to help us with all our everyday plans as well as planning our onward journey. The room and outdoor bathroom were lovely. The location suited me perfectly, as I think kuta and seminyak are far too touristy! And to get there for dinner is only a short cab ride away.

Plataran is a little oasis and I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GirlBrissie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 238 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

The food at the restaurant was very delicious and world class. The surroundings made us feel very close to nature. The architects are good and the people who serviced us during our stay made the atmosphere even better and more memorable. Spa was very relaxing. We thank the crew and team at Plataran for the wonderful stay that we had.

Room Tip: Rooms with the pool give a personal indulgence and privacy.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed at Plataran for 2 weeks while looking for a villa in Bali. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the place had a nice quiet ambience. Beautiful traditional villas - only minus was that Internet connection in villas not always very strong.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 189541Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Long story short, we arrived, grounds were lovely. Definately would get the experience you were after if you wanted peace and quiet.
I see many reviews say it is far away, but this is Bali, the taxi costs like AUD$5, that is fine maybe 20 min in a cab back to the main areas. Our driver didn't know where it was though, as apparently it used to be called the Novus, so we had a bit of a mission getting there, but only because they didn't know what the Plataran was given the name change was mid-2011 so I'm told.
So anyway, we were booked for 3 nights but we left before going to bed on the first evening. Like I said the place was great, but it's semi-traditional so has old wood doors on the villas, that were not near as secure as I require, especiailly in a foreign country. When I say not secure, one of them could be pushed open when locked from the outside when we tested it. I mean it was my first time to Bali so I don't know the risks, but we weren't happy with that. I lost my pre-paid money but wasn't going to bother chasing it, it was my choice to leave.
It seems there was a security guard there, but this place is big, you have huge villas/pools etc to yourself, and if there were intruders, it wouldn't be heard. Further, this place doesn't have the unbreachable walls some places have by any means. People could get in. It was also very quiet when we were there, so didn't see too many other tourists which made it more unnerving. Anyway, if they spent some money making really good door locks etc (maybe it was just our villa that needed that) I would have given it 4-4.5 stars.

Room Tip: The villas are huge, you get more or less your own huge pool. Take mozzy repellant though.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AusJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I stayed at a pool villa for 5 nights and absolutely enjoyed the tranquil setting of this resort. It is a 30 minutes drive away from the main areas like Seminyak but that's exactly what I was looking for. The staff is genuinely friendly and very helpful. They served me breakfast even at 11.30 a.m. which I greatly appreciated since sleeping in is part of my holiday routine. I also enjoyed a daily massage and would rate the services in the Spa as one of the best I've ever had. The food selection of the restaurant is not very extensive and needs improvement.
I would go back there anytime for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annelie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I spent wonderful relaxing days with my partner in this Balinese resort, a beautiful and spacious pool villa was our home, we didn't want to leave - a bit like having Ubud atmosphere in the southern part of Bali, a small river flowing through the resort, surrounded by tropical trees, bamboo and many other plants, a green oasis but not far from the hustle and bustle of Seminyak/Legian, close to a Eco Beach (free hotel transfer), you get a real Balinese feeling staying here - we are both pleased with the excellent service and the friendliness of the very helpful staff & management...improvements: different kind of pillow grades, a bit more lighting in the pathways between the villas, free wifi in the rooms...that's it.
We planned already our next stay at Plateran and are also curious about their resort in Java which we will visit the next time.
For us the Plateran is a real Balinese jewel between all these new modern style villas and resorts, all missing the typical Balinese touch and feeling!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiggiBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

When we first arrived we were a little aprehensive considering where you drive into but once we actually drove into the villa it was just picture perfect! We had a beautiful breakfast every morning and when we didnt show to breakfast the staff would actually call our room and bring it too us which i thought was really sweet!

Room was decked out with a flat screen TV and DVD player/sound system that was fantastic especially when you go into the main town and buy $1 DVDS!

The complimentary shuttle bus was a godsend considering that we we about 40 mins from Kuta but the staff showed us around.. dropped us off & picked us up at whatever time we wanted at no cost but we did choose to tip them for their efforts.

Overall it is a beautiful and traditional Balinese paridise and i would recommend it to anyone planning to stay in Bali.

Room Tip: The pool Villa was absolutely beautiful!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lozzynrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerobokan
11.3 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Kokonut Suites
Kokonut Suites
#3 of 35 in Kerobokan
661 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Balisani Suites
Grand Balisani Suites
#8 of 35 in Kerobokan
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
La Villa Mathis
La Villa Mathis
#1 of 35 in Kerobokan
615 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 147 in Seminyak
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Pengubugan, Banjar Silayukti, Kerobokan 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Novus Bali Villa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kerobokan
#3 Spa Hotel in Kerobokan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kerobokan
Price Range: $115 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plataran Canggu Bali offers guests a unique and truly relaxing location to enjoy your break from the hustle and bustle of daily life. This is a magical oasis set amidst lush gardens offers you a respite from Bali's often hectic pace. Each authentically decorated villa offers guests plenty of space including private gardens and swimming pools. Clad with traditional Alang-Alang roofs antique carved doorways - to say this property is unique is an understatement of great proportions. No noise and no distractions - just personalized, attentive service. With Padma Spa offering onsite pampering and Patio restaurant bringing the flavors of Bali's street right to your villa - there are few reasons to ever leave. For those wanting to venture out - while the resorts atmosphere is a far cry from the crowds and hectic pace that can so often overwhelm Balinese holiday seekers, Plataran Canggu Bali remains just a 15-minute drive to Echo Beach and many Bali's popular dining and shopping areas. Understanding the needs of our guests, Plataran Canggu offers a unique 24-hour stay service, which allows you to check-in at any time of the day or night, and stay for 24 hours intervals with no additional charge. This service is applicable only for individual bookings and 48 hours prior notice is required. We are delighted to make your experience with Plataran even more enjoyable with our English, French, Russian, Korean, Dutch and Italian speaking associates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plataran Bali Hotel Kerobokan
Plataran Bali Resort And Spa
Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa Bali/Kerobokan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing