We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility and beautiful setting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquility and beautiful setting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

I stayed at a pool villa for 5 nights and absolutely enjoyed the tranquil setting of this resort. It is a 30 minutes drive away from the main areas like Seminyak but that's exactly what I was looking for. The staff is genuinely friendly and very helpful. They served me breakfast even at 11.30 a.m. which I greatly appreciated since sleeping in is part of my holiday routine. I also enjoyed a daily massage and would rate the services in the Spa as one of the best I've ever had. The food selection of the restaurant is not very extensive and needs improvement.
I would go back there anytime for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annelie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    35
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
140
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I spent wonderful relaxing days with my partner in this Balinese resort, a beautiful and spacious pool villa was our home, we didn't want to leave - a bit like having Ubud atmosphere in the southern part of Bali, a small river flowing through the resort, surrounded by tropical trees, bamboo and many other plants, a green oasis but not far from the hustle and bustle of Seminyak/Legian, close to a Eco Beach (free hotel transfer), you get a real Balinese feeling staying here - we are both pleased with the excellent service and the friendliness of the very helpful staff & management...improvements: different kind of pillow grades, a bit more lighting in the pathways between the villas, free wifi in the rooms...that's it.
We planned already our next stay at Plateran and are also curious about their resort in Java which we will visit the next time.
For us the Plateran is a real Balinese jewel between all these new modern style villas and resorts, all missing the typical Balinese touch and feeling!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiggiBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

When we first arrived we were a little aprehensive considering where you drive into but once we actually drove into the villa it was just picture perfect! We had a beautiful breakfast every morning and when we didnt show to breakfast the staff would actually call our room and bring it too us which i thought was really sweet!

Room was decked out with a flat screen TV and DVD player/sound system that was fantastic especially when you go into the main town and buy $1 DVDS!

The complimentary shuttle bus was a godsend considering that we we about 40 mins from Kuta but the staff showed us around.. dropped us off & picked us up at whatever time we wanted at no cost but we did choose to tip them for their efforts.

Overall it is a beautiful and traditional Balinese paridise and i would recommend it to anyone planning to stay in Bali.

Room Tip: The pool Villa was absolutely beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lozzynrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maienfeld, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

To be said straight, PLataran Bali Resort & Spa is not a mass tourist hotel and it's not right in the middle of the noisy and pulsing Kuta, Legian, Seminyak or Sanur and Jimbaran tourist areas. So if you are more into that crowded, fancy, noisy and pulsing life, PLataran won't probably be your place to stay. But if you want to stay in a beautiful, tranquil and luxury bungalow compound just a 10 minutes drive away from those crowded places as well as the beaches, then PLataran might be the best choice you could make. You will find yourself in a wonderful spot with wonderful people around you. The traditional ancient Indonesian architecture and decoration combined with all the amenities of todays luxury and privacy will make it a rememberable stay. As returning customers for the last 7 years we could see PLataran's (formerly Novus Bali) development from a 5 villas place to a fully equipped resort with 20 bungalows, a restaurant and spa. All bungalows are either newly renovated or built. Most of these bungalows offer you a really private area of around -/+ 200 sqm surrounded by a wall that is covered with beautiful plants and trees. The rooms are huge and fully equipped. They all feature a modern LCD TV and stereo CD/DVD system. A minibar, coffee machine and water boiler. Have nice paintings and decorations and a huge bathroom with shower and bathtub. Some of them have a private plunge pool and those are bigger than the ones found in most other 5star hotels in Bali. For those rooms without a private pool you can still choose between two huge pools in the compound that perfect for swimming. The cleanliness of the rooms, garden and pool is excellent and cared about every day. The restaurant changed from middle class or even poor in the past to excellent! You can now choose from a huge variety of delicious snacks and menus either served at the restaurant or to your bungalow. Get a traditional Balinese massage at the new SPA and you will feel reborn for the whole day. All the staff at PLataran is very well trained, discreet and very friendly. The new management is one of the best you can find and very responsive to whatever you need. We can also recommend the joint restaurant at Echo Beach in Canggu which offers excellent food at a lovely spot at the sea just 10 minutes away from PLataran resort. If you don't drive a car (as we do) there is a free shuttle service to the beach or Kuta/Seminyak area for your convenience.
The rates for the rooms and restaurant are more than fair for what you get, only the wireless internet service that covers all the bungalows could be made free in todays connected world (ok, there is free access at the lobby).
So, if you love to stay in a romantic, tranquil and traditional Balinese spot without having to give up on todays luxury, amenities and comfort, PLataran Resort & SPA won't disappoint you at all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VundA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Went here for my honeymoon! Tho it was a tad bit pricey, we have absolutely no regret splurgin a lil more bcoz the place was beautiful & amazing! Very private! Service was great, staff was extremely helpful and honest! I would love to go back there if I had the chance again! :)

For more, read here http://kathlynn-diary.blogspot.com/2011/01/bali-novus-bali-villas.html

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathlynn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwellingup, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

My new husband and I stayed here for five nights for our honeymoon and really enjoyed the Novus Bali Villas. We stayed in the Pool Villa. When we arrived, it was very late at night but the staff were all very welcoming. Check in was very quick. We loved the little pathways we had to take to get down to our room and we had a lovely surprise waiting for us the next morning when we woke up to see the grounds in the light of day! Just beautiful!! Even though we were right next to the restaurant the villa felt private.
The room was very nice and probably the only thing I could say that might need some improvement is that there is no where to sit inside besides the bed. There is a table and chairs on the veranda of the villa but it would of been nice to have a chair or small couch in the room. Having our own pool two steps from the villa felt incredibly luxurious!!
The food from room service was nice and service prompt. The shuttle bus service was good to have as the location of the villas is quite far from Kuta (it would take at least 30 mins to get there) Once the bus was an hour and a half late picking us up from Kuta though.
All in all this was a nice place to stay. Can't say enough about the lovely staff. My only complaints is the location and that there is no night life near by that we could find!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyAndCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovusCorp, Public Relations Manager at Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Dear Ms. Kelly,

Warm Greetings from Novus Hotels & Resorts,

On behalf of management Novus Bali Villas Resort & Spa, we are pleased to learn that you so enjoyed your stay. We are especially gratified that you took the time to mention your preference for in-room seating arrangements. There is always room for improvement, and we are so grateful that you pointed out this little overlooked detail.

You may be assured that everything will be to your satisfaction on your next visit to Novus Bali Villas Resort & Spa.


Warmest Regards,
Novus Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

We booked the double villa, one for our kids and the other with pool, for ourselves. The design and maintenance of the villas are excellent: Landscaping is great and rooms are clean and neat. The only minus here is the rather open roof which appeared too inviting for a rat that we saw twice in our room during our 6 day stay. When we mentioned the rat, staff was immediately sent over to deal with the problem but with the open roof there was little that could be done.

The location of the hotel is not good. It's in the middle of nowhere and it takes half an hour by hotel shuttle - which was made available generously to us at all times - at least to get to the centre of Seminyak or anywhere else where you want to be. It really makes one wonder why somebody would start a hotel at this location.

Service level is generally excellent. Staff is very helpful, accommodating and friendly. However, we find the hotel poorly managed. The restaurant and bar functions are just not acceptable for this level of an hotel. Much of the menu is usually not available (even the easiest of all, spaghetti wasn't available at one day!); one has to wait far too long for food. One day it took them 25 minutes with hardly any other guests there to serve us our simple drinks. Our satay was burned and the accompanying rice arrived when we had finished the rest of our food. When we complained the staff took our criticism in a professional way. In short: the restaurant is not managed professionally and the food is mediocre at best: what a lost opportunity for a place that's half an hour away from its competition!

All in all, while the place is a gem in itself, it isn't managed properly and it's not located well. Not a place I would recommend to a family.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotterhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovusCorp, Public Relations Manager at Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from Novus Hotels & Resorts,

Thank you very much for your helpful comments and criticism regarding your recent experience at Novus Bali Villas Resort & Spa. On behalf of the management and all employees of Novus Bali Villas Resort & Spa, we would like apologize for the lapses in service management you were so kind to point out. Please allow us to express our sincere thanks for your valuable feedback.

Comments, whether positive or negative, from any and all of our guests drives us toward further improvements in our facilities and services. Your detailed comments gave us a valuable opportunity to improve our service and ensure that such lapses will not spoil the experience of a future guest.

Sir, should your schedule bring you back to stay with us in the near future, kindly contact or email me so I may personally oversee the services you receive in order that and I will make sure you will receive your service expectation. We will make your next stay in Novus Villas Resort & Spa an unforgettably wonderful one.

Warmest Regards,
Novus Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerobokan
11.2 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
The One Boutique Villa
The One Boutique Villa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
La Villa Mathis
La Villa Mathis
#2 of 35 in Kerobokan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Santai
The Santai
#6 of 35 in Kerobokan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa

Property: Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Pengubugan, Banjar Silayukti, Kerobokan 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Novus Bali Villa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kerobokan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kerobokan
#6 Spa Hotel in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plataran Canggu Bali offers guests a unique and truly relaxing location to enjoy your break from the hustle and bustle of daily life. This is a magical oasis set amidst lush gardens offers you a respite from Bali's often hectic pace. Each authentically decorated villa offers guests plenty of space including private gardens and swimming pools. Clad with traditional Alang-Alang roofs antique carved doorways - to say this property is unique is an understatement of great proportions. No noise and no distractions - just personalized, attentive service. With Padma Spa offering onsite pampering and Patio restaurant bringing the flavors of Bali's street right to your villa - there are few reasons to ever leave. For those wanting to venture out - while the resorts atmosphere is a far cry from the crowds and hectic pace that can so often overwhelm Balinese holiday seekers, Plataran Canggu Bali remains just a 15-minute drive to Echo Beach and many Bali's popular dining and shopping areas. Understanding the needs of our guests, Plataran Canggu offers a unique 24-hour stay service, which allows you to check-in at any time of the day or night, and stay for 24 hours intervals with no additional charge. This service is applicable only for individual bookings and 48 hours prior notice is required. We are delighted to make your experience with Plataran even more enjoyable with our English, French, Russian, Korean, Dutch and Italian speaking associates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plataran Bali Hotel Kerobokan
Plataran Bali Resort And Spa
Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa Bali/Kerobokan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing