We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Layang Bulan
Nearby Hotels
Abian Biu Mansion(Kerobokan)(Great Value!)
$34
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa(Kerobokan)(Great Value!)
$396
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brown Feather Hotel(Kerobokan)(Great Value!)
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Balisani Suites(Kerobokan)(Great Value!)
$88
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Villa Mathis(Kerobokan)(Great Value!)
$109
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kokonut Suites(Kerobokan)(Great Value!)
$70
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Santai(Kerobokan)
$494
$282
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Putu Bali Villa and Spa(Kerobokan)(Great Value!)
$45
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Adma Umalas(Kerobokan)(Great Value!)
$54
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$20
$15
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
61
28
8
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
28
8
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgay beachother guestsshared bathroomclothing optional resorthome away from homegay menreasonable ratesmoney changersbatu beliggreat place to stayhot waterprivate areaairport picklunch or dinnerevery morningdvd playerfirst trip to bali
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 105 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you are looking for a villa mansion where you can easily befriend fellow guests, look no further than Villa Layang Bulan.

While there are nicer male-only clothing-optional villas such as Villa Angelo, Spartacvs and Laki Uma, this villa has more friendly ambiance, probably due to the lower price range and choice of different room types; from the standard room with ensuite bathroom to 2-3 bed dormitories with shared bathroom. The result is you often get long stay or repeat guests who can offer useful travel advice and lovely chats as well as younger, single travellers who have interesting life prospective.

The villa also offers cost sharing tours with interested guests and cheap minibar or in house beverages that sometimes eliminates the need to leave the villa altogether.

Since my last stay in October, the road and surrounding area of the Villa has continued to improve a lot. The Jalan Batu Belig and the adjascent Jalan Petitenget has some of the best restaurants and warung in Kerobokan such as Metis, Naughty Nuri, Warung Cobek, Sardine and Jemme, all within walking distance or a short ride from the villa. If the villa vehicle is free, you can ask for reservation and a drop off in any of these places. This is quite an important factor now that traffic in Seminyak, Legian and Jimbaran can be a nightmare even if you are riding a motorbike or out of rush hours.

There is continuous hotel development along the Batu Belig beach (5 minutes walk) which may help to clean up the otherwise rubbish ridden beach pavement and wild bushes. Potato head, Café Cantina and W hotel which welcomes day guests are around another 5 minutes walk left of Batu Belig beach entrance.

While I still have gripes about the maintenance of the rooms and presence of mosquitoes even in day time (lack of fogging),the ambiance of homely set up and friendly guests trumps the minor annoyances.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexMcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balinyoman, Owner at Villa Layang Bulan, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Due to the high humidity in Bali, our rooms and public areas are repainted every 6 months. Thus, our villa always looks new.

The furniture (most of them), linen, air conditioners, central water heater and tv sets are pretty new.

We are changing the pool tiles the next low season. This project requires 21 days for drainage, the new tiles to dry and refilling the pool with water.

To most guests and visitors, Villa Layang Bulan is a nice-looking guest house with a well-maintained Balinese garden. To some people, other gay hotels might be nicer because they are modern looking. We are not into the modernity. Our design is of Dutch colonial and Balinese heritage. As owner, I personally love the way my villa looks - so are many of my regular guests from Germany, UK, France, Holland, Australia, New Zealand, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, USA and Canada who stay with us annually.

There are rarely mosquitos during the day - in fact none. In the night, we do get mosquitos at certain time of the year. But this has become rare nowadays because the lane leading to our villa has been beautifully surfaced. There are no more pot holes or dented areas on the lane which could hold water that breed mosquitos. Many villa constructions near us have also completed or near completion. Some of these construction sites could have been mosquito breeding ground. Along the newly surfaced road and lane, the upgrading of the drainage system in Kerobokan, Kura, Legian, Seminyak and Canngu areas has also completed. The upgrading started middle of last year. It has completed in our barrio or the barrios near us. All these factors could have contributed to the improvement in our enviroment lately.

Even when we had mosquitos during certain season in the past, all we need to do was to switch on the fan in the verandahs by the pool, where most of us (guests and owner) would sit, drink, dine and chat during the evening. To keep the rooms mosquito-free, we only need to keep our door and window shut during the night. This guest who commented about mosquitos must have left his bedroom door ajar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

hotel is a bit out of seminyak in a quite area, but in walking distance to the gay beach.
very friendly stuff and attentive owners trying to advise you whereever you need help.
we are going back in may.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I'd wanted to stay in gay accommodation in Bali, but all of the "boutique hotels" and villas I found were overly fancy and expensive. Thank goodness for Villa Layang Bulan, which offers upscale accommodation in a gay/clothing optional environment for a reasonable price.

The villa includes a warm but refreshing swimming pool, with lounge chairs and a little pondok/hut. The breakfast is simple but delicious, and the staff are very friendly and attentive. Edwin, the owner, was absent while I was there, but his "deputy" was very friendly and helpful, patiently explaining the villa's facilities and the surrounding restaurants and amenities in Batu Belig.

That is something to note: you are located just outside Seminyak, in the up-and-coming area of Batu Belig. It's not so far from Seminyak, but you'll either need to take taxis, take advantage of the villa's drop-offs into town, or rent a bike (available from the villa, but be sure you have an International Driver's Licence! Or you'll be paying "fines" to the local traffic police).

At the end of the street is Batu Belig beach, which has a couple of "pop-up"-style restaurants, but it is not developed like Kuta beach or the beaches in Seminyak (which is both good and bad). You won't have hawkers bothering you every 10 minutes, but there's no lifeguard and swimming there is not recommended (riptides). The sunsets there can be gorgeous.

It can be a little difficult to find, so make clear to your driver that you're going to Jalan Batu Belig near Seminyak, Gang Daksina, and maybe have a Google maps printout. There isn't any signage from the road...

Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyrc_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have been a repeat guest at Villa Layang Bulan for a long time now and each time it feels like coming back home. Edwin, the owner, and his staff are friendly and really helpful people.
The Villa is well-equiped (swimming-pool, wifi in all rooms, AC in all rooms, even the least expensive ones). Most of the time I stay in the Kuta room, downstairs by the pool, but I have also tried Seminyac and Canggu, all of them with private bathroom, all of them offering excellent quality / price ratio. I heard that the dorm rooms - shared accomodation and bathroom - have been renovated and upgraded recently.
If you need anything or are not satisfied with anything just go to Edwin or staff and they will do their best to fix it. Oh, by the way, you can also have lunch or dinner at the Villa and Edwin is an excellent cook.
Villa Layang Bulan provides tours through the island at very reasonable prices. You can also hire a masseur through them. Whenever they have a car at hand, you will get free transfer to the Seminyak area. I also like the daily shuttle to the gay bars area around 22.30 (free of charge).
Not forgetting the friendly atmosphere at the outside lounge by the pool where you will always find another guest to talk to if you feel lonely. Just be careful after nightfall, do not forget to turn the fans on to get rid of mosquitoes.
Just try and see by yourself... very few people I met there were disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BenjyRochard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I think it's important when reviewing on trip advisor to be constructively honest, rather than just critical or over sensitive, so decided to sleep on it before I wrote this review. myself and my partner have been travelling around Asia for about 7 weeks now, staying in budget accommodation booked via Hostelworld, Hostel Bookers and Agoda throughout, and without a doubt Villa Layang Bulan was probably the least favoured so far. Interestingly, with it being firmly aimed at the gay market we felt confident that this was to be one of the nicest places we would stay, not the case.

Whilst Edwin and his team are friendly, prompt and provide a good level of service, the standards in the villa are simply not good enough for the cost premium attached.

To summarise, we occupied a twin room, $40 USD per night. The room was VERY grotty, and had clearly seen better days. Dirty bed linen (very stained and greasy feeling) and worryingly stained, smelly towels, and possibly the worst shared bathroom facilities I have ever seen - dirty, smelly, damp and directly facing the door of the twin room. So expect traffic throughout the day and night, it was not uncommon to have other guests noisily showering at 3am, and staff also using the facilities throughout the day.

The pool is ok, but not kept clean enough. The breakfast is also ok.

Whilst they offer free transit locally if available, important to note you will definitely need it, the location is pretty remote, a small sprinkling of places to eat locally but that's about it, oh, and the beach is probably a short walk away but it is filthy.

If you suffer from Mosquitoes then definitely this is not the place for you, as its pretty open air throughout so even with spray, electronic plugs the chances are you will suffer throughout.

We could not wait to leave, and found a really good, clean alternative in Kuta (only 22k RPH taxi to the gay bars) for less than this place.

I wish Edwin luck, he is a nice man, but simply calling it a gay venue Is not enough, either reduce the cost or invest in renovation and improvement, and new sheets .... making it better value and a more pleasant environment for guests.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balinyoman, Owner at Villa Layang Bulan, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

We are a popular gay hotel. We are usually full. Many of our guests are returning guests. As a matter of fact, we have been heavilly booked till early October this year.

Our rooms, communal areas, pool and garden are clean, tidy and well maintained. We paint our villa every 6 months.

There is no mosquito during the day. But with the recent wet weather and drainage upgrading project on in most parts of Bali, we do get mosquitos in the night. But guests will not get mosquito bites, if our fans at our verandahs are on. Simon must have forgotten to switch on the fan when he was at our verandah at night.


Lately, we had heavy rainfall and winds. This could have messed our pool with abundant fallen leaves and branches, and caused certains area to be damp. But mess like these are tidied and cleared up by our staff fast.

We had some linen permanently stained by massuers. We had kept them aside for month end inventory. One new staff must have made a mistake by using them in Simon's room.

We had just replaced most of our old bed linen with more attractive colour and better quality linen just 3 months ago.

Our rooms are never grotty. The room occupied by Simon was repainted only 2 months ago.
It has air con, cable tv, fridge with mini bar, safe box, antique teak cupboard and high speed wi fi.

The room rate is US$40 for 2-4 nights stay, S$35 for 5 - 9 nights stay and US$30 for 10 nights stay and above. Rates include tax, service charge, drop off at nearby places, good quality breakfast, drinking water, coffee and tea. Airport transfers (2 ways) are free for 5 nights stay and above. How can this be expensive?

Our communal bathroom is cleaned and tidied regularly by our staff. However, there will always be inconsiderate users occasionally who would mess up and before we could tidy up for the next users.

It is rare guests would take shower at 3am in the morning and disturb guests sleeping nearby. I doubt, the culprit is still staying with us.

Simon and his friend booked for only 3 nights with us prior to their arrival. They arrived late. The had a full tour day by us on their last day. They could have missed out on exploring our neighborhood. Our main road which is only 5 minutes walk from us is dotted with countless good eateries ranging from Naughty Nuri BBQ, Bow Mediterranean, Greek-owned Mykos, Dutch-owned Pavilion, Aussie-owned Watercess, Italian - owned Cucina Rustica, local owned Chopstick, Ethnc, Rio, Sobet and etc etc. ATM machine, DVD shops, bouqtiques, spas, barbers, money changers, 24-hour mini marts and post office are only 5 to 10 minutes walk from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews