We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!good service!”
Review of Cafe Degan

Cafe Degan
Ranked #42 of 206 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Indonesian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set in a traditional Javanese joglo house, Café Degan brings to Bali's dining scene a selection of popular Indonesian specialties, and a carefully chosen assortment of Thai favorites, in a sophisticated yet warm and welcoming ambience.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good food!good service!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were suggested this place from local friends ad we were happy with their suggestion, The food is authentic Balinese and the service is good. We recommend this place if you like eat Balinese food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Framat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    90
    32
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had read all the reviews before going to the restaurant and was expecting some fabulous food, however chose the Thai menu and found food lacked flavour. Fish was overlooked. Service was excellent, no atmosphere, only two other people in restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaylene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazingly delicious and cheap food!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went there last Saturday for dinner. We didn't book, and I don't think it would have been busy enough to warrant a booking.

The food was stunning. We ordered mainly from the Indonesian menu, with the exception of the Thai green mango salad. We had a whole fish, plus some other sides, and everything was perfect. We are thinking about going back again tonight as we know it's cheap and tasty.

The service was impeccable, if a little rigid. If the staff were to relax just slightly it would be perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Masterchef Indonesia judge's restaurant”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I went there yesterday, after my brother in law and his girlfriend talked about it. This in an indonesian n thai cuisine restaurant. For I'm Indonesian so lets forget thevIndonesian food . I tried their squid, tom yam goong and it is delicious. The owner of this restaurant is one one the judge on the famous TV reality show Masterchef Indonesia. It's worth to give a try

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DinaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best traditional indonesia restaurant”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

At the end of our trip to bali we had lunch in cafe degan. We had read the review abt the great thai menu but at the end we mostly picked the indonesian menu. We loved it so much!!! Especially the sapi lada hijau (spicy beef). We ordered the fried duck, it reminded my husband of the solo ( central java) fried crispy duck, tender and moist. the beef was superb and not too oily, very refereshing comparing to the padang ( west sumatra) spicy chili beef style. for dessert we decided to have the indonesian bubur sumsum ( indonesian rice pudding with palm sugar) It was delicious!!!! reminded me of my childhood's dessert when the bubur sumsum was still freshly made with rice flour and palm sugar sauce, topped with the pandan leave. Will definetely come back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rest_relax_jakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Degan also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Degan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing