We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good overall experience”
Review of Sardine

Sardine
Ranked #18 of 206 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good overall experience”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a late reservation with friends so we only saw the rice patties at night. The venue is really beautiful- you sit under a bamboo canopy. The decor is casual but thoughtful and the parasols add a nice touch. The restaurant is open air and we had a lovely breeze all evening. The service was very good, attentive but not rushed. If you are a true foodie this might not be the place for you but if you want a good meal in a beautiful setting, this is a great spot. It is certainly a unique bali experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Primomeatball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,765
    698
    299
    98
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tocumwal, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“such a disappointment”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

So much potential , should work but just doesnt. Firstly when we got there the girs on meet and greet were so snooty we were made to feel pretty ordinary. Dumped in the bar and told to wait as we hadnt booked.(our hotel had told us not to worry, suggest you do to avoid this attitude!) Once we got near the rice paddy it was a festering mudflat, ok we get rice like any crop isnt all round but seriously this was horrid!
Food ok but far too expensive for quality.
Dont worry, go look at the real rice paddys and eat at Sip French restsurant! Easy fixed until they get an attitude transplant. Wish them luck, like I say it should work.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful restaurant”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a truly enjoyable and memorable meal in a busy town. The restaurant is in itself a destination. Beautifully done out. I think to go in the evening would be a more romantic time. The food was well presented and was very delicious. It is bordered by some rice fields

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank auntypina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Food a major let down”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Wow what a beautiful setting overlooking the romantically lit rice paddies. I'd visited Sardine the previous year and had a nice time so thought we would revisit. Bad move. Despite a booking we were again given the table behind the main cash register, next to kitchen entry and toilet :(
The staff here are very attentive though not in your face. Cannot fault the service or attention. The setting is stunning and the drinks/cocktails are generous and delicious. Pretty much that was it. If you are not a seafood lover you have a choice of one chicken or beef dish. Fortunately we love seafood, but were disappointed. Our dishes were mediocre at best and presentation was a bit pedestrian. The food wasn't horrible, just not that good. I think they have a 'cook' in the kitchen rather than a chef. We had far better experiences with food and flavors at much less expensive venues. For the price in Bali you can do waaaayyyyy better. We won't be back unless we just come for a drink before dinner somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliezzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, West Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another greaal in Seminyak”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

From the minute you arrive at the front enterance to the time you leave, dining here is an experience you won't forget. The venue is spectacular, the food stunning and the staff couldn't do enough for you anticipating your needs practically before you thought about them. It was great meeting the owners and their daughter who ensured that everything was to your likeing. The food being seafood based was all cooked to perfection with the entrees and mains all being of sufficent size to satisfy the most discerning customers. The desert menu topped off the meal with the 3 couples with us each having the share plate. Whilst the restaurant is pricey by Bali prices it was nothing compared to Australian prices for a comprable meal. Will definitely be returning to Sardine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StewartNeuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardine also viewed

 

Been to Sardine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing