We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atpmosphere”
Review of Metis

Metis
Ranked #19 of 200 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: MÉTIS Restaurant, Lounge and Gallery is a sensory dining experience that embraces the sheer pleasures of living. With the recently opened lounge and beautiful garden, MÉTIS brings High Tea to a whole other level, a must try if you visit Bali. Flawless service in one of Bali's most elegantly sophisticated settings is just the beginning of this seduction into the depths of the five senses. MÉTIS is as fresh and sumptuous as the cuisine that graces its tables.
Paiton indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and atpmosphere”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Our meals at Metis were the best we had in Indonesia so far. We like the unique cocktails and the superb food. If you are there, reserve some space for one of the souffles... you won't regret it. Service was great on both occasions. We will come back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EVanVeldhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,513
    648
    237
    103
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“exquisite”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Firstly, one or two points on etiquette for future diners; Don't spend the entire evening on your iPad as the couple across from us did. This disrespects the chef and the staff.Take a photo, post it to Facebook, put it away and enjoy the food. SMOKING. It is now illegal to light up in Bali restaurants, I don't care if you're from Moscow, Paris or Melbourne, cut it out. it's disgusting to smoke whilst dining. Especially fine dining at a restaurant of the quality of Metis.
Now to the food, My ravioli entree was the silkiest smoothest pasta i have ever tasted! beautiful. My wife's 200 day sirloin main was juicy and flavoursome, better than Rockpool. take note Mr. Perry! (However steak is pricey in Bali, beware!). My quail was pretty damn good too, actually, one of the best dishes ever. I've had quail at Lamont's in Perth. This was way better. If you've never had quail, break the ice here. Dessert was amazing, a tasting of 5 or six different desserts, agar agar, creme brulee and more, dessert heaven.
The setting is romantic, relaxed and yet sophisticated. The staff and service impeccable.
Leave the iPads, phablets and androids at home, dress respectfully, don't smoke, enjoy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nutshell888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“BEST RESTAURANT IN SEMINYAK”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

WOW...Metis..... W o W

I think so many reviews have already said want I wanted to say.
Food - BRILLIANT
Service - BRILLIANT
Atmosphere - BRILLIANT

Metis has everything. I wasn't aware that it was French inspired and I could not fault the food. Not a single thing. Best meal I have ever had in Bali.

After dinner, we took our drinks to the Lotus gardens and relaxed under the stars.
Was so romantic.

FANTASTIC NIGHT.

Metis is A MUST

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheChristos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang mai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still one of the best in Seminyak”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The following night after my disapointing meal at warisan (see my review) i had diner with my friend at Metis. Superb high class setting, with the antique galery as lobby to enter thru. Very good food. The only bad thing was the intrusive music, to loud and boum boum . Not very romantic and spoiling the setting. After having asked if we could have it a little less loud, the waiter said ok. But the DJ put it back as loud little time later. Cause there is a DJ! As if it was not as easy to let a prerecorded program. And of course the "DJ" not only wants to justify his job, but wants u to hear the music HE likes and is proud of. I don't ask for real good music, let's not dream about discreet classical, but we dont need loud rythm to accompany our maxilaires. So in my opinion it spoils the classy and sophisticated décor and the subtil food

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetisBali, MÉTIS Management at Metis, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Erijk,

Greetings from MÉTIS Restaurant & Gallery!

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent visit to our restaurant.

We apologize if your experience with us was spoiled by the music.
We highly appreciate your valuable feedback, we will surely discuss it with our team to find the best way possible.

Hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Thank you very much.



Sincerely,
MÉTIS Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“better service at Mcdonalds!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great food with pathetic service. At these prices in Bali service should be second to none.
Unfortunately it was worse than the local pub.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gubsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetisBali, MÉTIS Management at Metis, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Gubsy,

Greetings from MÉTIS Restaurant & Gallery!

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent visit to our restaurant.

We apologize if your experience with us didn't meet your expectations.
However we do appreciate your valuable feedback.

Hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Thank you very much.



Sincerely,
MÉTIS Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metis also viewed

 

Been to Metis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing