We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking flexibility”
Review of Metis

Metis
Ranked #19 of 201 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: MÉTIS Restaurant, Lounge and Gallery is a sensory dining experience that embraces the sheer pleasures of living. With the recently opened lounge and beautiful garden, MÉTIS brings High Tea to a whole other level, a must try if you visit Bali. Flawless service in one of Bali's most elegantly sophisticated settings is just the beginning of this seduction into the depths of the five senses. MÉTIS is as fresh and sumptuous as the cuisine that graces its tables.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lacking flexibility”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Food was great although we had a bottle of whiskey we were hoping to enjoy. Although we offered to pay corkage, and also had a couple of bottle of wines for a party of 9, the staff refused to let us open the bottle. Was quite disappointed at their lack of flexibility.

Will be hard to consider a return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ianxteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetisBali, MÉTIS Management at Metis, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Ianxteo,

Greetings from MÉTIS Restaurant & Gallery!

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent visit to our restaurant.

We apologize if your visit was not a delightful one.
We have recently issued a policy not to allow any BYO (bring your own).

However we do appreciate your valuable feedback on our service.
We will use it to keep improving our quality more and more.

Hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Thank you very much.



Sincerely,
MÉTIS Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,539
    655
    243
    103
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Night Amazing Food”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Before visiting Bali I was recommended by a friend to visit Metis and book well in advance.
I'm so glad I did. I had Made a reservation for a friends birthday and staff were attentive to our every need. Food was of a high standard and there wasn't one thing we ordered that disappointed us.
I cant believe there are negative reviews on this Restaurant.
Its hard for me to believe. The Fois Gras was to die for and I'm so glad I ordered it!!! it melted in the mouth and was cooked to perfection.
I had asked for staff to do a dessert for us for the birthday girl and "Right On Cue" they were there singing to my friend!!!!
A memorable evening and on our next visit to Bali we will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BucksBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

One of the most amazing culinary dining experiences of my life! The moment we walked in I was in awe of the ambience and setting. The service was very attentive but the food.....OMG! The flavours, presentation and menu choice were 10/10. Could not fault this restaurant at all. A must visit place for those of you who appreciate good food and wine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsCuddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Truly Pathetic ...”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Given my recent meal at Metis, I felt that i had to provide some feedback to the overall experience. I been to Metis many times and this by far rates as one of the more disappointing ones.

Advanced notice was provided as we ordered a degustation menu for 9 adults. Menus came 2 days before. And payment was made for the meal perhaps a week out from the dinner date on 7 Dec. We had also informed the restaurant that this was a Bday dinner hosted by myself for my wife.

Food taste was good as expected. Other than one guest who turned away his pigeon that was too red. All the dishes were superb. No offer of replacement was made for this said guest. So that was perhaps one of many service lapses that destroyed the evening.

These were the rest.

1. None of your wait staff even knew who I was - or for that matter who was the host at the table. Orders were taken randomly. Drinks were served haphazardly. Still or sparkling water, wines etc none of those orders came through me. At no time did any of your host identify me as the one who overseeing the dinner. This despite me heading back to the hostess table 5-10 mins after my arrival to try and sort this dinner out.

2. Food was excellent. Kudos to the chef. Only other complain was the time between courses. I cannot imagine for the course between pigeon and tenderloin that my guest were made to wait 10-20 mins for the next course. So to me- either time better, or don't clear the plates so quickly.

3. Right at the start- one course/ canapés was sent to the table mistakenly. Just left there. We had to speak to the staff. Everyone wondered why it was there. No apologies offered.

4. Worse of all- at no time did anyone check with me on how the meal was proceeding.


5. Short of a waiter who introduced my main course- none of your servers introduced the dishes they were serving as part of part of the overall experience.


How do I surmise this experience? Given the pre planing in sorting our menus and paying up front- food was good- but a restaurant like Metis I would not come just for the food alone. Service was pathetic cookie cutter and inpersonal. Failing on many counts as above. And on many of those failures- on very fundamental fronts.

I wrote to Metis after the dinner and all that was offered were standard apologies devoid of any acknowledgement of what went wrong.

Metis- you really failed and disappointed me. What I can only say is come here for small parties, devoid of any expectations of basic good service. Kitchen is superb i strongly believe. But if the front of the
House is this bad- then I suggest you check out the many other better offerings in Bali before this.

Helpful?
2 Thank leong34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetisBali, MÉTIS Management at Metis, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Mark,

Greetings from MÉTIS Restaurant & Gallery!

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent visit to our restaurant.

We apologize if your last experience with us was not a pleasant one.

However we do appreciate your valuable feedback on our service.

We will use it to keep improving our quality more and more.

Hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Thank you very much.



Sincerely,
MÉTIS Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best wine in Bali”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Metis is a beautiful restaurant with a lovely atmosphere. We dined at 6.30 and it was great to watch the sun go down. We walked around the garden and rice paddy ponds in between courses. The food was delicious. I particularly enjoyed the creme brulee. The portions were large and worth the money. Metis has the best wine selection in Bali, it is expensive (like most alcohol in Bali).

Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metis also viewed

 

Been to Metis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing